We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very happy with our stay”
other travellers have booked this property
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds. Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
An old, traditional Welsh farm house
Set in extensive grounds.
Ellen's Castle viewed from the garden
A conservatory front and back
Views up the Lledr valley
The piano offers an unusual attraction loved by all our guests
Playing in the river
A large sitting room but still warm and cozy.
The beach at Borth y Gest is only 30 minutes away
A warm welcome, an electric 'real' fire
Loads of off-street parking
King size bed with spectacular views, loads of wardrobe space
Horse riding locally, great for all abilities
King size bed
Our own 'private beach' beside the river, absolute privacy
Double bed with spectacular views and great wardrobe space
One of the single rooms, room to put a second fold out bed or cot
The upstairs bathroom, also shower and toilet downstairs
The west facing conservatory, amazing views especially as the sun sets behind the mountains.
A fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining table can be expanded to sit 8
Spacious dining overlooking the garden, river and mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr Luke K
2 reviews
“Very happy with our stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just want to say thanks to Nicky, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others. The house is full of character and the area is serene. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Many thanks. I'm so glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Juliet Ro...
1 review
“The most beautiful, private location I have ever been to.”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Pont Arenig is in a brilliant location for climbing Snowden and has lots of stunning walks nearby. The pub in Dolwyddelan is friendly and brilliant value with a lovely little garden and the shop always seems to be open and is very well-stocked. Dog friendly accommodation with everything you could possibly need including a brilliant cleaner who was an absolute diamond. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you returned to Pont Arenig. I will pass your comments on to my housekeeper.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil house set amongst stunning scenery and a convenient base for adventure in Snowdonia.”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The setting and location of the house is the unique selling point of the house but nonetheless the property itself was clean, comfortable and adequate for all our needs. The house is set back from the road, giving the impression of seclusion despite being so easily accessible. However it is still easily accessible from the A470 and is only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the village, which boasts a spar shop, two pubs and a railway station.

We went as a group of adults and found the house an excellent base for our adventurous pursuits. We climbed up Moel Siabod (the mountain that fills the view from the lounge) and were rewarded with incredible views over the Snowdon horseshoe, the Valley and even as far as the sea! The house is also just within walking distance from Snowdon itself (be warned it is a very long walk, we left at 6am and we were so tired that we caught the bus back from Pen-Y-Pass!) However, when we went up we were rewarded with even better views over the whole of Snowdonia.

Just 10 minutes down the road is Zip World and the Antur Stiniog mountain bike trails, we tried the Titan zip wire. We took road bikes with us and enjoyed the perfectly smooth roads that follow the valleys in Snowdonia, in particular the steep and long Crimea Pass leading out of the village. We went to the beach at Llandudno but we were unfortunately caught by the rain so saw our sunbathing cut short somewhat!

Other attractions I would recommend include Dolwyddelan Castle which is just a 10 minute walk from the house as well as walking down to the river at the bottom of the fields where there are some of the best skimming stones in the world!

Thank you for the wonderful stay and I will definitely be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Dear Alexander. Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you had a good time. Do come and stay another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth H
1 review
“DofE Reunion”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A group of us reunited for a week of walking, exploring and adventure. We climbed Moel Siabod and Snowdon as well walks to the castle and nearby routes. We also Cycled to Betws-Y-Coed and cycled to the Zip world centre in Blaenau Ffestiniog, which was amazing!

The weather was pretty good, although we were rained out of our beach trip to llandudno. But a nice place to visit with it only 35 minutes away.

The house itself is spacious and cozy which is just what you need after a days activity! It came with all the utilities and appliances we needed.

Great place, I'd love to go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Dear Beth. Thank you for your great review. I'm delighted you had such a good time. Do visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing