We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janharbz
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed in this fabulous cottage in November and had a brilliant week. It’s a stone’s throw from a great beach where you can walk for miles. The cottage is cosy and extremely well equipped and is a perfect base to explore the gorgeous coastline. Would definitely recommend and we’ll definitely be going again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingha...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage near a great beach”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage really close to a great beach. It is so close that if you set off from the front door of the cottage at the time you started reading this review, you would be at the beach by now.

The communication by the owner was spot on before we turned up, with her letting me know of some of the places to visit in Amble.

I rate the beaches in Northumberland as some of the best in the UK, especially if you have a dog as you can find miles of mostly untouched beaches great for exercising dogs and even humans. The cottage is really nice with nice touches such as WiFi, a log burner and a digital radio. Yes there is no outside garden to sit in in the evening, but then again if you have a beach literally a stones throw away then that is not a problem.

Amble is a pleasant 30 minute walk away along the dunes and beach, and it has all you need including a lot of really top notch places to eat such as The Fat Mermaid and Jaspers. Plus there's places like Alnmouth, Anwick and Warksworth near by which are all wroth a visit.

The cottage is also on the Northumberland coastal path so you can follow this either way out of the front door to get to more stunning beaches and scenery.

All in all a great cottage in a lovely part of the world.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global699...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just what we both needed. Cottage very cosy warm and had everything we needed. Location was great almost on the beach. Our dog loved it just as much as we did. Spectacular views friendly locals and loads of fresh air and piece and quiet. We would definitely gore visit again .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ajimatis
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage, Superb Location”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage with all the amenities of home, it is well equipped with comfy beds and a great log burning fire. The location is superb just across a minor road from the most beautiful sandy beach, perfect to watch the sunrise in the morning!
Durridge Bay is stunning a lovely coastline to enjoy from the doorstep of the cottage.
The owner is lovely easy to communicate with helpful and provides a nice ,welcome pack'. I would recommend this cottage and intend to return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catlbo
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent Dec 30th-Jan 7th at Sandy Knowes. What a fab week! New year & a birthday celebrated in the cosy cottage. Truly a home from home but with glorious surroundings!
Beautiful sunrises, great having the beach to ourselves first thing in the morning. Missing the place now. Hope to visit again later this year.
Great communication from the homeowner & a wonderful welcome hamper was there on arrival. Loved it all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing