We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place really let down by bad restaurant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights, the hotel grounds are something out of Alice in wonderland.. Really a great place to see. We were greeted by great front desk staff and driven to our awesome little hut, there was a frog bouncing around in there which added to the experience.. Having the guy get it out with a big leaf haha
Can't fault the room or the place though it should be noted that there isn't any sale of alcohol on site as its a Muslim run place but this just ends up saving you money as there's a shop over the road so your not paying hotel prices.
The only reason this place didn't get an excellent rating is due to the poor attitude of the staff in the restaurant, the first night we got there it was late so we decided to eat there, they didn't come over to ask us if we wanted a drink, our food came out separately (quite common and not a big deal) and they left us sat there so long that we had to go ask for the bill instead of ordering more drinks or a desert.. They really need to sort this issue out. All the same I would go there again just not eat there.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with family and toddler for 3 nights. It is a decent place, very calm and quiet, the pool is ok but with an amazing back drop of the limestone cliff. The food, service is ok, don't expect staff to know good English since the staff is local and Krabi is a very small town, but they are ever smiling and nice. The rooms are big with very comfortable beds and bathrooms are good too. They have an hourly shuttle from resort to beach and surrounding shopping area. It's a 5-6 min ride. Check in check out was smooth. Other than the pool, they don't have any other in-house entertainment, a very old Foosball table with no ball. Overall a good stay, but be aware of red ants outside your rooms. A tad expensive when compared to the service and other things provided/not provided.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rasika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review in Tripadvisor. It was so nice to know that you had a happy stay at Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

Thank you for loving our stunning location, pool area with a gorgeous backdrop of the cliffs, the lovely Villa + bathroom, and our friendly + fantastic staff. These compliments made us the days!

For English lesson, we normally trained them with our English course in our previous low season. However, we are going to schedule English course for them in the coming months.

In regard to entertainment, this is because our resort has only 25 rooms. So, we do not have many in-house entertainment here. The ball of football can be normally borrowed from front desk staff.

For red ants, we are trying to way to get rid of all of them. So, it won't be bother our guests anymore soon.

Least but not last, we were thankful for your kind patronage and hope to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was perfect, the room was fantastic (especially the massive bed and bathroom), pool was great and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They also do a free shuttle to and from town often which is very handy but town also isn't too far to walk if not - good location. We only ate once at the restaurant which was very nice. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear our beloved valued guests:

Thank you for your positive review in many areas of us, massive bed, bathroom, pool and food at our restaurant. We appreciated your compliment in our location that made Aonang Phu Petra Resort a peace and quiet place to stay. Also, thank you for your admiration to our nice and friendly staff who could accommodate any request you had. It was always nice to hear that our staff could deliver the best services to our beloved guests. Thank you.

We appreciated your kind patronage and hope for your many more returns in the future.

Look forward to your revisit in this nearest future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This resort is truly a find. Bungalow rooms were first class...very lux, spacious and clean. The staff, Nalina and New (sp) in particular, make you feel very welcome at this little oasis above Ao Nang. Their restaurant was excellent and I had nearly every meal there. The chicken in cream sauce (below) was incredible.
While it is a distance from the beach, they have a free hourly shuttle service and will pick you as well. I just wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank seeyourplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear our beloved guests:

Thank you for your kind review in TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to receive your very positive feedback and to know that you were very happy staying at Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

Thank you for your admiration to our staff, Nalina and New. Please allow us to share your kind words to them for their own recognition. We also appreciated your compliment in other areas about us, including our Restaurant and our incredible food.

Please accept our gratitude for your kind patronage. We hope you will come back here and have a longer period of you stay for your next vacation with us.

Look forward to your many more returns in the days to come.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Truly a magical place. We stayed at Phu Petra Resort for three nights during low season and had an amazing experience. The staff was so welcoming and accommodating to our needs and made us feel right at home. Tucked away from the main street we enjoyed the peace and quietness and used their shuttle service to get to and from the beach. The pool is magnificent and we got to enjoy swimming on it at night. Also, we ordered room service on our last night and the food was exquisite. I highly recommend to stay here when in Krabi.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vic A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear our beloved guests:

Thank you for your kind review in Tripadvisor. We were so happy to know that you had a peaceful and amazing stay at Aonang Phu Petra Resort.

We appreciated your admiration to our helpful and friendly staff. Please allow us to share your kind words to our team member for their own recognition. It was also good to know that you enjoyed your time at our swimming pool and thank you for loving our food you ordered as room service.

All in all, we thank you for your patronage and for recommending us to others. We hope for your coming back again in the future.

Look forward to your many more returns in the days to come.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.4 km away
Ban Sainai Resort Aonang- Thailand
1.3 km away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
2.2 km away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,401 reviews
1.9 km away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#3 of 111 in Ao Nang
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $93 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Krabi, Aonang Phu Petra Resort is set amidst mountains in stunning natural surroundings. The resort features spacious villas and suites located by the swimming pool or hill. Guests can enjoy swimming in the outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, offers beach and airport transfers. Krabi Airport is a 30-minute drive away while Aonang Beach is 5 minutes away by car. Modern rooms feature classic dark wood furnishings and spacious balconies. Each has a cable/satellite TV, and coffee-making facilities. Bathrobes, slippers and a hairdryer are provided. Massage services are offered at the resort and a library corner allows for quiet reading. Other facilities include a tour desk and children*s playground. Motorbikes can be rented for convenience. Sila Petra Restaurant serves local and international dishes. Enjoy mountain and pool views while sipping cocktails at Phu Anda Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing