We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
76
25
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
25
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable loungelovely locationtwo nightshostsscotland
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This hotel is out of the way, but it is worth the drive. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, both the setting and the facilities are charming, and the food was very good. We ate both dinner and breakfast here. For dinner, they took our order in the comfortable lounge and waited to seat us until it was ready.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KathrynC1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst touring Scotland. This hotel is small and is within converted steadings, hence its name. It is run by Mary and David Allen.

The bedrooms are to a very high standard being well fitted, clean and comfortable. However, the outstanding quality of this hotel is the warm, friendly welcome and exceptionally professional standards of service set by Mary and David. We both suffer from serious food allergies and the lengths they went to were way beyond what we have experience ended elsewhere.

The quality of food and range of the menu was superb.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend it highly.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time here!
Especially the home-like atmosphere created by Mary and David together with their superb quality of food made it something to remember. If you need time off from your (too) busy life, book the steadings!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank johnvissers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Not sure what the others are going on about, our GPS took us directly to the spot. I'll grant you, there were a couple times we didn't want to believe it, as this place is a little far out, but the drive was quickly forgiven when we saw the gorgeous setting the inn is surrounded by. Mary and David were a pleasure to hang out with and trade travel stories. We were very well taken care of. Food and drink were plentiful and good. This is obviously a labor of love for the owners and they are continually updating it. Well worth checking out.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We had an evening meal, four adults, Mary met us at the door and proved to be an excellent host, nothing was too much trouble. The menu has an excellent choice of local fresh produce, large portions well presented.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Barders745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews