We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Charming Quirky Place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hay Loft

Your bed awaits
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your bed awaits
Mezzanine sleeping Dine to your heart's content
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Your bed awaits
Mezzanine sleeping
Dine to your heart's content
The pebble shower room
All you need for a night in
Front garden of the adjacent cottage
lavender on the table
Original Welsh art
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gileston, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Karen B
1 review
“A Charming Quirky Place to Stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The location was spot on for us. Great walks. Well equipped with everything needed for your stay. Will certainly be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVKH
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Loved this little cottage. Stayed for two nights while walking the Wales Coast National Trail. Having a space and amenities that felt like a home was a special treat. It isn't fancy, but it has everything you need....frig, two burner stove, microwave, toaster, good lighting, space to spread out and a pretty outdoor area, too. Bed is up a ladder-like staircase to a loft. Cute! Had a little trouble arranging for delivery of my bags, but it did work out in the end, and Rhodri was accommodating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wegs51
Stoke
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just right for two”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted small and quiet and we got just that. The cottage was lovely and so easy to get around from there. We really enjoyed our stay. You do really need a car to get around but it is possible to catch buses from the main road outside the village. The walk down to the shore is a great way to walk off tea. Would we come back? Yes we would, definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thriftytr...
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect, more than we hoped for.”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely gorgeous little building! had everything we needed plus tea, coffee, cleaning products etc. The weather wasnt that great so we were delighted to find a stash of dvds :) close to Cardiff and Barry. A pretty area of the country. Really friendly owners. Will be returning!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen w
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely relaxing weekend.”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Beautifully decorated, well equipped and comfortable cottage. Everything we needed was there - though some coat hooks for wet jackets would have been useful. 10 minutes walk to the beach and although it is in the shadow of the power station the beach was fantastic. Pebbly, with lots of rock pools to explore. Surfers out on the waves and friendly locals. We had a fab meal in the Old White Hart in Llanwit Major - really friendly service and home cooked food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing