We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house & incredible location!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pippa W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house & incredible location!”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Ormindale House over a long weekend for my birthday this January, where had the most wonderful trip. 26 of us flew up from London, Bristol, Cornwall and the Cotswolds and descended on the beautiful Ormindale Estate, where we stayed in the main house. The trip was amazing from start to finish! Consisting of various relaxing activities.. from immersing ourselves in the hot tub with a glass of wine, to hiking around the nearby sights, playing multiple board games, indulging in home cooked food, discovering (and occupying most of) the local pubs to even attempting a game of snow tennis. There was lots of snow on the trip which just added to the atmosphere of the weekend and we had no trouble in getting to the estate considering the weather.

Ormindale House really is the most perfect location to get away from it all and spend some time with your nearest and dearest. The facilities made it easy to cater and look after such a large amount of people and the house was clean. Any queries or help were instantly sorted by Aniello and Elizabeth the estate managers! From firewood to wifi codes.. they were extremely helpful and lovely people.

All in all we will most definitely be planning a return trip again next year!

Thanks for a wonderful trip..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B
2 reviews
“Great house beautiful location”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Ormidale House was a great venue for our annual family holiday. 12 adults, 6 children and 4 dogs had a thoroughly enjoyable week. The house is grand but not pristine, making it comfortable and welcoming. The grounds are beautiful and are well cared for. The setting is amazing. It really is worth just taking the time to stand (or sit) and stare.

As others have said the swimming pool is not enormous but is big enough to provide great fun for young and old alike - especially with the addition of an inflatable toy or two. We also managed to make use of the tennis court in between the rain. Great walks for the dogs and the most amazing anthills in the woods.

We have not given 5 stars or top marks for booking and customer service because of having to ask for the return of the security deposit. The initial part of the booking process was great. John rang us to discuss requirements and replied promptly to emails. Sounds like we may have been unlucky but we did also have to ask for receipt of both the deposit and balance payments to be confirmed. Confirmation was then always received and always with an apology. The security deposit was refunded promptly once asked for - again with an apology.

Customer service at the property was great. Iain and Marie were invariably friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Any small problems, ranging from finding snooker cues with no tips, to my parents forgetting to pack a radio to listen to, were sorted very quickly - so don't be afraid to ask. Iain was very willing to share his knowledge of the local area, lending us maps and guidebooks and suggesting places to visit.

All in all a great holiday venue for an extended family - would love to have been able to give it 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and general level of comfort inside the house together with the beautiful setting.
Liked least: Had to ask for return of security deposit 17 days after departure - it was then refunded promptly with an apology.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for leaving a review and for coming to stay with us. I think your review is very fair and will help other to assess us. I appreciate we would have had a 5 out of 5 review from you if I hadn't been a bit inefficient myself on the admin side. Another apology!!! I hope we see you again and promise that our normal service form that side is a bit better!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoiraG990
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous House and Stunning Location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked the house for a hen weekend and it was absolutely perfect. We were a party of 24 adults and the house accommodated us all very comfortably with room to spare. The bedrooms are lovely and the beds are very very comfortable. The ground floor has so many public rooms if you want to break up into smaller groups but the drawing room is ideal for getting everyone together for a good old knees up as is the billiard room for some good old fashioned family fun. The house provides everything you could possibly need and I agree that it's "luxurious without being intimidating". I feel they have got the balance just right.

Marie and Ian are lovely and very attentive, always on hand if you have any questions. We had a couple of very minor issues which were attended to immediately. They made us feel very welcome and were happy for us to party into the small hours, provided of course we were mindful of other visitors and followed a few "house rules" regarding outside noise etc.

The swimming pool is small but we used it in smaller groups and it was absolutely fine. The grounds and outside space are lovely but we unfortunately didn't get the benefit of this as it rained all day Saturday so that was a shame.

We also used the caterers, Don and Marie, for a sit down meal on the Saturday night. They did a great job and the food was excellent. They arrived approx an hour before we planned to sit down and they just got on with it. They set the table, cooked and served our meal and also filled the dish washer before the left too so all in all a great service. The dining room is stunning with plenty of room for our party of 24.

The house is situated in a beautiful part of the country with stunning views en-route. The roads were better than I expected but there are some single track roads with passing places if taking the ferry route so be mindful of this.

All in all a great experience but you would have to spend longer than a weekend to really take advantage of all this house has to offer - maybe next time :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything - there's nothing not to like about Ormidale
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. The staff work so hard to make everyone's stay just as perfect as it can be - it is lovely when it is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelmoo...
Glasgow
1 review
“Excellent all round- unbeatable location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a best friends hen weekend and it was flawless. We stayed in the millhouse. The place is perfect- easy checkin, Ian in particular was extremely helpful and laid back. Huge common area which could seat 19 of us comfortably. Fantastic kitchen equipment including staples like tea sugar etc which makes a big difference. Rooms are totally fine. Hot tub was essential! Great grounds and garden. Feel secluded despite being so close to the other houses. Huge amount of kitchen and freezer space. Didn't use pool or tennis area. Pool pretty small but looked fine. The best thing is the area - best area in scotland. Fantastic info sheet included- we went to invercottage for a fantastic champagne lunch overlooking a castle and beautiful water; also went to otter ferry and went for lunch which can't be missed- fantastic drive/ superb views. Totally brilliant. We will be back.

(Only downside is we had to give a £950 cash deposit which we didn't get back for close to ten days. But we did get the lot back)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
It is lovely to hear such fulsome unsolicited praise. We do try very hard to merit five star reviews and it is a pleasure for us to read them. (And helpful for future guests, as they try and assess us against the competition!!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Amazing 25th Wedding Anniversary at Ormidale House”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Ormidale House and the small cottage for our 25th Wedding anniversary.We took 31 family and friends away for the weekend for this really special occasion. The whole weekend from start to finish was amazing, the house had a great feel to it and was big enough to accommodate the 26 people we had in there. The main lounge and snooker rooms gave a great atmosphere as everyone was able to come together after dinner and enjoy either our quiz on the Friday night or the karaoke on the sat. The cooking facilities were amazing and the aga gave plenty of room for all the food to be cooked for 31 people. The small cottage accommodated the 6 people we had in there but any more would have been too cosy. The house was clean and tidy and the beds were so comfy some of our guests struggled to get up the next morning. This house is really what you make it there is a real sense tradition about it and if you look at some of the old books you get al feel of life in the house years and years ago which adds to the mystique. I would recommend the house we had the best time ever. I also booked fishing with Donald who was amazing with the guys his mobile number is 07799661493. He is happy to take a call. Also I booked the golf and a mini bus to take them there and back. I used the Tighnabruaich Service Station for the bus hire the number is 01700 811425. They were outstanding and the service was first class. I could not rave about the weekend enough we were completely organised for the weekend which made it even better. I am happy to share my experience with anyone who is looking to book this wonderful location. One wee tip if you are hiring a coach just make sure it will fit through the gates at the bottom. This added to our weekend when we took boxes of beer up to the house in a wheelbarrow.....What a laugh!! Thanks John for your help, Marie and Ian on site were great also and were around when we needed them which wasn't very often. Thanks again Diane and Brian Drummond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
What a lovely write-up. What a fantastic weekend. What a lovely party... please send us some photos and please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing