We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Argyle & Bute Delivers”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shelduck

Shelduck from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shelduck from the garden
From the patio looking up the loch Shelduck from the road
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Shelduck from the garden
From the patio looking up the loch
Shelduck from the road
kitchen/ dining room
main end of sitting room with log burner
conservatory end of sitting room
The patio
Upstairs bedroom
High Tide looking back to the cottages
From across the loch
Towards the high ground from the patio
landing with safa bed through to bathroom
upstairs bathroom
Low tide looking towards the cottage
The wash room with separate shower room off it.
Patio door towards tree with squirrel box
red squirrel feeding on tree 20 yards away!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colintraive, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dabid22
Chew Magna, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Argyle & Bute Delivers”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Another fantastic trip to this lovely part of Scotland and these wonderful cottages. We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Andrew on arrival and as ever the cottage was an ace place to stay - with a young child in tow it was a good test of the facilities so with a DVD player, lovely enclosed garden, and a large lounge we were well catered for - the bathrooms and hot water are superb so bath time was a riot of fun!

The Cowal Way has been upgraded since our last visit so the decent walk to Tighnabruaich was especially rewarding and even provided seats with a breathtaking view at the half way point. The major attraction this year was the sun and we found a massive sandy beach just south of Kames.

With fishing, highland games in Dunoon, Loch Fyne and the Portavadie marina there was plenty to keep us busy - for anyone with young children there is a little gem of a playground next to the Glendaruel shinty pitch.

We also use this cottage as a base to visit the inner hebrides and a quick two day 1 night visit to Islay for Whisky tasting was well worth the effort.

Cracking holiday , cracking place to stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sip1993
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Anniversary Getaway ...”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have been staying in the Argyle & Bute region for over 15 years and in that time have stayed in many lovely coattages ( never had a bad one ). Shelduck was by far the largest with three double bedrooms and four bathrooms/toilets. The place didn't want for anything and sat proudly in its own ample grounds with a very impressive view of the glen from all aspects.
The main bed was a king size one and the level of equipment that was laid on by the owner Andrew was amazing covering every possible need. Unusually generous was the wood stack outside for the log burner.

The area has a wealth of walks and good resturants but be prepared as a short trip on small roads takes time and watch out for the wild life - many thanks the best yet.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you Simon. I am so glad that you enjoyed Shelduck and all that it offers, and your comment to me that you did not even turn the TV on was great!! Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage in superb location”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are thinking of booking one of these cottages do not hesitate, you will not be disappointed. Very warm, comfortable and well equipped, even fishing rods in the utility room! It was spotlessly clean and furnished beautifully. We only lit the log burner once, it was so warm and cozy. We took our road bikes onto Bute, £4 return for us both and the roads there are smooth and empty. The scenery all round is dramatic, every turn gives a new view. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCutfor...
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful castles and reading by the fire.”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage is so comfortable and warm that it was hard to leave and explore, but there are so many places to visit within easy reach, that we did leave the reading till the evening, when we lit the woodburner and poured our drinks! The living room is big and has a sun deck with barbecue at one end, sadly not used in April, but giving lovely views over the loch. Kitchen large and well equipped, and each bedroom has its own en suite bathroom with bath as well as shower. The décor is stylish but cosy, with lots of armchairs and sofas, and we had a very happy week.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R
1 review
“Very comfortable cottage with beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a great time. The dogs loved it. Andrew the owner was very accomodating as regards one of our party's health requirements. He was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The whole week was an escape for us all. The weather was pretty wet and stormy so the log fire stove was used to the max, it was wonderful and brought the inner UG out in some of us. As it was so stormy and cold on 4 of our 7 days the wildlife appeared to stay indoors too!! Because of this we will have to go back! Oh dear what a shame!! The cottage was well equipt and very, very homely. We would recommend Tighnariddon cottages and we hope to go back again. All of us appreciated having instant wi-fi, can't fault the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy disabled access, log burner, views.
Liked least: No frying pan!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing