We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kittiwake house - a lovely experience!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kittiwake House

Kittiwake House montage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kittiwake House montage
Stunning sea views .... without even getting out of bed! Well stocked kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Kittiwake House montage
Stunning sea views .... without even getting out of bed!
Well stocked kitchen
Courtyard bedroom
Courtyard bedroom.
Kittiwake House has a comfortable and relaxed style
Relax and take in the views!
Family bathroom
Shower in family bathroom
Luxurious freestanding bath
Views to courtyard from first floor landing
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
Sunny courtyard garden .... perfect spot for relaxing!
Single bed
Kingsize bed
Master bedroom.  Beautiful views across the Forth towards Isle of May, Bass Rock and Berwick Law
Master bedroom with fabulous sea views
Master bedroom shown with two singles.  Can also be made up as a superkingsize bed.
Pretty front garden
Our guests can expect a warm welcome at Kittiwake
Kittiwake is perfect for a Festive Season escape!
Festive gifts and a cosy fireside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna L
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kittiwake house - a lovely experience!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have spent a week in this beautiful, well-kept and charming house, it has been a true pleasure. Not only is the house cosy and comfortable, it is also clean and well equipped. The sea-views are stunning! Amongst other things during our week, we particularly enjoyed Falkland Palace and gardens, Kellie castle and all the walks along this beautiful coast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for leaving a review. We value our guests’ comments as our aim is always to create a relaxing and memorable experience for families. So when our guests are happy then we are very happy! We know you had travelled from Sweden to stay in Kittiwake House and visit the East Neuk. The area is well loved in Scotland for the coastal paths that hug the coastline linking the pretty fishing villages. We are always excited to welcome guests from overseas and hope you may stay with us again in future! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X8866RNda...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A house full of charm and character”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Kittiwake House met all our expectations from the reviews and advertising materials we had read. Although modernised with all appropriate facilities and appliances this the 3 storey terraced house retains all its charm with lovely sea and roof top views from all the front windows, the main bedroom view being most notable.The house has good access to the Fife coast and is not far from St Andrews. Beach walks and the Fife coastal path are very close by. A visit to May Island is recommended. The owner was very responsive to our needs and very helpful.
The only improvement we would recommend would be a larger freezer but other wise everything we required was available, the beds in particular were very comfortable. Needles to say we would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the house and its sea views
Liked least: A bigger freezer would have been helpful and the key safe was a little awkward
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. We aim to ensure guests have a relaxing stay .... and a good night's sleep is an essential part of that! Many guests find Kittiwake House a peaceful and quiet retreat from the world and return again and again to chill out with friends and family or just to enjoy some time together. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We note the comment about the freezer, which is a table top sized one in the cupboard under the stairs. We could fit a larger freezer in there so will look into this. Thank you again for leaving a review. Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleymur...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday home”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week here. Cava and Tunnock biscuits were waiting for us. House was lovely and warm and view from master bedroom was beautiful. We watched dolphins from the window. Lots of space for a family to spread out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you for leaving a review. We are especially pleased you were able to watch our local pod of dolphins from the house .... they are so beautiful aren't they! Other guests have reported sitting and watching them from bed too. Kittiwake House is great for larger families, with rooms over 3 floors plus a large kitchen and lounge, nobody needs to feel on top of each other. Perhaps we can welcome you another time of the year? Thank you, Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. Kittiwake House is in a perfect area for exploring all the coastal villages and sites of the East Neuk. The accommodation is spacious and offers families and friends a chance to relax and spend time together but with plenty of space too. We would love to be able to welcome you back at another time of the year! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CEWD
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Kittiwake House. Fantastic and idyllic location, perfect for exploring the East Neuk of Fife and walking it's dramatic coastline. The house was ideal for a group of friends, warm and welcoming with all the necessary amenities. The wonderful Craig Miller restaurant is less than a 5 minute stroll as are the walks along the coast from St. Monans harbour. We bought the best scallops ever tasted at the wholesale and retail fish supplier also based in St. Monans. There is the delightful Smokehouse take out or sit in cafe 20 yards away at the harbour. Open Sat/Sun during winter. My London companions were blown away by the landscape. We will definitely return to Kittiwake. The 8th member of our party, Ruby the Labrador also had a great time and received a warm welcome. Thank you to Wendy for answering our questions and making the weekend seamless. I'd recommend this house at any time of the year.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
It sounds as though you really took advantage of all of the lovely eateries and fresh produce on our doorstep! The East Neuk and St Monans is one of Scotland?s best kept secrets ?. unspoilt and friendly, relaxed and peaceful, with great pubs, cafes and restaurants! We take a great deal of pride in ensuring our guests have a memorable time at Kittiwake House. There are a number of great walks on the coastal path ? and the local bus runs backwards and forwards along the coast road and through all of the East Neuk Fishing Villages and on to St Andrews. We would love to welcome you all (including Ruby) back to Kittiwake at any other time of the year. Perhaps consider booking during the Fife Open Studios weekends next time and check out our local Artists too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing