We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Like a little oasis”
other travellers have booked this property
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Hot Tub at sunset Hot tub with privacy screening, breakfasting table and door to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Whitfield Bothy Cottage with Hot Tub
Hot Tub at sunset
Hot tub with privacy screening, breakfasting table and door to garden
Hot tub area with Changing Hut can be used as bike store
Open plan downstairs with Large L shaped leather sofa with handcrafted tweed cushions to curl up on
Dogs welcome £20 surcharge crate bed bowls provided
xmas and New Year at the Bothy!
Master Bedroom complimentary use of spa robes, towels and locally handcrafted soaps
Master Bedroom with Kingsize bed, guest towels and complimentary toiletries
Second kingsize bed in mezzanine recess
Second kingsize bed in mezzanine recess. Star gaze from the comfort of your cozy bed
Enclosed garden showing hot tub enclosure with Hawthorn hedge abutting arable field enclosed for dog
Lawned garden and view from cottage across open countryside
Coldingham Bay-range of water sports available with wetsuit, body & surfboard hire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coldingham, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sweetie19...
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Like a little oasis”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had such a good time in the Withfield Bothy cottage! We had a warm welcome, Emma provided a basket with some nice treats, even for our little french bulldog who came along.
The cottage provides everything you need and the hot tub was superb. Many starry nights in the tub. The nearby villages of Eyemouth and St Abbs are great for walks and lunch.
You can buy fish at the local fishmonger in Eyemouth harbour and feed the seals, which is a very nice experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the local surrounds. It's a true hidden gem this part of the coastline. And thank you for leaving the bothy truly immaculate! Hope to see all three of you again in the near future Bw's emx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just enjoyed great week at the Bothy. It was so quite and peaceful - the only noise was the birds singing. Cottage is beautiful inside and out and is very well equipped. The extra touches such as welcome basket and decoration are so appreciated. Hot tub is great especially when you return from one of the beautiful beaches which are so nearby. Emma is so very helpful and nice. Definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: where cottage is situated.
Liked least: spiral staircase.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and glad you had a lovely holiday. Look forward to seeing you both back very soon. Bw's emx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neila688
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My wife and I, and our 3 year old cocker spaniel stayed in the wee bothy for 3 nights at the end of January this year. It was a relatively late booking on our part but Emma had the cottage as prepared for our arrival as it would have been if we'd booked in great advance.

Before we travelled Emma took the time to email and phone me to talk me through what the area had to offer, which was complimented with plenty of literature/information in the cottage.

When we arrived we were blown away with how nice the cottage is. It has the perfect mix of a traditional and modern feeling. It is very well furnished with open plan living area, kitchen, and dining area, which creates a great environment for keeping a family together a family together whether cooking, eating, or chilling in the living area in front the real log fire. There are 2 sleeping areas upstairs with double beds and plenty of storage, and a wc/shower room. Again all decorated with a homely cosy feel.

Emma had prepared a welcome basket, which has been mentioned in other reviews, what a treat! Bread, milk, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, marsh mallows, red wine, dog treats, cookies. I'm sure I've missed out some items, but everything to get you going for the first night.

There was also a dog crate provided with dishes, if your dog is crate trained.

Emma has prepared an information booklet to explain how everything in the cottage works, and if you're still having difficulty she is only a phone call/text away and is more than happy to help.

There is ample parking space and a fenced garden to the front. Ideal for the dog without worry of him running into the road.

Also outside is the hot tub!! Wow!! Emma provided plastic glasses so we were able to put on our luxurious bath robes (also provided), nip out to the changing hut, jump in the hot tub, and sip away on prosseco whilst gazing at the stars and the surrounding open space. The hot tub is fenced in as well so there is plenty of privacy. I imagine it would be even better in the summer with the bbq on the go.

What we loved about the cottage is its remoteness but it's close enough to villages for shops, takeaway, restaurants, water sports, beach, and magnificent walks!

I have no doubt that I have missed out several great features about this cottage. Take my word for this, Emma will have though of it.

Many thanks again Emma!!

Neil and Leeann Andrew

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you Neil & Leeann for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our bothy. We love it dearly and really hope everyone enjoys it and the spectacular local area as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming all three of you back again in the future. Bw's' emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn485
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Few Days”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just returned from an amazing few days at this cute and cosy cottage where our every whim was catered for. The Bothy is in a beautiful rural location overlooking fields with walks and cycle routes from the door step. The hot tub was most welcome after a day of energetic stuff where we spotted some wild deer and buzzards while relaxing in the bubbles. We are already looking forward to our return visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a lovely break and enjoyed our bothy. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future. Bw's emma x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bubbles beneath the stars!”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The owners really know how to make you feel pampered from the moment you arrive. The accommodation is beautifully presented with everything you will need to make your stay seem effortless and smooth. Soaking in the hot tub under the stars after a busy day exploring the local area and beaches is a must! Is there any better way to unwind and relax? There is ample parking on site and many great places to visit nearby. But if you just want to chill and unwind then I can't think of anywhere more cosy than curled up on the lovely large sofa in front of a roaring wood stove - bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you both back again in the near future. Bw's emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing