We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a Stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brodiedic...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I think it's fair to say that our stay at Ormidale was nothing short of incredible. Everything from chilling in the hottub, to early morning forest walks. One of my highlights was playing an incredibly competitive 7-a side football match on the football pitch. The on site curator 'Mark' was an absolute dream, he couldn't have helped more if he tried. 14/10 would definitely return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thankyou for such a lovely review. We have never had 14 / 10 before.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattc2468
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect relaxing, secluded get-away!”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the perfect get-away destination for all families and parties. Around the house there's plenty of countryside to be discovered, and on site there's plenty of facilities for activities including a small football pitch, tennis court, and a spacious indoor pool. Mark the on-site staff member was excellent, he helped us with any questions we had and showed us how to operate the hot tub and sauna. The whole house had the comforts nailed to a tee with a games room, relaxing living room and a lovely bath robe for every guest! Would 100% recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are glad you had a great time and have taken time to tell the world. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
1 review
“If carlsberg did holiday homes”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful house, so well equipped. Particular fan of the bath robes (one per person) which were put in each room, and actually meant clothes were optional. Gardens superb, perfect for activities - tennis, football, swimming, herbology. Extremely spacious, perfect for large evening meals. Built for large groups, ideal for party atmosphere, with huge communal areas. A few midges, as you would expect at the time of year, but not detriment to weekend as a whole. Would return in a heartbeat

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
I am glad you had a good time. We had a busy June with loads of parties and great weather - I am glad the midges didn't put you off. Thanks for taking the time to place a positive review for the benefit of other potential guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Trip!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A big group of us stayed at Ormidale for my friend's birthday and we all had an amazing time. The house itself was great with such beautiful surroundings. There was plenty to do ranging from taking a dip in the pool to playing tennis or football. On a rainy afternoon there was a large selection of board games and a comfortable, sociable living room/kitchen to relax in. I had a fabulous time and would definitely visit Ormidale again for a few more days of luxury!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thanks for coming and thanks for taking the time to review us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulricha...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atrocious management, nice property.”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

As you will read from other reviews, I also stayed in this house with a group of friends in January 2017.

The house itself was nice and spacious for our group, with the added bonus of a hot tub and sauna.
On the second day we noticed the timetable for the indoor swimming pool stating which ‘house’ could use the pool at a dedicated time.
A few of us attended the pool at our allocated time slot which, sadly this was cut short due to the pool being freezing cold.

Before attending we were told there would be staff on site at all times, but we did not see anyone that represented Ormidale House or indeed on behalf of John (the owner). This prove difficult at the start of the getaway as we could not locate the key for the property and is wasn't until a friend opened the door we realised the property was unlocked. This meaning the property was insecure for a time until we got there which was a bit of a concern.

Overall the visit was great regardless of the minor issue of a cold swimming pool, but this wasn't the end of our dealings with Ormidale House. After our group leader (the birthday girl) eventually got a reply from John about the return of our security deposit, she was met with serious allegations of damage to the swimming pool area. After lengthy emails, some of which are borderline slander towards our group, it became apparent that John was adamant that our group had caused the damage.
On presenting John with images of the pool area during our short time of using it, there was clear pictures that the area was already in a poor condition. I believe that John is just trying to find a scapegoat for the poor attention of maintenance needed to this area and thought that blaming a “young” group would solve his problem.
John has shown a clear unprofessional approach to this issue which has now escalated to legal proceedings.

This is still going on and sadly, what started as a good few days away celebrating a milestone birthday with a group of friends, which in itself is extremely difficult to plan in the first place, has turned into nothing but being called names, being accused of criminal damage and dealing with a very unpleasant person.

From the emails/phone calls that have taken place John has come across as being an unapproachable, arrogant and an unreasonable person.

During the course of this all we asked from John is show a record of maintenance to the area which he is unable to proceed, showing a clear lack of responsibility as the owner in my eyes.

After reading other reviews which shown similar issues to ours, we are now in contact with those persons who were also in the same situation in regards to security deposits not being returned.

Therefore, if you are looking for a professional owner to take care of a special event I would avoid this property and John at all costs. It has clearly not been worth it all and it has put an extreme about of unnecessary stress for the event organiser, who again was the birthday girl who should have great memories of her celebrations but sadly its now resulted in court proceedings.

I hope this review helps you in your choice for picking a nice property for a special occasion as it should not be this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
I also hope this review and the others from the same group helps potential renters pick their property. We don't want the sort of group who do £2,000 worth of damage and then deny it. They could have had money back if they had accepted responsibility for their actions and apologised for them. They didn't.

We won't just give in to people who threaten us with bad reviews.

Over 90% of parties get a full refund of their good housekeeping deposits.

Any party - of any age - who are prepared to respect the property will be treated with respect themselves.

Vandals and louts are not welcome.

As a result of this party's behaviour we will now take a higher deposit per head from groups who are higher risk.

They will, like every other group that behaves themselves, get their entire deposit returned.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing