We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood platter.. picnic bench style. One word... WOW!!”
Review of The New Harp Inn

The New Harp Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hoarwithy
Price range: USD 5 - USD 20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 25 May 2017

A lovely accommodating and friendly Inn serving a fantastic array of seafood on a huge picnic bench. We couldn't help but gasp at the huge picnic bench displayed with fish and chips, prawns, salmon, mussels etc and a lovely selection of puds. The chips were out of this world and the selection of seafood was perfectly cooked and was complimented by a small bottle of prosecco. The waitress was very attentive throughout and did a couple of check backs to ensure we were satisfied. I think our gasps and wide eyes said it all :) Would highly recommend and will be returning in the very near future. Hats off to the chef.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathrc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I decided to have a date night here. We had a very warm and friendly welcome, once we ordered the food arrived promptly and to be honest was absolutely fabulous, especially my steak, which was cooked to perfection. The staff could not do enough for us and the food was way beyond what you would expect from a country Inn. We will certainly be back. Thank you for a lovely night.

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Visited The New Harp Inn last Saturday at 12pm on a recommendation from a family member, took my niece and nephew. We ordered 2 Burger Bench Meals (each one shared between 2) for £14.95 each, wonderful food with something for everyone on the bench even the kids were happy. The chips are the best chips I think I have had and the extra hot chocolate we ordered was such a surprise. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emma2k47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We just called n for a drink to find three men at the bar. We felt unwelcome although the barman was friendly enough. We didn't return....

5  Thank MagsGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Well you cant please everyone all of the time, this is a pub and we have drinkers, some only want diners, but we strive to do our best for both,
So the barman was friendly, and three men (regulars) were sat at the bar, this is what happens in English pubs, people sit at the bar to drink....... what more can I say.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

without being rude, it's going to be difficult to write this review.
We've eaten at the pub before, and not had any complaints, but sadly this time around it was almost inedible. (I should have taken a photo) and we only ate it because we were so hungry. When we opened the box, we both actually laughed.
The fish was so burnt it almost rubber. The chips were nice, and as mentioned we were hungry so ate them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank BigGstaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoarwithy, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

If it was as bad, as you say you should have at least given us a phone call to complain, It is very hard to make amends if you don't know about something. however checking back on the till we haven't done any Takeaway Fish & Chips in over a week, so we don't know when this was, are you sure you have the right pub?


Best Wishes
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Harp Inn also viewed

Much Birch, Hereford
Sellack, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Little Dewchurch, Herefordshire
 

Been to The New Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing