We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
132
35
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
35
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real fire brisket wild mushrooms tagliatelle lovely pub rooms are basic wonderful food selection of beers fish and chips warm welcome log fire rabbit fillet steak booked a table mash an evening meal dumfries and galloway
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We travelled the 9 miles from Carsphairn to have a meal on the recommendation of our host at The Knowe guest house (brilliant B&B), and we were not disappointed. I had the beef and ale pie, and I can honestly say it was the best I've ever had - large pieces of tender beef in a rich gravy - and a proper pie with crust all around - not the flaky pastry type that floats on the top! It came with mash and veg, and it was delicious. My wife had the fish and chips and rated it very highly. The prices were very reasonable too. The room was very cosy, with a log fire, and we got a very warm welcome by the lovely staff! We have booked to go back to Carsphairn in summer, so we will be eating there again, without a doubt. Recommended!

Room tip: We didn't stay - we just had a meal
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Biggles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Yes, we are very fortunate to have good teams at the front of the house and in the kitchen and I will pass your comments on. Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We stayed in The Clachan Inn for three nights during the "mini-beast from the East". Lovely and cosy by the real fires, and no need to go elsewhere for food as the chef knows his onions - and loads of other ingredients, especially his home-made gin-cured salmon. We had a great walk from the door, along the Southern Upland Way, until the snow came down; it was especially nice to return to a real fire and well-kept ale.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLJ-1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks very much for a lovely review. We are lucky to have great countryside for walking on our doorstep and there is nothing like returning to a cosy fire and a good pint. I will pass your comments onto our kitchen staff and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Very polite helpful staff. Really enjoyed food and drinks. Very popular, so book in advance. Also offers takeaway. Popular with locals and tourists. Near Loch Ken, dark sky area. Also offers accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank SET8808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for your concise and informative review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals with us. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Lovely welcoming staff and delicious food - very possibly the best in Dumfries and Galloway- obviously using the very best of local ingredients. Fascinating surroundings providing a real Taste of Scotland in EVERY sense. Very highly recommended!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnieandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you for your review and we are very glad you enjoyed your visit to the Clachan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Had a wander around the village looking for Great Great Grandmothers cottage and called in here for a cup of tea and a warm. We were delighted!

Very friendly staff, sat us by the fire and were very attentive. Whilst we didn't order any food we did notice others meals and they looked lovely.

It was the charm of the Inn and the nice staff that left us feeling warm.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Many thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews