We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, homely with lots of amenities”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jack M
1 review
“Great location, homely with lots of amenities”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I stayed in the mill house for the weekend with some old friends. The house is stunning, with a large open plan kitchen living room, ideal for a large group of people.
Lots to do, whether scenic walks, playing tennis or chilling in the sauna or swimming pool. The host John was very accommodating and helpful throughout our stay and whilst organising the weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
I am glad you enjoyed yourselves; thanks for looking after the house so nicely and for taking the time to review us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilyhank...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing, highly recommend!”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a lovely time here would highly recommend. House was well equipped. The grounds and surrounding area are beautiful. Great for any activity and perfect for large groups or a family stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful house. thanks for taking the time to review us; the majority of our very satisfied customers don't find the time to do so, so we appreciate it when people take the time to let others know about their experience at Ormidale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie1507
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for hen party.....otherwise AVOID”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this for 3 generations of our family to celebrate a 70th birthday- primarily based on the amenities promised on site and number of people that could be accommodated.

It was clear straight away that it was poorly maintained and after finding the caretaker for the fifth time- to request missing items ( such as not enough cutlery, chairs, towels etc) and fix things ( such as lack of light bulbs, the external door of the garden cottage which literally wouldn't close, had to be bolted from the outside- I could go on....), we gave up.

It's clear this was once a lovely property, but it's been let out to too many hen/stage parties with obvious consequences. The Tripadvisor reviews over the whole summer for this property are evidence of this- we had booked a long time ago. From glitter (everywhere) to evidence of hen parties ( you don't want to know), it didn't feel like the luxury family weekend getaway we had booked.

On the amenities-
Sauna- unusable as the door was broken and protruded into the narrow corridor
Pool- SO cold, unusable. Our children preferred swimming in the sea in wetsuits than the estate pool
Tennis court- unplayable ( we tried), very poorly maintained
Football area- clearly hadn't cut the grass for weeks, if not months- unplayable, (we tried)
I could go on but I think you'll get the picture.

Such a shame. For the money paid we were really disappointed. I did provide constructive feedback to the owner following our visit- they really didn't seem very interested.

On the plus side, it's a lovely part of the country and the beds were clean, and the staff on site were friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that you found any imperfections at all, but it certainly wasn't as a result of neglect or complacency. We have had a full-on season and the house has been eorked quite hard so there are areas of wear and tear that we will get to now that we are down to just weekend bookings. But I do think some of your criticisms are a wee bit over-egged - the football pitch was cut the week before you arrived. The tennis court was played by the parties on either side of you. The sauna was also usable - though we appreciate the door needed pulling to. The swimming pool is kept at 24 degrees - most kids like playing in it while most adults prefer the hot tub. We are full all year round with a mix of happily families on holiday, groups of friends and the occasional pre-wedding hen party. Fortunately most of our guests from all sorts if groups love the house and rate us as better than the website descriptions. We get most of our business through personal recommendation. I am very sorry that you were disappointed. We set high standards for ourselves and we don't like disappointing anyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing accommodation for week long stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a week in The Old Barn for our annual family holiday - there were 15 of us of various ages from 6 to 83. However, we quickly found the house unsuitable because of the layout of the downstairs and in particular the tiny dining room which is located away from the kitchen. We were able to move next door into the Mill House which was bigger and much more suited to a group of our size. The downstairs is well laid out, open plan and very well equipped for a self-catering holiday. Unfortunately, the bedrooms are tiny with nowhere to unpack and therefore very inconvenient for a weeks stay. The accommodation is also tired and in need of maintenance - there was mould growing inside the window of the bedroom I occupied. The bathrooms are dark and dingy and the light pulls so grimy it was preferable to leave the lights on rather than have to touch them. The brown water from the private water supply added to the unpleasantness of the stay - I couldn't wait to get home and have a shower in 'clean' water.

Outside, the garden furniture was shabby and mismatched (covered in bird droppings) and the plant tubs contained dead plants. The trampoline and hot tub were well used but it was disappointing to find that the swimming pool (24 degrees) was too cold for the kids to use.

The grounds, as with house, just felt untidy and uncared for with broken furniture and equipment littering the estate. The smelly compost heap (only a few metres from the house) added to this and attracted seagulls and who knows what else.

From reading the reviews of this property, it's obvious that the majority who give positive feedback are only staying for 1 or 2 nights. The property is ideal for house parties with lots of bedrooms intended to pack in as many people in as possible - 2 rooms are windowless cupboards with bunkbeds. However, it is unsuitable for any longer than a couple of nights as its detractions become more obvious the longer you stay.

The website led me to believe I was getting 'luxury' accommodation and, for the price I paid, I expected luxury. Over the years we have stayed in far superior properties for a similar price however this property sadly disappointed. Lesson learned, I will be more cautious in future and only book a property with an official tourist grading.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review us, and we will obviously try and learn from your criticisms, even if we don't agree with every one of them. I am sorry that you found any imperfections at all. We have replaced the Garden Furniture you objected to and the light pulls you didn't like. I am sorry we hadn't got round to replacing the dead flowers in the pots. I do think some of your criticisms are a wee bit unfair - we are very clear about the bedrooms, on the website, and we don't pretend to be any more luxurious than we are. The vast majority of our guests give us 5 / 5 in the Old Barn and in the Mill House. The compost heap is about 30 meters from the house. We are full all year round with a mix of happily families on holiday, groups of friends celebrating anniversaries or birthdays. Fortunately most of our guests from all sorts of groups love the houses and rate us as better than the website descriptions and give us 4.5 or 5 out of 5 for everything from value for money to accuracy of descriptions. We get most of our business through personal recommendation. We set high standards for ourselves and we don't like disappointing anyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c92anders...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

There was 21 of us here for the weekend and it was amazing! Could not have asked for a better place for the hen weekend to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It was lovely to host you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing