We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
310
315
245
83
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
310
315
245
83
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely village business trip bit dated the main hotel christmas party wedding reception bar area would stay again food was lovely wedding venue one night stay evening meal breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast annex macdonald manchester
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Hotel was selected for a business trip as it is on a less congested route to get to the office. It is also located within a short walking distance to the restaurants in Lymm village.

The room is generally clean, did not have much problem except for no air conditioning on hot and humid days in summer. There is no flat sheet and duvet is way too warm for rooms without a/c.

Breakfast and lunch was ok, we ate out for dinner. I did not have any expectation for this hotel as I have not stayed in other MacDonald hotel chain. Probably would have chosen a different hotel if we had a car.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank myhotelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_Harthen, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for reviewing the Lymm Hotel.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our food was good.

Unfortunately, we do not have air conditioning in the hotel however, we can provide fans. I am not sure if one was offered to you but I will ensure all guests are aware we can provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Angela Harthen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed for two nights in the annex. The room was very quiet. The bed comfy and bedding nicely laundered. There was plenty of hot water and choice of bath or shower.
The breakfast was nicely cooked and of good quality. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel had outside seating area to enjoy a drink.
The location was within easy walking of the canal and village facilities.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_Harthen, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review of the Lymm Hotel it it very much appreciated.

It was nice to hear that the staff were pleasant and helpful and that you enjoyed the food especially as we have only recently launched the new menu.

On behalf of the team here we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Angela Harthen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night to attend a wedding and the double room was adequate for our needs. Quiet at night. Room and bedding clean. However, not much room for two to get ready, ensuite had dated tiles and looked grubby with discoloured grout and we were given a room overlooking the bin store. Although a good selection, I felt breakfast was expensive at £25 for two.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DatLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela_Harthen, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lymm Hotel.

We are glad to hear that your room met your needs however, we must apologise if the grouting was discoloured and that you were given a room over the bin area.

We are currently going through all our bedrooms to ensure that none of them have a grout issue.

Breakfast, we feel is charged at a reasonable rate of £17.50 per person but we had offered a reduced rate for your stay.

If you are coming to the Lymm Hotel in the future, please do contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Angela Harthen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We were staying here as we were going to a wedding locally and it suited us. The rooms are tired and could do with refurbishment but the double we had was perfectly adequate. Shower was not powerful as not electric. The breakfast was ok, not the best or worst I have had. The food in the restaurant is good but portions are quite small. Our experience was possibly marred by the hotel staff in our arrival. The receptionist was abrupt to the point of rudeness and the staff in the restaurant seemed overwhelmed and not very helpful. The night receptionist failed to book the taxi we requested, it was a good thing we went to check in the morning or we might have missed our flight. Overall this is not the best MacDonald hotel I have stayed at.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VictorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We had a nice quiet stay at lymm but the rooms and bathrooms in the annex are badly in need of refurbishment. We had a family room as it was what was offered but was just a twin room with a double against the wall to be able to take 3 so rather than having more room we had less. Bathroom suite avacado and the wet wall green marble, pretty pathetic shower.
Hotel comfortable enough, but no newspapers as they are having trouble with the newsagent.
Nice breakfasts although first 2 days poached eggs were like ping pong balls not soft and runny as they should be, however on day 3 different chef and the poached eggs with the smoked haddock and bacon were absolutely perfect so they need to teach the chef how to poach eggs.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews