We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Value”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Arvon Cottage

Arvon Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arvon Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
Arvon Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David F
2 reviews
“Could do better”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Spacious cottage with well stocked Spar shop next door. Good base for exploring Snowdonia and North Wales. When we arrived on the Saturday the cottage smelt damp and musty. My initial thoughts were that the cottage had been shut for a week or so and just needed airing. The main bedroom was the worst with signs of mould. We departed on the Sunday. Owners were nice and gave us a refund. If the cottage is dried out and the damp/mould fully eradicated - this would be a great place to stop.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
This is the second review from the same guests who commented on the place being smelly?? This one being more of a review rather than rant but we disagree with the comments about the mould and musty smell as the windows are opened after every guest departure, I asked your partner to show me the mould in the bedroom but there was none to be seen. We accept that nobody in this world will ever be happy with their lot and we wish you both well. If you cannot show us the mould then how can we treat it. We had satisfied guest the weeks following your departure and asked them their opinion; they could not find fault even when we specifically asked them about the "musty smell and mould" which is reassuring to us as hosts. Here is to 14 more years of satisfied guests who we think get value for money breaks in Snowdonia with no compromises.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyGW1
Codnor Park, Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Smelly, Fusty, Damp, Milldew, AVOID”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It is horrific that places likes this are still around.
It stinks of damp and milldew. The duvet has clearly not been properly cleaned in a long while, the same goes for the pillows.
We realised it was at the less expensive end of the price range, but we did not expect this.
Although it appears that attempts have been made to remove the smell, there are still dark patches of milldew around the windows. I can't sleep because of the stench.
We booked for a week, but after one horrible night we will be leaving and asking for our money back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
We were sorry and shocked that you were disappointed having rented the cottage for 14 years we have never had guests as rude as yourselves, we repaid your rental even though there was no smell or mould. We were disappointed when you left and your unkind and untrue comments but there are all sorts and everyone cannot be pleased. 14 years of satisfied guests with some that return annually give us confidence that we are doing everything right and will probably have another 14 years of satisfied guests. Our aim is to give guests a good holiday/break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dolwyddelan hotels

Padraicre...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The house was spacious, cozy and clean. Bill, the owner, was friendly and very helpful. The village is quiet, attractive and not overrun with tourists. It is also only a short drive from major tourist attractions. The scenery is simply breathtaking. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this property to any prospective visitor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: No complaints.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review, pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing