We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Teal

 from the drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 from the drive
The view from the sitting room Looking across the loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
from the drive
The view from the sitting room
Looking across the loch
sittingroom
kitchen/dining area through to sitting room
The kitchen/dining room
From the porch
back hall throught to shower room
showing ample parking space
double bedroom with en suite bathroom
bathroom en suite
twin bedroom with bathroom en suite
Bathroom en suite
red squirrel feeding 20yds away!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam D
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Wow, we had a fantastic stay in Teal. Its a brilliantly appointed cottage with some wonderful touches and beautifully furnished (the demisting mirrors in the bathroom is just one thoughtful addition you wouldn't expect in a holiday cottage). The cottage was clean, tidy and homely its certainly the best holiday cottage we've stayed in. The scenery is stunning and we had some great weather. The little local village (a good afternoon stroll away) has all the essentials. To top it off we'll definitely be back and going to use it as a base for exploring the isle of Bute and Loch Fyne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
200Peter2...
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although the cottage and the location are excellent, it is very dirty and the the two couches in the lounge are are not fit to sit on, they have put a throw over one to hide the state of it, it is worn down to the foam filling, and the arms on the other are threadbare, so the owner was aware that they are in this state.
In the double bedroom there were cobwebs hanging from the light fitting, and the floor in the bathroom as you will see from the photos was an absolute disgrace, dirt and hair on the skirting board, and the lining of the curtains looked as though it had been damp and it had disintegrated. When we arrived we had to wash the fridge out as there was black mould under the glass shelves, the dish drainer was also rusty. We pointed this out to the owner but nothing was done about it. It is such a shame as the cottage itself is totally ruined by the lack of cleanliness throughout.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Unfortunately, this guest [who was not the person through whom the booking had been made] arrived before the lady who does the 'change-overs' had finished work. It appeared that there may have been some ulterior motive and we would dispute his 'comments' other than that we accept that the sofas, which are in old fashioned classic style, do have slightly wearing arms. However many guests have told us how comfortable they are and how they add to the general 'home from home' relaxed atmosphere which we strive to produce along with the highest standards for a holiday cottage which have been commented on favourably by other reviewers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jollujamr
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Teal Cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Teal Cottage is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to get away from it all. The cottage has all home comforts, is furnished to a very good standard and has a great log burning stove. Broadband and wifi are included.

Dunoon is worth a visit and the drive across country is well worth it.

This cottage is excellent value with breath taking views across the loch. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kxyz
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Much inspired after a New Year’s holiday in Teal Cottage last year, we decided to return for another Hogmanay, but this time staying in the larger Shelduck Cottage. The two cottages are under the same ownership and share a lovely location next to the loch. I have no hesitation in recommending either of them: the location is idyllic, surrounded by nature, walks and lovely views over the lake and the houses are charmingly interior-designed with excellent bathrooms and kitchens and log-burning fires.

We didn’t use the car at all this time, preferring hill and loch-side walks outside the cottages, cooking local delicacies (haggis, partridge and venison), playing games in front of a roaring fire…. It was altogether a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life in England. We are looking forward to our third visit to Shelduck (or Teal) Cottage for our next Scottish break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the views, the lovely cottage iteslf and the glorious owners.
Liked least: One week was too short!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely house and beautiful location
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing