We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
190
9
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
9
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef henrygregory familylocal knowledgeskill levelpopoyo areaawesome tripperfect wavesintimate knowledgepool deckouter reefthree meals a dayspecial weekpoor countrylocal chefgreat companycosta ricai've heard
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 205 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2009

It seems great at first glance. They have a wonderful website which displays the resorts amazing views and awesome accommodations. The resort is beautiful. It is located atop the highest hill in the village with amazing views of the ocean and countryside. But this facade of a tropical paradise quickly disappears once you spend some time on the grounds with (or even near) the owner. The owner can be very arrogant, rude, and abrasive. He does not hesitate to yell at guests (and swear). Even worse was watching him treat his family with the same disdain. The owner has earned a reputation in town as a bully. After speaking with locals and expats I felt uncomfortable staying there. Telling people I was staying at Two Brothers was often followed with the same awkward, "Ohhhh..." This resort could be a wonderful place but it is sadly tarnished by the way the owner treats people. If you want to surf the Popoyo area stay at Toro. The amenities are nice, the vibe is super friendly, and the food is great. Plus, Toro is located much closer to the ocean.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank EscapingTheOrdinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

In reading the post/review by Joey James, I was kind of amazed at his critical view. The price and the value of Two Brothers is a great bargin. The view is fantastic. 180 degrees of the Pacific Ocean and the other 180 degrees is a scenic vista of Nicaragua. As an older surfer, Two Brothers is my kind of place. Joey James may be a younger surfer/traveler and may not understand how to operate in a developing country. The owners of Two Brothers were very supportive, friendly and went beyond the expected to assist and guide us around. Robert's boat trips to a couple of uncrowded spots were wonderful and he proved to be right on as to his analysis of the waves, tides and the uniqueness of the areas waves. Susan is a true gift and her kindness really added to our total trip. she told us where to shop and get the best deals as well as guiding part of the crew to other regions of Nicaragua. The boys (the Two Brothers) were very helpful in telling us about the waves as well as helping us a lot at the casitas.

The Casitas are are classic and comfortable and we had several meals at the house as well as several local haunts. Yolanda's, El Toro and Red Frog are classics. Our stay was top notch and we are going back in 2010.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhNOMrBillCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Two Brothers Surf Resort is a beautiful resort atop a large hill about a mile from the beach. Thats about all there is to say good about it. It doesn't belong in Nicaragua. It basically dominates the entire village. The owner is unreasonable and strict on his rules. NEVER leave the AC on or you will be yelled at. Lights out around 9pm no questions! So if you need anything from them don't bother(Unless you want to be lectured for waking them up). Surf is good, always offshore, but was more crowded than expected. We had to leave a few days early which really irritated them. They wouldn't work anything out with us and said we couldn't leave until we transferred the rest of the money. They claimed that they were booked and we were wasting space. Only one other room was occupied the entire week we were there. Overall it was a bad experience due to lack of quality customer service. Recommend that you stay somewhere closer to the beach. Much cheaper and better set up for backpackers and easy travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JoeyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews