We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful island retreat with spectacular views...”
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
Soline Soline Apartments
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Terrace
Soline
Soline Apartments
Apartments
Terrace
Kitchen
View from the bedroom
Balcony view
Balcony
Bathroom
National park's most protected area: Big Lake and Soline Channel
Position of the apartments
Soline Channel
Restaurant SO: Enjoying traditional food
Islet of St. Mary with monastery (on the Big Lake)
Big Lake
National park area
Exploring the area
Roman ruins
Big Lake coast
Traditional collecting of the sea salt (Fleur De Sel)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Mljet Island, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
NoraJane0...
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful island retreat with spectacular views and lovely locals”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Soline apartment is perfect if you are looking for a peaceful retreat from the tourist islands/areas of Croatia. The scenery is lush, green and absolutely breathtaking! If you enjoy a bit of activity you can rent a bike and follow the 8 mile loop around the lakes. In mid-June I encountered only a handful of other bikers on the trail.

The apartment was very spacious for one person and would have been very comfortable for a couple. The decor is minimal, but with incredible sea views off the balcony you won't want to spend much time in the room. The family was incredibly accommodating and hospitable. The food was fresh. Ivan and Martina take pride in their island and treat guests as new friends. You will enjoy a glass of wine or beer with the owners upon arrival. An authentic Croatian island experience with the backdrop of pristine forests along a glistening seaside. I would go back in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Breathtaking views with a local family
Liked least: No dining within walking distance other than the host family
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonTrav...
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous. Peaceful. Beautiful.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is wonderful. We walked, canoed, cycled and swam. Forest trails, wonderful salt lakes and coves to swim, a fantastic coast to explore by foot or canoe or swimming. The sound of the cicadas filled our ears. Even in August it was possible to get away from it all. I could happily have spent a few months here catching up on some reading and writing.
The apartment was fairly basic but absolutely fine and clean. We managed to cook meals with the facilities provided. The view from the balcony is fabulous.
We did not have a car, which was not a problem - you just need to be organised about getting food supplies. We had stocked up on the mainland. The mini supermarkets on the island are perfectly adequate. Fresh fruit and veg was limited.
If you are arriving on the evening catamaran from Dubrovnik to Sobra, there is a bus which links with its arrival and deposits you at the Big Lake bus stop. Make sure you know the difference between Ivan's land line and mobile as he does not have mobile reception at Solene. If you do end up stranded here in the dark - its not that far to walk down to Solene - it would just seem it first time in the dark! It would be perfectly safe to leave your bags up there and I would be confidant that Ivan would go and get them for you.
Take a torch!
Ivan and his wife were accommodating in terms of lifts to the shops, hiring bikes, canoe and car. It was definitely a better deal than hiring directly.
We ate at his restaurant for several evenings . he fish is fresh - you may have to wait until he gets back from his late afternoon fishing trip ! The menu is simple and well cooked.
Its very easy cycling around the lake and there are plenty of places to stop and swim.
Mljet is short on sandy beaches - those in the know have wet boot type footwear to get into the water (easily available on the mainland) and something comfy to lie on the beach /rocks again they sell ideal mats in the supermarkets on the mainland - or take along a carry mat or lilo. We happily spent a week here without a car and only hired one when we moved further up island. If you want to explore the whole island from Solene you would struggle without a car as there does not seem to be any scheduled bus timetable.
The national park entry is about £10 for however long you stay in the park. I thought this was good value, it included mini bus to and from Pristaniste if you wanted that.
Wi Fi was intermittent.
I normally get eaten alive by mozzies. I wasn't here - there were more at Okuklje.
Pretty much everyone speaks English.
Drivers were courteous and the roads a dream compared to other places in Europe we have visited.
Travelling by ferry is easy and cheap. If you are here for any length of time I would check out the possibility of doing a day trip to the neighbouring island of Korcula - the old town there is wonderful and good swimming available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was stunning
Liked least: Having to leave .....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great get away from it all”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The apartment is basic but functional, overlooking the channel from the sea into the large lake. A great location if you want a real getaway to relax and a base to explore the island by foot or bike, and of course you can explore the water by swimming and kayak.

An incredibly quiet place. We had 3 days on the island which was enough to do and see everything we wanted.

Food on the island as a whole is simple, but obviously you can't really get any fresher!

Wonderful family owners, friendly and welcoming.

Note to travellers - no phone signal or WiFi.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yc232
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay but beware the mosquitos!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had overall a very relaxing time in Soline. Incredibly quiet and serene place, with the lakes at times just to ourselves.
I just wished i had bought some mosquito repellent and antihistamine cream with us! It's lovely having dinner next to the water at night time but rather distracting after the 5th bite, with 2 on my face! There is no pharmacy nearby but shops in Polace sells repellent, with a limited supply.
We met Ivan, one of the owners on the 2nd night and he kindly arranged to provide anti-mosquito air refreshners for the room and some anti-inflammatory cream. He spoke English very well and we had a great evening chatting, learning about mjet/soline over beers.
Apartment is basic but functional with a great view overlooking the water. It's far from luxury and far removed from Dubrovnik but that really is the whole point.
The focus was more on the beautiful water, the fantastic swimming and the wholesome fresh food.
We ate mostly in the restaurant at No. 3, which serves whenever, as the others (if restaurants at all) did not appear to be very open and you needed to prebook food. Food is simple, but fantastically fresh from the outdoor grill, perfect after a day of cycling and swimming.
The house in the village are owned by various Srsen descendants. Be sure which Srsen you're staying with at which no., there are 2 Ivan's, and we got totally confused! Thanks Ivan for being so understanding!
There is a little gang of children at the village, running around and playing in the water. It's all very heart warming and encourages us to bring our own next time.
People are very relaxed here, so if you are in a hurry, fussy and expect to be catered to, it's not the place for you. We wanted to go fishing and to Korcula and it didn't happen. But it was fine, we just had more time to enjoy the lakes.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleksanda...
Sarajevo, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Mljet - Soline is an awesome place if you love nature, the Small lake is nice for walking but the Big lake is amazing for bicycling, you can stop almost anywhere and take a swim.
Soline is the perfect place to be close with nature and enjoy in peace, its just 200m from the open sea where you can take a swim, sleep on rocks and listen to the sounds of waves..

Food and wine in Soline is something you have to try.

You can rent a bike, and enjoy in full, if needed you can go by bike to Polace, Pomena, we really enjoyed our trip to Polace, even walking is amazing. But I didnt see better place than Soline, where the open sea is and pure nature, silence, sound of waves...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service is best
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing