We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a quaint, casual, laid-back inn”
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck) Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
108 reviews
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck)
Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Kingfish1 Alder. Private covered deck with forever views.
Kingfish4: Spruce-Only Suite on 1st floor.  It has a wall of windows and private deck.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Sea views from bed. small kitchenette with microwave, fridge and bar sink.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Views of Marina and islands beyond from room and private deck.
All Suites: snacking items, fruits & power bars to start your morning, other snacks.
All Suites: planning a special celebration.  Call with budget for personalized packages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Orcas, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jeremiahr...
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a quaint, casual, laid-back inn”
Reviewed 13 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Richard and Nanae Fralick bought the Kingfish Inn this winter and have been working on the transition reservations since then. As you can imagine, they have been discovering glitches and correcting them ever since. We could have been upset about minor things, but since talking to the staff and the Fralicks, we completely understand the challenges they faced and have overcome. Stay here!

Their West Sound Cafe is excellent. They opened the cafe 3 days before we arrived, and we couldn't tell it was their opening week. The food is excellent and the waitstaff was weloming and treated us like loving family.

On this island, this is the place. Thanks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snokie
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“charming place with a stunning view”
Reviewed 9 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

"What a wonderful world" came to my mind when I sat there this morning on the wooden chair on the terrasse of my room and was overwhelmed by the sunrise from the left side, sending the shafts of sunlight acroos the silent water of the bay iluminating the lilac on the right side of the terrasse. Sitting there, listening to the birds and the wind calmed me down and made me feel incredible happy.

The room was very big and very nicely equipped. No roomservice during my stay but as announced in front. No fridge, no coffee/tee in the room, no table for working with the notebook (the kingsize bed is good alternative). Don´t forget to make a reservation for your breakfast, as guest you are not automatically on the list and many locals come for breakfast.

The owners of the Hotel are very nice and helpful people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimG0860
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
“A Terrific, Relaxing Place”
Reviewed 20 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

This inn has recently changed owners and our stay was one of the first with the new owners: locals who couldn't stand to see the inn be bought by outsiders who might want to change it.

Our room was lovely, even by my wife's exacting standards. Exellent king bed - very comfy. Clean and warm, even in February during a wild, windy night.

Breakfast was a highlight. Nanae (the new owner) prepared a several course, sit-down, elegant meal featuring lots of healthful veggies as well as eggs and breakfast meats. We visited with her (very friendly and accommodating, she) and learned that she's got a background in restaurants of many ethnicities.

The owners also own several very nice cabins on Orcas, so are adept at the business. To summarize The Kingfish has been a highly-regarded B&B for many years and appears to be continuing with that tradition.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otter57
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
“Awesome and Fun”
Reviewed 17 January 2011 for a stay in July 2010

Our family traveled from Virginia to Washington for a vacation in summer 2010 and we stayed on Orcas Island at the Kingfish Inn for 3 days. We liked everything about the place, but especially the way that Bob and Lori made us feel at home and welcome. The food was delicious...especially the Thai halibut and breakfast. Our first floor room was comfortable and spacious with a great view of West Sound harbor. Our 9-year old twins enjoyed the pebbly beach where they hunted for beach glass and driftwood. They found starfish and sea anenomes attached to the sides of the boat docks. Our time at the Kingfish Inn and West Sound Cafe was wonderful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canoer-je...
Lees Summit, mo
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kingfish Inn - Orcas Island B&B”
Reviewed 15 November 2010 for a stay in July 2010

The concept of relaxation correlates to the Kingfish Inn and Orcas Island. Don't let the rustic appearance fool you. The rooms at this B&B are large, clean, with a view of the cove and marina. Our hosts Bob and Lori are a deadly combination of master chef and professional housekeeper. The rooms are above the Inn's restaurant. B&B guests are served breakfast in the restaurant (which is only open for dinner), reserve dinner reservations at breakfast, as the restaurant is always full - I did say Bob was a master chef. He is a dead-ringer for the actor Richard Boone, but creates excellent meals-everything on the menu is wonderful. Lori is reminiscent of a cruise ship steward - unseen but her handiwork of clean rooms and linens is most evdient. For a quiet, relaxing break from the world - Kingfish Inn is a hidden gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing