We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kittiwake House

Kittiwake House montage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kittiwake House montage
Stunning sea views .... without even getting out of bed! Well stocked kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Kittiwake House montage
Stunning sea views .... without even getting out of bed!
Well stocked kitchen
Courtyard bedroom
Courtyard bedroom.
Kittiwake House has a comfortable and relaxed style
Relax and take in the views!
Family bathroom
Shower in family bathroom
Luxurious freestanding bath
Views to courtyard from first floor landing
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
Sunny courtyard garden .... perfect spot for relaxing!
Single bed
Kingsize bed
Master bedroom.  Beautiful views across the Forth towards Isle of May, Bass Rock and Berwick Law
Master bedroom with fabulous sea views
Master bedroom shown with two singles.  Can also be made up as a superkingsize bed.
Pretty front garden
Our guests can expect a warm welcome at Kittiwake
Kittiwake is perfect for a Festive Season escape!
Festive gifts and a cosy fireside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rshilstr
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A lovely home from home, decorating to suit surroundings and property, complete with Christmas tree and scented candles thorought and bottle of sparkly. Every little detail thought of and has obviously been a labour of love for the owners. Cannot wait to return and will definately recommend to friends and family.

Thank you,
Rosemary Shilstone

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
It sounds as though you had a traditional family Christmas together and we were really delighted you chose Kittiwake. We pride ourselves on little details and special touches that help families enjoy their precious time together. Thank you for leaving the home-made Christmas decoration ... it will be at the top of the Christmas tree every year from now on! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelBug...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A Lovely property ideally situated near the water. Like a home away from home, I loved the kitchen & the spacious open fire living room for mixing with our large family group. The rooms were comfortable & there was a nice outside space enclosed at the back. A very charming & warm play to stay, highly recommended

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for leaving feedback on your stay. We know it was a return visit to Kittiwake for a family holiday, and therefore we are really happy you had another great time. We also loved being able to welcome you back! You know you can expect a warm welcome again anytime. Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajh101
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“All too brief a stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had the pleasure of a weekend at Kittiwake House in sleepy St Monans. It can be summed up by two words: comfort and character. Thoughtful personal touches from the owner enhance the experience and we will certainly consider returning again. At about 20 minutes from St Andrews it is a great place to stay while visiting the kids at University.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character.
Liked least: Only staying two nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. We regularly have families staying with us who decide to have a few days holidaying when visiting their children at St Andrews University. The location is really perfect, certainly good value for money in comparison with St Andrews, and as you say … St Monans is wonderfully sleepy and so laid back. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you again …. As you already know, there’s plenty of room to bring the whole family when it’s time to celebrate the Graduation! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn E
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation & incredible views”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Kittiwake is just lovely. Roomy & has everything you need. The location is even better than the accommodation....if that could be possible. Only one complaint....a very small one...there was no cupboard space in two bedrooms, so nowhere to hang the clothes, but we managed. Everything else was just brilliant. I would definitely recommend to anyone who wanted to travel to Fife.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
I really appreciate your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed both the house and the location. Yes, two bedrooms have plenty of drawer space, but are wardrobeless! I will need to think about a solution …perhaps some additional posh hangers in those rooms … I am sorry if there wasn’t enough hanging space for you, but pleased it didn’t spoil your holiday. You are always welcome back at Kittiwake, and thank you for recommending us! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freda E
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful home from home!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a great discovery! The East Neuk of Fife is so pretty and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay than Kittiwake House in St Monans. Comfortable and beautifully decorated and equipped, we had everything we needed, whatever the weather. The perfect place to stay to really relax and feel restored. Plenty of places nearby to eat, if you don't fancy cooking, and the Fife Coastal Path is a stone's throw away. We visited lots of nearby towns and villages like Elie, Crail and St Andrews and our National Trust cards came in very handy too! The local people are so friendly and kind - it would be a great pleasure to return one day. Thoroughly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and condition of the house as well as the wonderful views.
Liked least: The cold drizzly rain - but it only lasted a couple of hours!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for leaving this review … and we agree … the East Neuk is definitely a hidden gem! For those who have yet to discover it, the East Neuk occupies the north east corner of the Fife peninsula and encompasses a string of beautiful fishing villages which look south across the Firth of Forth and around to the North Sea. We have fascinating architecture, lovely old harbours, beautiful coastal walks, spectacular seas and 100% pure, clean, fresh air! I think this is why, like yourselves, our guests always mention feeling restored after they have stayed with us. We are also a wee bit passionate about design and detail and love creating little touches of individuality for guests staying at Kittiwake! But most of all, St Monans itself is so welcoming and friendly! Many of our guests chose to return and we love being able to welcome them back! Wx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing