We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, wonderful Scottish fare in the middle of nowhere.”

The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Meikleour
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 22 September 2018

We stumbled onto this restaurant purely by happenstance. We were driving from Stirling to Cairngorms, and I think Google Maps misrouted us, or sent us on some very rural road. By the time we found this place, we were so hungry would have settled for any placed that served food.

But...it turns out this place had some of the best Scottish fare we had anywhere in Scotland. We were in the mood for something light so we ordered salads, and they were absolutely perfect! But then I noticed that they had a Scotch Egg on the menu, except that instead of sausage, they used haggis to coat the egg. There went my plan for a light lunch. I *had* to have that haggis-coated Scotch Egg. And it did not disappoint! Probably the best Scotch Egg I've ever had, anywhere. The restaurant here rivaled any place we went to in Glasgow, Skye, or anywhere else in Scotland. If you're driving between Stirling and Cairngorms, you would do well to take the route that passes Meikleour Arms.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leonidas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meikleour Arms H, Owner at The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind and most entertaining review. We make our own haggis using ingredients from our farm and a wholesome haggis Scotch egg is full of country goodness with nearly Super Food status! I am glad you enjoyed our salads too, there is nothing better than a freshly cut garden grown lettuce with well prepared simple ingredients. Thank you for stopping by, it was a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

We popped in for a quick drink and really liked the atmosphere. We decided to eat here and wasnt disappointed. The food was really well cooked and good quality. The roast beef was just pink in the middle with lots of fresh vegetables. The minute steak sandwich came with pleanty of tender meat.

The bar is dog friendly so our four legged family member was made to feel very welcome.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RealBritbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meikleour Arms H, Owner at The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the food which is sourced locally, a large part of it from our land. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again soon, and yes bring the dog, we love them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

family of four really enjoyed all courses pigeon was great kids loved the chicken and chips, venison burger was very good but special mention for the jaffa chocolate sponge that was amazing. service was nice and relaxed not rushed, waiter was cool.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meikleour Arms H, Owner at The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you very much for taking the tine to write this kind review. Our wood pigeon is very popular.. from field to plate, and yes the jaffa chocolate cake is simply wicked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We used to stop here often for a drink in the sun or a meal, it was always lovely and reasonably priced.
The Inn has been vastly refurbished and the cost of all this seems to be telling in the prices and quantities of the food.
The drink prices are now OTT. £9.95 for a large glass of wine , which is given to you in a small carafe, but it is only 250ml and does not warrant the price.
The food is in smaller quantities and overpriced.
The haggis was awful and swimming in a creamy sauce that was supposed to be whisky but I think they forgot to add that.
The kedgeree was basically all rice with very little fish.
Very disappointed and on speaking to the locals this seems to be the norm now.

    • Service
1  Thank daimler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meikleour Arms H, Owner at The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I understand that you were very fond of the previous tenants (back in 2013) and haven't visited us since then. Yes things have changed since we bought the pub back into the estate. We make everything in house using superior produce grown locally or by us, we have an award wining team in the kitchen putting love, effort and creativity in what they do. Obviously we can all have a bad day and I have passed on your useful feedbacks to our head chef. Yes, we are probably a bit more expensive than 5 or 6 years ago under different management but overall we like to think that guests do get a quality experience and we do check our prices carefully to be in line with other similar restaurants around us. Just recently we were featured in The Times as one of the Top 30 best UK pubs (and the only Scottish pub in the 2018 ranking) so we can't be that bad. Regarding the wine list we like to select interesting producers and good quality vineyards. We offer our wine in 125ml glass, 250ml carafe (which you ordered) or a bottle. The wine that you chose was a very decent Bordeaux claret which at £9.95 a carafe is good value for money. We have a cheaper one, a pinot noir Recas Cramele (which won a Decanter Magazine award) at £4.25 a glass or £7.95 a 250ml carafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

We ate in the restaurant on 1 night of our stay and the food was delicious. We ordered venison chacuterie and a black pudding scotch egg to start then moules frites and monkfish cheeks for mains, all of which were superb. The restaurant is really nicely decorated and has a lovely feel to it. The staff were really friendly, the wine and beer were top notch so it was a fab evening all round. Breakfast in the mornings were amazing, absolutely yummy so would highly recommend.

Thank Excursion802713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meikleour Arms H, Owner at The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you had a good experience. You had our classics, venison charcuterie, scotch egg and Monk cheeks... you could not go wrong with that. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms also viewed

Murthly, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Guildtown, Perth and Kinross
 
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Restaurant At Meikleour Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing