We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous peaceful remote”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom at the Cottage with King bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom at the Cottage with King bed
Sunset from the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Bedroom at the Cottage with King bed
Sunset from the Beach
View of the front of the Cottage
configured for 2 Twins
nice living space
Living area of the Cottage with Sofa Bed, sitting area and Satellite TV
Kitchen area of the Cottage.  Doors on the right are for the Bed and Bath.  All full size appliances
Shower in the Bathroom.  Plenty of space to store your toiletries
Laundry Facilities
Hammock for lazy afternoons on the screened in porch!
Sunset Beach - just a short walk down the road
View of the cottage with sundeck and sand beach
Fresh Mixed Greens
view of Dean's Blue Hole from the cove
Panoramic view of Sunset Beach
the Beautiful waters of the Bahamas
a perfect anchorage just off the beach!
Palmirage is located near the bottom of the S in Morris
Blooming hibiscus and sunning area off Cottage
North End of Long Island - the cut at Columbus Point
View from the beach back to where the Kayak trip came from - 1/2 hour paddle thru the mangroves
Columbus Point and Monument - great afternoon Kayak trip!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Long Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
HAM1Manch...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous peaceful remote”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This cottage is 2 minutes walk from beach. It's the best self catering place we have ever rented. Very clean with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. Washing and drying room was great. Selection of DVDs. A huge bonus was the use of bikes and double canoe- both of which we used several times. We had to physically pull the canoe to the beach- on its little trolley. The screened porch and hammock allows evenings outside without fear of getting bitten.it has wi-fi this was a bit intermittent- and the electric went off a couple of times after a tropical storm- but it just adds to the experience. It's remote location however means nearest bar 3 miles and grocery store 15 minutes drive away. We just stocked up twice in the fortnight with our own food and drink. If you are after a restaurant every night- don't stay here. We were after peace and our own company which is what we got. Gorgeous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No kettle
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortney S
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Palmirage was a perfect place for our stay on Long Island. We have two boys, 7 and 11. They slept comfortably on the pull out couch and fought over who laid in the hammock on the screened in porch. The A/C worked: we would open all the screened windows when leaving in the morning, the cottage would be warm upon our return in the evening. We would close all the windows and turn on the A/C and in a matter of minutes the entire cottage would be cool. We would turn it off before dinner and just run the ceiling fans for the rest of the night. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils and spices. We cooked our fresh catch for dinner every night on the provided grill. We used the provided cooler to pack picnic lunches to eat while we were out enjoying all the island had to offer. Like other posters, we had trouble with internet and satellite reception. Our vacation was meant to escape all that stuff so it wasn't a bother to us. A selection of DVD's kept the boys entertained when winding down for the night. The screened in porch was perfect to enjoy a morning cup of coffee while planning the day, and, a rum and coke while reflecting on the day's adventures. The beach was a short walk from the cottage but certainly manageable. We called Dan when we had one probelm with a clogged toilet and couldn't find a plunger - two different "friends" came by extending the use of their plunger.

The cottage was a great deal as we spent a lot of money on airfare and extras. A car rental is necessary if you plan to explore all points of the 80 mile long island. The location of the cottage was a benefit as a lot of the island activities are near the north end where the cottage is located. If I did it all over again, I would pack an extra bag of dry foods. Groceries are very expensive and snacks or powdered drink mixes for the boys would have been beneficial.

Long Island checked all our boxes for this vacation. We wanted a relaxing vacation at non-commercialized locale. All the locals we dealt with were generous with their time in explaining their history and culture to our boys. Very grateful to the wonderful Long Islanders!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and of Long Island!! We look forward to being here for your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IL
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OR
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Thank you! We are so happy you enjoyed the stay...and appreciated the kitchen set up. We like to cook too, and wanted the same good quality for our guests to enjoy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing