We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
176
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tamar valley double shower on arrival complimentary port three nights local produce bed and breakfast both mornings perfect hosts b bs clean rooms open fire the garden view room cooked breakfast visiting tasmania minute drive easy drive
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Returning to the River House after several years, we were somewhat concerned when we discovered that it had new owners. Our concern was totally without foundation. Anna and Michael have maintained the same high standards. The location cannot be faulted, away from the "hustle" of the centre of Launceston, the view from the dining room is breathtaking. Should you need something from the city, it's a quick 10 minutes away from shops and 15 minutes from best restaurants in Tassie. And that of course, puts you 15 minutes closer to the vineyards of Pipers River. Did I mention breakfast? The couple's (self taught, I understand) skills in the kitchen using garden and local produce, make for a breakfast that sits with the best I have had in B&Bs. Our room was fresh, clean and cosy; all you would want in Tamar accomodation.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you. We can’t take the credit for the view, however we do pride ourselves on serving delicious breakfasts from local seasonal produce.
We agree that the 15 min drive out of town is worth it for the beautiful view and relaxing environment.
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

This review is sort of sad of funny. I found the River House somewhat on accident while traveling around Tasmania solo for 2 weeks ... and chose because all reviews were positive, the price was fair, and comments indicated sort to special place. So, after booking on line and driving for a day, I pulled up to a beautiful garden with a great view and immediately realized this is the place one comes with someone special not alone. A fantastic room and wonderful bed and then the owner made me one of the ten best breakfasts (brekkies) I ever have had. (Note also: bed and breakfast in Tasmania usually means bed and something you make yourself -- this was totally opposite and blew me away). If only I had unlimited funds, I would spend a few days here every year.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jerryd7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Jerry
Thank you so much for your lovely words and descriptions! We truly believe that The River House is one of those hidden gems waiting to be found ☺️ We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and hope to one day meet you again. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

From arrival to departure we enjoyed excellent hospitality, first class breakfasts and accommodation in a beautiful suite overlooking the river. Having retired from 14 years of B&B hosting, Anna and Michael provided a genuine, traditional B&B experience when so many others fall far short of expectations. Thank you both for a wonderful, indulgent stay. Great value for money.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We have visited a few times now in both winter & spring. Do yourself a favour and stay here. So close to town, (10 min max from CBD) Stunning river views. Beautiful accomodation, breakfasts are nicer than you will find in Launceston. Beautiful food with an artistic flair. Warm & friendly hospitality. Above & beyond expectation.
Winter time the atmosphere is romantic sipping complimentary port by the log fire while you watch the stunning River scenery from the large picture window in the cosy lounge. Springtime brings warmer weather and there are outdoor seats where you can sit in the garden amongst the gorgeous flowers and look out over the river. There is also a pool you can swim in. We will return again & again to this little peace of paradise.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tamara-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

My wife and I stayed at The Rive House in late October 2017.

The property is located a short, easy drive, 15 minute drive out of Launceston. It is clearly signposted from the road. The owners are lovely and very happy to help with anything that you need.

We stayed in the Garden View room, which was spacious, had a massive double shower, self-cooking facilities, and had a lovely view of the garden. The room has free wi-fi, and a queen-size bed.

A cooked breakfast, with Tamar-valley sourced ingredients, is served each day just inside a room with a view of the property and the river.

We absolutely loved it and will be back!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Al_Lara_VIC_AUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review. It always gives us great pleasure to share our little piece of paradise with our guests!!!!!
We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews