We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place for lunch on Harbour Island, Bahamas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sip Sip

Sip Sip
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch on Harbour Island, Bahamas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Sip Sip is without a doubt the best place on Harbour Island for lunch. The lobster quesadilla is to die for ( too large for one person, so share). The view is amazing and the wait staff is efficient and very friendly! Drinks are great, too. What more can you ask for? Oh yes, I left out that their t-shirts and insulated cups or mugs are great gifts for friends back home. So, there's shopping between courses!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    47
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Best lunch on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Sip Sip is the kind of restaurant that is just part of the daily routine for frequent travelers to Harbour Island. Though we are certainly not part of that category, my husband and I enjoyed our three lunches at Sip Sip tremendously during our most recent - second overall - trip to Briland. We only discovered Sip Sip on the last day of our first trip last year, so we made a point to lunch there more frequently on this trip. The restaurant delivers consistently tasty lunches on an outdoor deck with one of the best views of Pink Sand Beach - on an island this small, this is a marvel. Of course, this all comes at a price, a rather steep one. On average, we paid between $50-90 for a lunch for two. In comparison with lunches at the Dunmore Beach Club, it's a slight step up in price, albeit not completely inconsistent with the cost of vacationing on Harbour Island.

There's a board with a rather long list of specials that outlines what's available that day in addition to their standard menu. The special drinks are great, but I would avoid the coconut water they serve. The lobster quesadilla is apparently what Sip Sip is famous for, but it was - by far - the most disappointing dish I ordered. Perhaps because of heightened expectations? The grouper fish sandwich is delicious as are eggplant hummus, hamburger, and grilled shrimp special with the fruit chipotle salsa.

It's difficult to give five stars to a restaurant that commands such exorbitant prices for a reliable but not fantastic lunch. But the service is always warm, the food consistent, and the view gorgeous. A lunch at Sip Sip is a must for all tourists to Briland!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bostongal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great deck, portions big enough to share”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Sip Sip has a pretty deck overlooking the beach (I think I had been expecting more of something literally on the sand). Prices seem a little high initially, but portions are quite large. We split a fresh papaya appetizer ($12) and the lobster quesadilla ($40) and had plenty. Cocktails are $10, which weren't as expensive as we would've expected. So overall, it's no more expensive than most other places at that rate. Service was pretty good, although a little slow to get another round of drinks. We enjoyed the food and the drinks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emorygrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

After a few days of bad food in Nassau, we made the trek to Harbor Island and had lunch at Sip Sip. It's one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at in the whole world. The ingredients were very fresh and everything was prepared perfectly. I'll definitely have to return to the Bahamas just to eat here again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rahulbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss the funny shirts at Sip Sip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The scenery here is unbelievable. Ocean views and a beautiful patio will welcome you. The service is good, the food is great. They have a liitle boutique on the property too with cute things to take home. I had a grouper sandwich that was fantastic. It is a little expensive but well worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sip Sip also viewed

Harbour Island, Out Islands
Harbour Island, Out Islands
 
Harbour Island, Out Islands
Harbour Island, Out Islands
 

Been to Sip Sip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing