We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Glur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glur Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I had a great stay at Glur where I stayed for 5days, which is a 15mins walk away from the Ao Nang beach street.
Everything is brand-new and in a sleek modern fashion. You get loads of storage space and the beds have curtains to draw if you want your privacy. The dorms were also very clean and the communal bathroom also. There are washing lines outside in the garden you can hang your clothes for drying. It's like the owners have thought of everything here :)
The open lounge room / kitchen always had fresh fruit in the fridge and free water.
Staff were fantastic, happy and always very helpful.
In addition you get a great cafe next door that serves up the best sandwiches and cooked breakfasts.
This is a fantastic place away from the hustle and bustle in Ao Nang centre where you can hear the birds and look onto some lush greenery.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netty1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 220 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Glur hostel was a dream, I hadn't gotten many places on my own then but now that I've been traveling a bit more around Thailand I miss glur! I stayed in their dorm room which are impressively huge, big bed, nice big mirror, big closet which they will provide a lock if you need one. The bathrooms are very clean and private feeling, you never have to wait for a stall for the bathrooms or showers. Just a cool euro chic hostel all around. It was at the very limit of my tolorance for walking to the beach, about 20 minutes but with super cheap food all the way to the beach and it a nice quiet forestry area with cliffs around so it's nice anyway. A thai woman ownes it and her English is very good and she has a British guy who manages it and speak fluent thai too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlpineMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Can see the owner plan very well for building this hostel. i like the idea with small wardrobe and locker in every compartment. I love the cat.... i love the resting area, i love the paper clip curtain, i love the cafe's food, i love you have freedome that no body keep watching at you..... to some people that might lack of service, but that is what i want.... feel like home.

It's do littke bit far from Ao Nang beach but that is nothing to me.... after i step in Glur i lazy to explore outside. One of the hostel that don't feel to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizlee2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Superb place! The best and nicest hostel of that kind i've stayed in Thailand! (And i've been everywhere) The host is so kind and helped me in everyway possible. It was so nice, very clean and very modern. The hostel is brand new so everything is as well. There is a little restaurant there.. very good food!
Not very close from the beach (you still need to take a tuk tuk or walk) but its worth it!!! Its next to a main road with everything you need (the spas and salon near are awesome).
The accomodations (bed, towels, bathrooms etc) are A1!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I think we must of stayed at a differrent hostel. It's out of the way down a pitch black road and not much going on in the area atall. The guy was rude and look down on us and didn't even say bye when we checked out! its very clean and spacious yes and has a nice communial area where you can play games and get water etc.
other than that - stay elsewhere - they dont deserve the money!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 km away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#52 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
0.2 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,606 reviews
1.9 km away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pop-In Hostel
Pop-In Hostel
#4 of 143 in Ao Nang
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Slumber Party Hostel and Bar
0.8 km away
K-Bunk Hostel
K-Bunk Hostel
#3 of 143 in Ao Nang
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glur Hostel

Address: 22/2 Moo 2, Soi Aonang 11/1, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range: $26 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glur Hostel is a small resort-like hostel located in a peaceful area of AoNang with signature lime stone cliff view, and approximately 1.5 kilometers away from AoNang Beach. We provide only the bunk-bed type room with either private bath or shared bath and also features gathering places like open-air common area with 42"LCD & DVD, small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hot-cold water dispenser, free coffee & tea. Free WIFI throughout the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glur Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing