We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great but needs a couple of tweaks”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Our Spring Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bedfordba...
bedford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great but needs a couple of tweaks”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Came here with extended family for a weekend break. I have to admit to initial disappointment as cottage located in gorgeous countryside but the patio area faces a brick wall and not the rolling countyside we assumed. Also the garden furniture was just a picnic bench and hard wooden bench and as we sat outside most of the time due to the fabulous weather I think we would have appreciated something more comfortable. The other thing to note is the patio is shared with the house next door so if you both are bringing dogs and they are not sociable animals then it could be an issue. The garden area does need some attention as there were full ashtrays left in the garden and chewing gum stuck on the window sill. None were the fault of the owners but wasn't a great welcome and some of the paving slabs are loose. Ok that's the negative now the good stuff , there was a BBQ provided which we used and plenty of parking either to the back entrance of the house or across the road. the house itself is a little dated but spotlessly clean and very warm. The beds were fabulously comfortable and the bathrooms were modern with a hand held shower and bath downstairs and a shower upstairs . There are two double bedded rooms and the others are two single beds. A couple of minor issues were loose loo seat and lamp in bedroom needed a new lightbulb and the bedrooms were lacking in mirrors for drying hair . I am sure had we flagged this to the owners they would have resolved . We didnt see anyone after the initial greeting but that suited us. The kitchen was roomy and we did have the lovely fresh eggs waiting for us , there is no welcome pack so make sure you bring what you need from day one. Large table for dining but not enough chairs to seat 8 people. Dishwasher and microwave were provided and a small toaster so it was adequate. In summary we probably wouldn't come back as shared patio was an issue with our dogs and we did want the views when we were relaxing in the evenings but this is a fabulous comfortable house in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie2312...
Surbiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing stay with beautiful scenery & very accommodating owners”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My partner and I stayed her a few weeks ago with another couple and had a brilliant weekend. The Hinchliffe's who own the cottage went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and helped us plan our days out in the area. The cottage was very spacious and warm, with everything we needed. Beds were comfortable and there were plenty of bathrooms. There are plenty of great pubs and restaurants around and I would highly recommend this for a peaceful retreat or walking holiday. We will definitely be going back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thanks Rosie! Glad Colin and Katie looked after you.

Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable house with lovely views”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fresh daffodils in the rooms were a nice touch. There was a good atmosphere for a family get-together. The little ones danced whilst their uncle played the piano. There was a lovely large eating kitchen and the courtyard was good for meeting guests and sipping coffee.

The lounge initially smelt a bit smokey but this disappeared after leaving the windows open and the view of open fields was very pleasant. We enjoyed visiting Bakewell and Buxton (the Pavilion Gardens were good for kids) and locally a circular walk across the fields and back up the road gave us plenty of opportunities of viewing new-born lambs.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cottage, perfect for a weekend get away.”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Nice cottage for a weekend get away. Easy to get to from Manchester but nice rural location to feel away from it all. Clean and tidy and all rooms were spacious. When we returned home I realised that I had left my shirt in the wardrobe. I contacted the owner Helen and she kindly took the trouble to post my shirt on to me.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
244carol
Gosport
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT LARGE FAMILY HOLIDAY HOME”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is a great place for a family holiday, every room is spacious, it is well equipped with everything you need, wonderful scenery, 8 of us enjoyed the stay, and would love to come back again,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was spacious and well equipped
Liked least: wi fi very slow , but got us playing games as family , it was great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing