We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exceptional place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I do not normally write reviews but thought that this place was exceptional in service and beauty. I was one of a party of 27 that had stayed for a week in this beautiful resort. All of us were divided between 7 villas and were put on the meal plan. The flight to the Bahamas and then to Long Island was seamless and when I first laid eyes on this place it took my breathe away. Villas and Bungalows are steps away from the long stretch of secluded white sand beaches. Our party was a mix of families and adults, kids could swim in the calm ocean while adults relaxed and kicked back. The service was impeccable , Maya, our guide throughout the week was super friendly very informative and a pleasure to talk to. The service from waitresses, landscapers, fishing guides to taxi drivers all greeted you with a smile and were extremely helpful and informative. (within a day they all knew our names and greeted us for the next week on a first name basis) something you do not experience very often. Villas accommodations had all high end kitchen equipment and everything was new and clean. Food and drinks were quality. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing vacation for both families, couples and single adults looking for some peace and relaxation.

Room Tip: Any Bungalow or Villa is quality there is no going wrong. Bungalows do not have air conditioning b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estergrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear estergrif,

Greetings from Paradise!

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and friends for the week. Everyone had a great time and the group beach dinner turned out perfect! You are correct, this is the perfect place for both couples and families. I always tell our guests that we can keep you busy each day with activities or you can simply read a book and relax on the beach.

I just wanted to mention that all the bungalows do have air conditioning.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    96
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
172
296
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Had a great 5 night stay here last November. What a beautiful setting. One of the most beautiful stretches of beach I've seen. Sand like white flour and beautiful turquoise blue water. It faces west also, so great sunset opportunities. The accommodations are spread across the length of beach with villas on far end. It is on the smaller side as far as number of accommodations so that makes it nice. Aside from villas, rooms are one story so no noise above and only one room next too you but we never heard anything. The main building where everything is located is centrally located. The resort has somewhat of a club feel. Our room was adequate, bed very comfortable.. There is plenty of closet and storage space, bathroom was fine but alittle odd set up. The big bonus is the huge screened in porch/living space. That is just a great place to hang out and has beautiful view. We spent most of our time here when not dining or at beach. It was great when there were occasional showers as you could still be outside. All rooms are literally steps from beach. The beach is very long so great walking and there is a huge lagoon to walk to at one end which is just beautiful at high tide, definitely not to miss. You can snorkel there at high tide also. At low tide it is fun to walk all the way across to other side.
They have good daily drink specials and happy hour prices each day.. Food was good and there is enough variety. Staff is very nice and owner's were very visible and approachable. We did have issues in scheduling excursions. Most require at least 4 people and no one ever signed up so we couldn't go. But water got rough then also so boats were not going out. We decided to rent a car for a day which I recommend, just to see the island. It was so easy to navigate. We drove to Blue Hole to snorkel/swim. Not much to see but just neat to experience Blue Hole. There was free diving training going on so that was neat to see. We stopped at Max's Conch Bar for lunch. That was great! - food was excellent and staff was so friendly. Highly recommend Max's.
All in all just a wonderful relaxing place to go. If you want to just relax and like a quiet, idyllic spot – this is a great one!

Room Tip: They are all good as all beachfront, so just depends if you want the larger villa with kitchen or re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

In the past few years we have been lucky enough to make annual trips to Long Island and the Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort. Our experience has been consistently excellent. Some specifics follow.

Location: (location, location) This is a beautiful spot. The resort is situated right on the most spectacular white sand beach you can imagine. The waves lull you to sleep every night. The beach has a very gradual slope and is perfect for small children. There is virtually no surf unless it’s really stormy. There is relatively little boat traffic. The Cape has kayaks which you can take surfing on the sandbar or to poke around into the bay behind the resort. The water is exquisite and you can see rays glide by from the beach. Long Island is pretty poor without much of an economy beyond tourism and subsistence farming. The resort management seems to have done an excellent job of integrating with the local community and in general there isn’t any of the uncomfortable walled-off us and them feeling. We know some islanders and really value our relationships with them.

Activities: This is one of the all time best places to do nothing and I highly recommend that you spend a good part of your visit doing nothing. If you must do something, the fishing, snorkeling, and shelling are superb. I like to swim across the cut and meander along the beach in the bay behind the resort. The fishing is very good, the guides are knowledgeable and fun and the boats and equipment are top-notch. This past year we took a trip out to Sandy Cay (site of filming for one of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies). Wow! It was the perfect place to imagine oneself a castaway and it had rare rock iguanas, too. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful!

Birding: We’ve mostly been there in January and March. My birding has mostly been casual. The more I look the more I find. Seabirds are remarkably few. There is a colony of terns in the bay behind the resort and I’ve seen singleton Brown Pelican and Magnificent Frigatebird, Oystercatcher are sparse but reliable, so to Turnstones. Osprey seem to be getting more common. Bahamas Mockingbirds are everywhere, Bananaquit are common and I reliably see hummingbirds (but not yet with binos and book in hand). Walking the beach along the back bay I’ve seen a number of warbler species. There is a colony of Whistling Ducks you can see by boat. I think there are Flamingos somewhere on the island. I saw an Antillean Bullfinch (was it greater or lesser?) last year. The habitat is mostly low scrub on limestone.

Staff: The staff are very kind and genuinely interested in the quality of your stay. We have become friendly with many of the staff (not much turn over in 4 years) and look forward to seeing them again each year. Brook and Ewa are lovely people and skilled hoteliers. I particularly appreciate Brook’s low-key style and honesty. If you ask him a question he gives you a straight answer, no excuses or telling you what you want to hear.

Food: The food is quite good, especially given the remoteness of the place. I particularly like the breakfast. You’re cheating yourself if you don’t try the boiled fish with grits. Service can be slow. We buy the meal plan because it makes things simple for our family. Others cook. The villas have beautiful kitchens, but groceries on the island are limited.

Getting there: It isn’t easy, but that’s part of the adventure. If you have a group of five, consider a charter from Ft. Lauderdale. It is very convenient and not subject to the vagaries of the other local carriers.

Summary: I was looking over pictures from out last trip recently and really missing Long Island. It is a wonderful place. Maybe we’ll stay a year sometime. We like the Oak Bay experience so much we’re going to try April Point in British Columbia this year.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Villa. I prefer the layout of the older (closest to the bungalows) downstairs units be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deale, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently sailed in to the north end of long Island called Cape Santa Maria and anchored for the night. We decided to take a dinghy ride into this resort and check it out.
Although we did not stay at the resort we did stop at the bar and had a very pleasant time.
The resort is immaculate with a beach of fine white powdery sand and lovely white painted chalets. The staff were amazingly attentive and helpful. I would certainly return here for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Check their web site All of the chalets face the beach and have there own porches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

It had been several years (too many) since we had last visited Cape Santa Maria. On this visit, we found it to be better than our fondest memories! We flew our Baron to Stella Maris (MYSL) on 27 December, with just enough time to completely unwind in preparation for New Year's Eve. The resort was "JAMMED" - about 80 people for 4 MILES of Pure Sugar White Beach. This has to be Heaven's definition of PERFECT! What a contrast to Everywhere Else! The Staff are tremendous, the food consistently delicious and the prices within reason. The weather was spectacular, the fishing was great and the diving delightful in that amazingly clear water. In fact, our experience was So Good that we considered sending our Passports back and just staying! Without a doubt, we will return "Soon & Often". Don't miss this spectacular Jem! One of the World's Best Experiences! Jim & Darlene L

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the privately owned Villas! They are spectacular by any standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesLara7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookCSM, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear JamesLara7007,

Thanks you very much for the review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife and I really enjoyed chatting with you. Considering your experience in the hospitality industry, we really appreciate the feedback. Did you see that Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort received a Tripadvisor Traveller's Choice Award as one of the Top 5 resorts in the Caribbean and the best resort in all the Bahamas? Our staff are very excited about this prestigous award.

We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
71.5 km away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 km away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
10.4 km away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#3 of 5 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
73.3 km away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Po Box L.I 30-117 | Galliot Cay, Long Island, Long Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price range (per night): $352 - $1,124
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing