We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
176
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tamar valley double shower on arrival complimentary port three nights local produce bed and breakfast both mornings perfect hosts b bs clean rooms open fire the garden view room cooked breakfast visiting tasmania minute drive easy drive
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Great food and accommodation at the River House. Hosts Anna & Michael are gracious and hospitable.
Fantastic place for a quiet holiday. Views are stunning and the Breakfasts are so yummy. Tamar River in the backyard provides serenity and ambience.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nyap2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverHouseAnna, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you kindly for your beautiful words. We are thrilled that you could spend your honeymoon here at The River House
We are certainly biased but have to agree with the magic of this place. It truly offers the peace and ambience you experienced! We hope to see you again one day soon ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been to this mansion three times in one year, only because we miss it so much. Anna and Michael are the most considerate hosts ever. The food is created every morning by Anna, and never fails to amaze and pleasure. My one wish would be to live here permanently. Tasmania is beautiful but the River House has made it Spectacular. Do yourself a favour and try this amazing place for yourself!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FarhadI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful little B&B on the northern outskirts of Launceston and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
and OMG how good was that breakfast.
The room was large and airy with very modern decor and fittings, albeit a touch lacking in something quirky to top it off.
and OMG how good was that breakfast!
The grounds, although a little dry and wallaby damaged, are worth a walk to soak up the ambiance of the adjacent Tamar river.
and OMG how good was that breakfast!
Our hosts were extremely friendly, helpful and very attentive without being too close and the resident dog Tamba was great fun to play with.
and OMG how good was that breakfast - apparently ever day is a different set menu so we won't spoil your surprise, but let's just say that a genuine souffle brilliantly cooked is a great start to a fantastic breakfast!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandCheryl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We try hard to create beautiful, delicious and memorable breakfasts!
Since your visit we have had a significant drop of rain and the whole area looks very alive a green again. It’s amazing how nature responds to a good rain
It was lovely to have met you both! Look forward to seeing you again one day soon ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Anna & Michael were the perfect hosts. We just loved this place and will definitely be back with friends! We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Launceston as it is only 15 minutes away but you have the feeling of being in the country. Superb breakfasts and Anna's cheese platter to die for!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mazb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments!

We loved having you both here and look forward to seeing you again soon

I’ll have a few new “tastes” for you to try on return!

Warm regards

Anna & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights during our recent holidays, and we both agreed it was our favourite accommodation in Tasmania. Gorgeous outlook, friendly helpful hosts, and the breakfasts are amazing. It was just what we needed at the halfway point of a very hectic holiday. Room was beautiful too! Can’t recommend highly enough. Thanks Anna and Michael

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suby31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank You. We love getting positive feedback. It is a beautiful spot ( I’m biased). So glad you could relax and enjoy it, and weren’t staying here whilst in the ‘hectic’ part of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews