We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely loved it, ideal place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alice

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Pool
front view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
D_Jac0bs
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it, ideal place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at Villa Alice for a week in March 2016 and absolutely loved it. The Villa is clean, spacious, with a lovely garden and pool and amazing views of the surrounding orchards and mountains. Evening sunsets were stunning.

The owners are a husband and wife combo and both very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The wife Kiw is an incredible cook, we asked her to cook for us one night, the husband simon showed us round town and did everything possible to make our stay as nice as possible

We really liked staying out of busy Ao Nang. Being at the Villa made us feel like we were completely remote, we really enjoyed the peace and quiet so we spent a few days just hanging out at the villa. There are some neighbours but we heard nothing from them. Simon (the owner) taught me how to ride a scooter, which meant Ao Nang and nearby beaches were 5 mins away.

I would recommend staying here for at least a week as there is so much to do close by. We did a boat trip, a mountain trek with a bungee jump (organised by Simon) and numerous trips to near-by beaches, local markets and restaurants.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a lovely stay at Villa Alice”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa worked out great for us as there was 5 of us in our party,, myself & husband, son & his wife and my daughter. So we would have needed 3 rooms in a Hotel. So this worked out very good value. The Villa was lovely and very spacious, comfortable and peaceful. Simon the owner and his wife were very helpful organising transfers to/from the airport and even driving us around the area etc, to help us get our bearings. Cleaning was very thorough, done every other day with change of bed linen and towels. Also pool was kept very clean with attendant coming every other day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So peaceful and comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarten D
Ko Yao Yai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best priced villa in the krabi region , with a family of 6 !”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Alice was a good choice for us. We travelled with a family group of 6 people and had room to spare at the villa. Otherwise we would have been looking at 3 hotel rooms (most likely not all together) which would have cost more than double what we paid to get this attractive villa with private pool. i feel we made the smart move. The villa is mediterranean-style, a lot of windows, very open feel. the master bedroom is truly a masters' bedroom - i wont spoil the surprise but lets just say very sensuous shower area & stately bedroom. A/C was blowing cold in all rooms. Note : but there is no A/C in the large living room - would be impossible to cool because so large & high ceilings. we left the ceiling-to-floor sliding windows open on both ends, it provided enough cooling together with the floor mounted fans.
The area is one of total quiet ( no street noises, no neighbour noises), about 5 minutes drive to the big beach by Ao Nang. We rented scooters and had a blast. Recommended. The swimming pool has colored underwater lights and jacuzzi jets which you can control + outdoor shower built into a treetrunk. very nice. great views overlooking a huge limestone tower rising out of the jungle, about half a mile from the villa. The owner, Simon, offered to take us out for a morning hike to a cave at the base of the tower, but we declined (our kids are too young for steep jungle hiking) - appreciate the offer though, maybe in a couple years.
All in all, we had a true quality vacation without hiccups - at a fraction of the price of an average hotel stay. We'll be back !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daling R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Peaceful Villa”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We plan a climbing / bday vacation to celebrate Vini bday, I call over to reserved the villa, and we got immediate response, Simon, was super friendly and gave us so much information regarding places to visit for rock climbing and to rent a motorbike so we could go around.

The villa was just stunning, as we arrived and hope to find a peaceful house, we end up having much more than what we wish for, the staff received us with flowers and fruits and cold water, The living room host a 40 inch TV screen with super sound system which was perfect to play our climbing videos plug our Iphones to listen to our own music,

The kitchen was heaven, every single item you need to cook is there, we had a fantastic dinner to celebrate vinies bday, with cold beer and wine,

The rooms are super specious, all air con and the master room is just superb with an outdoor open bath, all surrounded by mountains and nature , this is a place where you don't feel inside of a house but you are so expose to palm trees and green.

The pool is just overlooking into a massive limestone , it was just an incredible feeling to be so lucky to be surrounded by such a majestic view, we love being outdoors but this house kept us inside cause it was just so nice and cozy.

Vini had the best bday ever and we enjoy so much , simon was present all the time helping us out with guidance on how to get around and how to find the markets and things we needed.

Thank you for giving us such a wonderful time, totally recommend this place!

Dal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the views and the cozy feeling of the house
Liked least: I like everything about it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelCake...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid at all Costs”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We think the below list of problems speaks for itself:

1. Nearby Builders hammering, disk cutting, drilling, crashing and banging on a daily basis
2. Stinking fires from building site
3. Health hazard - Major cockroach problem and hassle that went with it - I attach photo of how simon left our kitchen for 2 days after doing nothing but empyting cupboards and spraying killer for cockroaches. It didn't work.
4. Cockroach droppings
5. Not able to use kitchen as taped off to contain cockroaches - Simon's friend taped up the kitchen cupboards and drawers to try and stop the cockroaches from escaping. A new kitchen is what it needs but Simon laughed at that suggestion, so the problem will be ongoing with future guests until this happens.
6. Headaches from the amount of cockroach sprayed by cleaners/Simon
7. Ant/cockroach ridden kettle and no other means to boil water
8. Issues with keys and missing keys - we spent so much time trying to find out which key is for which of he many lockable doors. Turns out that the keys given to us were missing a key, so we were without our toiletries for a day, as Simon was busy! Labelling keys and checking you have them all before guests arrive would be a suggestion! spare keys were left with dead cockroach.
9. Water stopping every day due to air bubbles - Simon said this was a general Thailand problem - however we've never experienced it at other Thailand villas.
10. Second indoor shower didn't work properly
11. Outside shower didn't work
12. Ants everywhere including bed - we've stayed in a villa in the jungle before and not had this problem. It's low on least but thought we'd let you know.
13. Stained Toilet seats - literally of urine drops. How much does a toilet seat cost - come on!
14. Dirty walls
15. Air con in spare room didn't work - thank goodness we were not sleeping in it!
16. Simon's bad attitude, rudeness and not doing what he promises. He never once apologised for the many problems we had at the Villa. The furthest from professional i've ever experienced.

The tuk tuk/taxi service offered by Simon from the villa overcharges by more than double. He said no one will find the villa and they'd over charge. That's a lie. We found a guy who now knows where Villa Alice is and he'll meet you at the top of the stony road (30 metres) (can only assume that Simon Ramsden must've been on commission) - Mr Pakdee Rut Tel: +66 (0)98 7186 685 - so when dialling from mobile in Thailand, dial 98 7186 685. To direct people back was a doddle too, so not point in waiting for Karim to pick up and overcharge you (we tried three times before I knew and each time it went to a woman talking thai).

Just to mention that it's great having cleaners come so regularly but we couldn't understand what they did 3 hours every two days as we lived out of the one room!

Finally, we often joked that we were working in a prison with the constant opening and closing of the metal shutter to the 'safe' room! What happened to a good old fashioned safe!?

The fact that there has been no reviews this year should have been a warning sign.

We asked for some form of compensation as the villa was far too problematic for us to be expected to pay the full price. Simon did not even have the decency to respond to our email!

We are generally easy going people and have stayed at many villas in Thailand with no problems at all, and our experience just highlighted how awful this place was. No response from Simon was the icing on the cake but we were not surprised!

It's a shame I could only attach a maximum of 3 photos as I took MANY!

In summary - Avoid like Ebola!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2017
In order to judge whether this review accurately describes the villa, all you have to do is look at the other reviews written by this reviewer. She has written 4 reviews, one of them is "poor" and three of them are "terrible". All she writes is very bad reviews.

This person tried to use her very negative Tripadvisor review writing record to get me to pay her money. She called it compensation, but she had no grounds for any compensation. The review is mostly a pack of half-truths and outright lies. It's true that at that time (over a year ago) we had a very small problem with cockroaches in the kitchen, which was temporary, not a big deal and which has since been completely fixed. If I lived in the UK I would report her to the police for attempted extortion. She in so many words said "look at the reviews I have written about other places, if you don't give me money I'll write a terrible review about your place too". I refused to pay up, so she wrote her terrible review.

Do you trust a negative review when it is written by a person who only writes negative review? I don't think so.

There is one further point that is relevant. In late 2016 I completely renovated and repainted the villa. I also bought and installed 4 pieces of garden furniture, 3 of which are extremely comfortable for lounging around in, whilst watching the kids play in the pool. I also installed sand-pits, a water slide and a swing, so that the villa can now accurately be described as "luxury" and "family-oriented". After a photographer/videographer comes to visit, In a month or so I'll be loading up new images and video footage too.

Hope your day is really great ... or even better

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing