We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden Cottage, Fairlaw the perfect place for a holiday in the Scottish Borders
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Cottage, Fairlaw the perfect place for a holiday in the Scottish Borders
The cottage is set on a working farm very spacious open plan kitchen dining room (35ft)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Garden Cottage, Fairlaw the perfect place for a holiday in the Scottish Borders
The cottage is set on a working farm
very spacious open plan kitchen dining room (35ft)
The living areas are all upstairs in this 'upside down' house!
The upstairs has a kitchen/dinning room and a separate  sitting room, plenty of space for all
Sitting room looking out over the Cheviot hills and the North Sea
Sitting room
Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Plenty of toys, puzzles, games & books for all ages!
Winter sunset from sitting room
Secluded eating area the  perfect spot for a barbecue
Childrens' play area in front of the cottage
Garden Cottage is on a working farm surrounded by stunning countryside
St. Abbs Head
The stunning Berwickshire coastline is within 5 miles
All set for a trip to the beach!
Coldingham Bay
Coldingham Bay, award winning beach & St.Vedas  surf school.
Gunnersgreen House & the working fishing harbour, Eyemouth.
The neighbouring farm has plenty of animals
Take a stroll from the house through the surrounding fields & woods
Miles of stunning coastline is within easy reach of Fairlaw
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coldingham, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsG12345
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for a week in October with our four kids, ages 4 to 14. It's a lovely upside down house, tastefully decorated, with bedrooms downstairs and living areas upstairs. The bedrooms are very comfortable, and there are plenty of bathrooms. The large kitchen/dining room/lounge area is so homely that I could happily live there, and is very well equipped for 6 people. The other small sitting room is perfect for cosy evenings in front of a DVD or reading a book. There is a cupboard full of toys which was ideal for our 4 year old. The setting is lovely and quiet, but well connected for visiting the surrounding area. There is no wifi (although 3G seems to be accessible) and this turned out to be one of the best things ever - a proper holiday from screens and our kids played together more than they had done for a long time because of this. We would happily go back there. Recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge homely kitchen.sitting room.dining room
Liked least: heating difficult to get right
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. It is great to hear the pros of no wifi! Hope to see you all again .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place to create memories”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We first rented Fairlaw when the children were very young, now they are a grown-up 8, 9 and 10. It was a great holiday, the children were able to explore by themselves and the den they discovered soon became a firm favourite.

We had a lovely welcome from Emma and can fully recommend the Elderflower cordial, fresh bread and vases of fresh flowers - they were a lovely touch.

We hope to be able to return before the children grow out of the thrill of a den!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A little too much rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely words. I am so pleased that you all have such happy memories from your stay at Fairlaw. Great news that the grandchildren found the den! I look forward to seeing you all again .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minx23
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in the country”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Garden Cottage is homely and comfortable. We booked this at short notice for a weekend break, and were not disappointed. The lovely airy open plan kitchen/living area was perfect for us. A great area for walking and outdoor activities, like surfing in Coldinham Bay. When it rains, the cottage is cosy and has cupboards full of rainy day activities. Emma was a great host. She was very welcoming, and her home baked bread is delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy living/kitchen area
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
I was so happy to read your lovely review, thank you. I am thrilled that you had such a good short break and hope that you will return again.
Many thanks from Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi B
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fairlaw is a beautiful, spacious, cottage decorated and furnished with love and care. Aside from the lovely big kitchen, bathrooms and comfortable beds, there are all the 'small things'; a beautiful 'blue and white' themed bedroom my children loved; an abundance of puzzles, books and games for all ages - even beach toys were made available for us!
Emma is so welcoming and helpful and even invited us to pick fruit from her garden!
Scenic location with lovely walks on your doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the living room and the blue,white bedroom.
Liked least: going home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the fantastic review that you left for Fairlaw Garden Cottage I was so thrilled to read it and it is much appreciated as I know that potential guest like to read a review. I am glad that you liked the cottage so much and had a great holiday. Do come back and visit again.
With a huge thank you from Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing