We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend with friends”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
119 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane R
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend with friends”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 20 of us stayed at the Mill house for a long weekend for my husbands 40th birthday. We had a fantastic time, the house is beautiful and very spacious with lots of communal areas to relax in. I was worried that the bedrooms would be too small as there are not many photos of these on the website. However they were fine. Lots of double rooms and rooms with bunks for the kids. The house suited every age group with plenty for the kids to do; games cottage, kids den, endless games of hide and seek, sky tv, hot tub and even a rope swing over the stream. You cant appreciate the size of the house and grounds from the photos. Estate managers were very welcoming and went out of their way to help with any issues, even at 10pm one night! All in all, a fantastic weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanB1087
1 review
“Great short break”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A very enjoyable weekend with old friends celebrating the Chin's birthday. Plenty of space for relaxing downstairs, easily accomodating our large group with plenty of kids, and gorgeous grounds including stream and woods. Hot tub was also nice and local scenery stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for coming. Glad you enjoyed the house, facilities and area. We are not perfect but we do our best to keep everything nice for you and it is nice to see that appreciated by appreciative guests. We have had some quite damning post on this forum from one individual party of dis-satisfied guests who broke the hot tub last month and then moaned about it! Thanks for taking the time to feedback; hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola w
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Went for a friend's 40th Birthday had a lovely time the house was spacious and even with the rain the kids still spent time in the hot tub. The Pool and play room gave the kids plenty to do and adults were all comfortably chilled as there was never a time that any child said those fatle words "im board". Would recommend for a large party for those who want to just have a fab chilled week / weekend to have a laugh and catch up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian L
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend with old friends”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great house to stay if in a large group, 11 adults and 9 children in our group and we all stayed there comfortably. At no point did we seem to get under each others feet due to the size and rooms available. Kids enjoyed the games room and it kept them entertained along with the kids den that was in the house. Location and setting was lovely and the nearest shop was only 10 minutes drive away in a lovely little village. Plenty of storage space in the numerous fridges for beer and food in the large kitchen area. Wii Fi and Sky TV kept all of us entertained when relaxing around the house. Great weekend with old friends

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for coming and taking the trouble to post a review. We do everything we can to make the house and the estate welcoming for children and families. I am really pleased you had a great time and we will look forward to welcoming you and the kids again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelanyc...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to book the mill house for a family get together and was really looking forward to it.The property on the website looked and sounded amazing.However have never been so disappointed.there was no fresh running drinking water only yellow coloured water which had not been passed by the council announced by the manager on arrival.plenty of bottles at hand though.Kitchen cabinet doors hanging off.lampshades broken,couch in main sitting area broken and extremely uncomfortable to sit on, carpets dirty badly needing shampooed.bathrooms not finished off very shoddy workmanship.lighting in bathrooms extremely poor.bedrooms quite small and bed linen not of luxurious standards at all.hot tub was broken and dirty ,the games room was a bit of a joke.The so called tennis courts had not been maintained and were dangerous to play on. Swimming pool was ok but nothing special.

Would never recommend this place to anyone,not because it was so badly maintained but because of how unprofessional unrealistic and deluded the manager was when he was asked to address our issues with the house.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding countryside
Liked least: Customer service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
This is the third negative review published from the same party. They are the only negative reviewers we have had in months. I have responded pretty fully before, so wont say anything more delusional, unrealistic and unprofessional for now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing