We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation, with a great sea view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / diner Log burner located in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Kitchen / diner
Log burner located in lounge
Feature stairs leading to bedroom, balcony and sitting area
Dingies Howe
The Ring of Brodger near Tiffyhall
Highland Park vats of Whisky
Highland Park visitor centre
Mullhead, Deerness
St Margaret's Hope
Maeshowe
Skara Brae
Stromness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Deerness, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nich0la88
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, with a great sea view”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

So we arrived to a great welcome from Karen, including scones, jam and cream, local bread and oatcakes and a lovely wee bottle of local gin! What a start. Really well outfitted cottage, everything you could possibly need. Sometimes self catering, there's something you have forgotten, but not here - everything is provided for you. Clear views to the sea from the one bedroom cottage - the curlews, hares and even a sparrowhawk have kept us entertained. About a 10 - 15 min drive to Kirkwall, so not difficult to get to all the sight-seeing areas. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Hi Nichola
Wow! What a fantastic review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Karen and Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan I
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a great little cottage. Lovely views out to the sea in the distance. Well-equipped. Nice touch with the eggs / milk / essentials there on arrival. Loads of local information leaflets available. Even some freshly baked scones one evening! The only thing we'd add would be blackout curtains for the bedroom - you can actually see the light from the lighthouse over 5 miles away at night!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Hi Duncan,
Thank you for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope our guests feel comfortable while here. As we just took over the business 6 months ago we really appreciate all feedback. We shall get new curtains made. Hope to see you both again.
Thanks,
Karen & Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jbgkin
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely comfortable well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Convenient location. Lovely welcome pack. Lots to see and do on Orkney. Excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our cottage extremely comfortable, we do aim to offer value for money and as you said there is lots to do in Orkney and our cottage is located such that you are not too far from it all, but far enough that at the end of the day you can come back and relax in comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nethergre...
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is one of the best self catering holiday places I have ever rented. The cottage is beautiful and the kitchen is extremely well equipped. I don't think there was anything I wanted that I couldn't find. There are beautiful views from the bed loft. Our bed was very comfortable and we slept extremely well. We were very grateful for the fresh eggs that we were given from the farm flock of hens, and for the friendly treatment we got from the owners. The farm is in a pleasingly rural area. We had a rental car and were able to take advantage of the excellent roads to go exploring. However, there are also buses running reasonably regularly into Kirkwall. We had a wonderful time and would be delighted to return. (The weather was great too, but I don't suppose the hosts can guarantee that!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review and we are both pleased you found our cottage met your needs. We do aim to make the cottage as comfortable as possible and as much as a home as possible. The views we agree are spectacular and we feel we are in a good location to allow visitors to enjoy Orkney. Our Chickens are good layers so we have an abundance of eggs at the moment. A car is good to get about, however there is a local bus service too and from Kirkwall. We do hope you are able to come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred B
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Comfortable and well equipped cottage.
Very cosy with wood burner going with great views of the sea. Great base to explore the Orkneys and their incredible history. Very helpful hosts and overall a fantastic staycation destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thanks for such a good review, we are pleased you found our cottage met your needs and you enjoyed its facilities. We agree it is a great base to explore Orkney as we are located not to far to most sites. We do hope you are able to return one day,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing