We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from main bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from main bedroom
The Glen, moored in front of the house Trasnagh -  the island in front of the house. Picnic here after a boat trip.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
View from main bedroom
The Glen, moored in front of the house
Trasnagh -  the island in front of the house. Picnic here after a boat trip.
View from the deck
The Kitchen
View from the Sitting Room
The Main Bedroom
View from Main Bedroom
The Garden with dry stone wall
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
View from the Main Bedroom
The Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
View from second Bedroom
The Sitting Room
The Sitting Room
More of the Sitting Room
View from the Sitting Room
Looking onto the Deck
Fireplace
View from the Sitting Room onto the Deck
The Kitchen
The Deck
The kitchen
The kitchen
A good place to sit
Some flat stones on the deck
The Beach
A wee seat
The Beach in front of the house
Aerial view of The Boathouse
The Boathouse from the Lough
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killinchy, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely house! Spacious, comfortable, and stunning views over Strangford and wonderful sunrises. We had a lovely week. Henry and Lindy were perfect hosts, and even their little springer spaniel made us welcome. There's a lovely walk from behind the house. Go through the gate at the back of the courtyard; cross the field diagonally to the gate at the far side. Then: if you take the path to the right, this will take you right round the island edge to Daft Eddies; if you take the path to the left, then right at the next fork this will take you via a short to Daft Eddies. A trip to Mahee Island and Nundrum Monastic Site is very picturesque, and Castle Espie is well worth a visit. Excellent and deceptively large shop with butcher at Balloo that also sells a selective Gluten free range of foods and coconut palm sugar! Thanks again for a wonderful visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: It didn't bother us, but some might need to be aware that the property is on varying levels and there are small steps from room to room in various places
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Carolyn what a lovely review thank you! We very much enjoyed having you to stay and hope you will come and see us again very soon Minstrel ( spaniel) misses her treats on the front deck with you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin r
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and setting. Suited everyone's needs”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The first appearance was deceptive. As a previous writer said, opening the front door was like entering Dr Who's Tardus.
The view of the lough was hypnotic at times and so varied. A different day a diferent picture!
All the rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable.
The house was a great base for my family to visit Portaferry, Downpatrick, Donaghadee, Mount Stewart and a number of other places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed your visit and hope you will come back to see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyndy H
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical location”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfect location; peaceful and beautiful with lovely owners who made it home from home. This Tardis of a house makes a great place for family gatherings with space to spare....and just right for the groom's team to muster on the morning of my son's wedding. The views from the house, and especially from the wonderful kitchen, will not be forgotten...nor the spectacle of seals playing around the boats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Only one en suite bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted to have you all to stay with us at such a special time. I hope you will come back and visit us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emyrecs
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful house with a stunning location”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I visited The Boathouse with my family for a weekend break.
We all agreed it was such a relaxing experience.The house was absolutely gorgeous and really luxurious at the same time feeling very homely.
The views from the house are beautiful.
We were made to feel really welcome by Henry and Lindy.
Hopefully we'll be back soon.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We very much enjoyed having you and your family and hope that you will come back to visit us soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCunningh...
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This property lived up to advance billing in every way!

It is beautifully decorated, very comfortable, spacious yet still cozy. Stunning views over the water, with little sail boats in view.

Location was ideal for us because we were visiting family members in the area. There are beautiful walks around the property. One of the walks leads to a great pub and restaurant called Daft Eddys.

The kitchen is one of the highlights. It is a great family gathering spot with a large table, a couple of comfy seats, and a fireplace. We especially enjoyed the Aga stove, in which we made delicious scones.

We used the outdoor fireplace one night and found it created a lovely environment on a cool evening.

The owners, Lindy and Henry, were terrific hosts. They were very responsive to any needs we had and even had a few little goodies waiting for us in the kitchen when we arrived.

Would recommend without hesitation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
We really enjoyed having you all to stay and thank you for your kind remarks. We love to make guests from near and far away feel welcome here in Northern Ireland and hope you will come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing