We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nithsdale Hotel(Sanquhar)
USD 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 143
USD 101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 89
USD 78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
USD 75
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water(Lockerbie)(Great Value!)
USD 96
USD 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
32
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesnothing is too much troubleelizabeth annmansethornhillea
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This B and B really is as good as all the reviews say. Elizabeth Ann is the perfect hostess. Nothing is too much trouble. The house is eclectic and beautiful, the bedroom was lovely and comfy. Our breakfasts were lovely, each accompanied with freshly cooked scones, homemade jams and excellent company. Thank you so much for a lovely stay ( and the doggie bags of food ) for our return journey home.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we explored virtually empty back roads in glorious weather, despite it being a bank holiday weekend !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc-and-dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Elizabeth Anne Hughes fills your life with great expectations. B&B perfect nothing too much trouble anything you ask for you will be given. The breakfast is a lovely leisurely affair which is cooked to perfection. The rooms are smartly decorated and the house is a little tardis lots of little areas to sit. The best thing is you can buy pearls here from a lady who is passionate about them and will advise you on what is best for you had a fab afternoon looking at pearls thanks E.A. This is a place we will visit again not laughed so much in ages. Thanks to a lovely hostess

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Elizabeth Ann Hughes warmly welcomed us into her beautiful home in the small village of Penpont near Thornhill with a big smile, a pot of tea and freshly baked scones with home-made damson jam. We were made to feel very much at home and loved every minute of our 2 night stay. We enjoyed the fabulous breakfasts - very leisurely affairs, in the beautiful dining room. (Even our dog was given a breakfast sausage!) Although we ate out in the evenings we did enjoy a nightcap and some entertaining conversation with Elizabeth Ann on our return! We were given a key and could come and go as we
pleased. Elizabeth Ann is a wonderful hostess and Scaurbridge House is a fabulous place to stay. We hope to return sometime soon. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights this bank holiday weekend, it is in the ideal location and the attention to detail by Elizabeth Ann, the proprietor, was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble! She even made fresh pancakes on our arrival for the very welcome cup of tea! If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is just that little bit special, then look no further! We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stopped by Elizabeth-Anne's wonderful guesthouse on a cycle trip across scotland. It made a fantastic mid-way point, set on the edge of a quaint village in the heart of some beautiful countryside. I found the hostess to be most welcoming; she made me a superb breakfast to fuel me on my way before I set off for the day and had back-up supplies of the toiletry items I had forgotten. Importantly, I got a superb night of sleep in the marvellous king-size bed! I recommend as a stop for any travellers on the road!

Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warrenjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews