We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful spot, easy drive to excellent beaches”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Solva, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eleanor F
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot, easy drive to excellent beaches”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage has a lovely peaceful location and we enjoyed our stay here. The cottage itself was clean and the velux windows make it feel bright and spacious. As other reviewers have commented, the tv is old but this didn't really bother us, and the games room is in need of a refresh but I understand this is being dealt with and my kids (10 and 14) still took the opportunity to play pool and table tennis. Not suitable for younger children though in its current condition. Very strong 4G connection in the cottage which is useful if you don't want to pay for extra wifi.

Several good places to get an evening meal in either St Davids or Solva, both within a few minutes drive. We have stayed in this area before and enjoy visiting Whitesands and Newgale beaches for the surf and fantastic expanses of sand.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the cottage and that the surrounding area had plenty to offer. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you to Wales again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
338janetb
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Maybe we're too picky, but to find a cottage full of established cobwebs, 2 broken toilet seats and a dirty oven was a disappointment. It feels as if no one has checked the place over for some time and if they have, it's half heartedly and without much care. On the plus side, the beds are comfortable, the shower is powerful and the surrounding area is lovely. But beware: wifi usage is limited and is chargeable at £5 per GB for more than 1GB per week; you need to take your own rubbish to the tip; the TV is ancient and has no USB or HDMI connection; the potholes in the farm track approaching the property are large; the 'games room' is unusable due to rat droppings and general detritus.
Unfortunately we shan't be using this company again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thank you for your comments. You first contacted us on Monday 10th July and we immediately tried to rectify everything you mentioned. We offered a total re-clean of the property which you decided against. The owner has taken on board all the little comments you made and has already compensated you financially for any inconvenience. Please be assured that we do take your feedback seriously and the issues are being addressed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solva hotels

Emjanetom
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is a fantastic Holiday home for all the family. I stayed here in November with my husband and even though the weather was rainy and miserable it was fantastic to explore the west coast of Wales and return in the evenings to a cosy comfortable cottage with the log fire burning. It had everything we needed for our couple of nights stay. We didn't use the games room attached as it was cold and only the 2 of us there but a fantastic idea to have this to keep any young families entertained on their visits. My husband did grumble that there was no wi-fi but it was nice to be away and not have him check his work emails everyday so I was very happy with this :)
However we did find a lovely brains pub in St David's that had free wi-fi so he could check at the end of our stay. Overall our stay was fanstastic and I would highly recommend to others, It was great to get a peaceful nights sleep with only the local farm animals near by and a bonus if you ever stay here, you must use the power shower, its amazing, like having a massage on your shoulders.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments - so glad you enjoyed your holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrCam
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Acceptable in the 80s”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, a bit tricky to find. The directions call for "a right turn as you drive down into Solva". "A first right at the Cambrian pub just after the small bridge" would be more useful.

First impressions good, but unravels a bit when you get settled in. That three-piece suite is uncomfortable, (sit uo and beg) which is ok if you are using the place as a base to go surfing all day, but the elderly mother-in-law with insomnia found it a chore.

Bed in the main room was ok but the pillows were awful. Mattresses in the other room were too thin apparently.

There's no wifi. I knew this so the plan was to maybe plug in the laptop so the 7-year-old could watch Frozen again. Oh dear. The TV is about 15 years old (how much are they now, £150?). And this was when we could get it to work. I tried perhaps a dozen times to remember the right combo of steps to turn the thing on. (Clue: hit 'video' on the grey remote, cross your fingers). The instructions on the TV cabinet were wrong. I added a line in there.

The games room. Actually a dirty and draughty concrete shed with an old pinball machine (which didn't work for us) a pool table (ok) and a ping pong table with a broken net.
Plus fishing gear, some old paint, a store of logs that were too big for the fire and two rusty axes with loose axeheads . (I gave up chopping almost immediately). Spend some money on this and it will be a real draw.

On a positive note the lady caretaker was lovely and the cottage company was good. The place just needs some work done on it.

It's too remote for evening pursuits so needs to be made more comfortable. Brilliantly located for the local amenities in the day, though.

No coffee pot or cafetiere was the final straw for my bourgeois rear. It's a two-mile drive to the nearest pub too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: See above
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Bwythn Tresais, it was obviously not the right property for you. This is a popular cottage with many return visitors and we have received no complaints regarding travel directions or facilities at the property before. If you would like to book another holiday with us please call and we will get your exact requirements and try and match you to a property that will be better suited to your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing