We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Week”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Week”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We staying in Mill House in October 2016. There was a mix of adults teenages and children, all of which throughly enjoyed the break. The surroundings are very scenic and we enjoyed some walks, there is also a river beside the house which the kids ventured into despite the cool. There is swimming pool, hot tub, tennis courts, football pitch, games room and snug with paystation and toys to keep the kids busy.

The house was also lovely, well presented and comfortable. We enjoyed a log fire most days. When we arrived we were advised we could not use water for cooking and drinking but were provided with bottled water FOC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thanks, Katie I am glad you enjoyed the house and beautiful surroundings and facilities. Brave kids going into that river in October!! We like to think we have the right set up for mixed generation parties and we do our best to provide resources for all to enjoy. I appreciate you taking the time to review us, as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

THis was our second visit to this stunning property with a large group of family and friends. The kids all loved the quirky bedrooms which are all very comfortable. THe ground floor is ideal for socializing and the games room meant that the adults and kids were all happy and each had there own individual space. The hot tub is a must and there is nothing better than relaxing in front of the huge roaring fire. We would recommend this property to anyone and are hoping to return in the near future. 5 stars!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: No phone signal
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
We are so pleased you liked it - thanks for taking the time to post the review. Most of our guests do give us five / five in our satisfaction surveys but not many go on Tripadviser to leave a review. Appreciate your help in doing so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelab...
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Attention to detail required”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This property is brilliant for big parties, a big open space. A hot tub which was well used and very much enjoyed. The sauna however set the smoke alarms off when the door was opened! There are many other issues which reqiure attention. The pictures on the web site could perhaps be updated as they seem different than what greets you as you walk in the door. The sofa's are uncomfortable and tired and very low. The cleanliness in the house was very poor, dusty and dirty. One of our party spilt a drink under the dining table. After wiping it up, the cloth was black. Both ovens had pools of grease in the bottom. When we pre-heated the oven on opening the door a cloud of acrid smoke hit me in the face causing my eyes to sting even with my glasses on. The pool is in a very poor state, my stepson and daughter found old plasters and hair floating in there and got out quickly and went to the hot tub. The jacuzzi bath near the largest bedroom had a scum ring around the top, it appeared not to have been cleaned at all. As a family we filled in rhe feebback form and perhaps the owner needs to revisit this. We gave 4/5 for the size and setting of the house and just 2/5 for cleanliness. As to the previous negative feedback being given because we tried to cancel is at best a stretch. The only reason to cancel was because we wanted to be nearer to Inverary and we appreciated your efforts in trying to re let the property. The house is in need of attention it's tired, and it needs a really good clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Than you for taking the time to review us, as did your fellow party members. Sincere apologies if we didn't hit the required standards on cleanliness on this occasion - very unusual for us as previous feedback attests. We set high standards and we usually hit them to the satisfaction of all concerned. Genuinely 90% of our guests give us 5/5 and part of the reason for that is that we get the housekeeping standards right. We will investigate further. It wont happen again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bibs28
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Good things about this property - the size. It fulfilled our needs as a big group. The hot tub was much enjoyed - but the house is expensive to rent - and we felt strongly about a number of issues.
It was truly, deeply dirty. It needs a proper clean - this is a build up. The ovens were so full of dried on grease and food, that they fill with acrid smoke when used.
A couple of the rooms were really cold and the bedding felt damp.
The starter pack of logs was tiny, wet - with no kindling, firefighters or matches provided.
The pool was disgustingly dirty. Mould and peeling paint on the walls - a line of scum at water level. Hair and plasters on the bottom. Rusty showers. Really unsavoury.
The entrance sign is unlit and dark - and we all drove past in the dark.
As you drive to the properties there is a household tip with lampshades, old furniture, a broken mirror etc.
So, in spite of the very friendly welcome book - I feel that the owners need to know that this place is scruffy, dirty and needs some TLC. Urgently!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
This is an interesting and surprising review to receive - and a disturbing one. We monitor all our guests and we generally get 5/5 for housekeeping as well as for almost everything else. But we aren't complacent, and we did have a couple of new members on the cleaning team for this changeover, which was done in a single day after the previous guests departed, so it maybe is the case that the standards we normally set were not met. I am very sorry if that is the case.

I wonder if the negative tone of this review is connected to the fact that the party tried to cancel their booking a few weeks before coming and we weren't able to re-let the property for them, although we tried? Our guest feedback received from the party host, who was charming and a great guest, was much more positive, giving us 4/5. This seems like a very, very low score. I am disappointed if there was any aspect of our performance that merited it.

The swimming pool has had hard use during the season and was the victim of a bashy bunch of rather destructive guests a couple of weeks ago. It is is due a restorative decorative upgrade, but we felt it better to keep it open for guest use in the interim. It certainly isn't filthy and there is no scum.

The vast majority of our reviews have been 5 star this year; I am genuinely sorry that these members of this party couldn't rate us as highly, but I hope this response is at least partial comfort to other potential bookers of our most popular property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraStua...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked the Mill House for my dads 60th Birthday over the September weekend. All the family under one roof ages from 4 months to 63 years old and we all had a brilliant time. It rained all weekend in typical Scottish weather style but it didn't stop the kids going out to play in the grounds even having a dip in the river with the rope swing. The house itself is great for a large party, the rooms are all adequate with really comfy beds and the upstairs certainly deserves a higher rating than 2.5 stars. Downstairs is a great big space for entertaining everyone with a seperate kids room full of books and toys to play with.
We pretty much tried out everything, the games cottage is a bit grotty but absolutely fine for its purpose, few games of ping pong and pool. The swimming pool looked good however was too cold for the younger children so they were a bit dissapointed as they couldn't go swimming. (I did mention this to John who apologised and said the temperature Is normally higher), we used the hot tub and the BBQ. A canapy or gazebo over the hot tub would be a welcoming addition especially with the rain otherwise we could not fault the place.
Communication from start to finish was great with John the owner and although there wasn't any issues or much we needed Adele was very quick at communicating, bringing over extra towels, coal for the BBQ and water as soon as we asked.
Overall I would definitely book the Mill House again for a friends or family get together.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you for the review and the 5/5 (despite the weather and the slightly cooler pool than usual). We loved having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing