We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in fantastic location”
FOUR STAR COASTAL Visit Wales 'Chocolate Box' hide away nestling in National Trust woods
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FOUR STAR COASTAL Visit Wales 'Chocolate Box' hide away nestling in National Trust woods
Front door walk to National Trust owned Barafundle Bay - the nation's favourite! Country style kitchen with all the mod cons - double oven, dishwasher, microwave & lots more extras
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
FOUR STAR COASTAL Visit Wales 'Chocolate Box' hide away nestling in National Trust woods
Front door walk to National Trust owned Barafundle Bay - the nation's favourite!
Country style kitchen with all the mod cons - double oven, dishwasher, microwave & lots more extras
Walk or drive to National Trust Broad Haven south beach with toilets & parking
Lounge with Laura Ashley leather sofas, open fire and views of the stream and woods
Set in a privately secluded woodland glade - no owners, no other holiday guests!
Character double bedroom with stream & woodland views - memory foam mattress for an amazing sleep!
Amazing Pembrokeshire sunset at nearby Manorbier - and home to breath taking Manorbier Castle
Upstairs twin with state of the art multimedia TV system - ideal for children!
Beautifully kept gardens bustling with wildlife - all yours - including our Otters, Badgers et al!
South facing summerhouse terrace and cane furniture, with sun parasol, seat cushions and BBQ
Upstairs full suite cosy cottage bathroom with Victorian style hand held shower/bath taps
Guillemots nestling on the nearby limestone cliffs - a coastline voted 2nd best in the world
So much to do here - take a local Dolphin Safari in the Marine Area of Special Conservation
Double aspect upstairs twin with 3ft super comfy beds, stream & woodland views plus HD SMART TV
Walk through our woods to the One Arch Bridge at Bosherston Lily Ponds
An acre of rambling gardens with stream, fruit trees and south & west facing sun terraces
National Trust owned Barafundle Bay - award winning beach in multiple categories
Smell the wild garlic in Cheriton Bottom woods- a Site of Special Scientific Interest and our home!
Walk through Cheriton Bottom woods to this breath-taking award winning coast line - on the doorstep
A Grey Heron at Bosherston Lily Ponds host to numerous BBC Spring Watch programmes
Fabulous walks to the Eight Arch Bridge at the Bosherston Lily Ponds - home to the Otters!
Walk to Stackpole Quay- home to the wonderful National Trust Boathouse Café
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stackpole, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrewsch...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in fantastic location”
Reviewed 6 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I could not recommend this cottage enough though wish I could keep it secret! In summary it is very well kept, clean, light and airy, with nice soft furnishings and a great layout - good for spreading out (family of 5) with kids in a peaceful location of outstanding beauty. Although this cottage accepts dogs (we are a non dog family) you could not tell as there was zero evidence which is testimony to the owners policy and Athena (house keeper). The garden was also great and the location perfect, only noise being wildlife, and the small adjacent therapeutic stream. From the cottage you can take a lovely walk to the Stackpole Inn or Lilly pad lakes through the Forrest path. The location is also perfect for getting to the excellent beaches of barafundle bay and broadhaven beech, which the kids loved body boarding at. Both Only 10 mins drive. These in my view are better and quieter beach’s than Cornwall and Devon. We will be definitively going back soon I hope!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer2844...
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing cottage in the woods.”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a wonderful week in Wood Cottage, wandering through the woods, bat-spotting at twilight and swimming in the sea at Barafundle Bay and Broad Haven. The cottage was clean, well-equipped, cosy and comfortable with excellent wi-if. The Stackpole Inn is just a short, but beautiful, walk through the woods and serves delicious food and real ale. A truly special place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2018
We have a truly outstanding location on the Stackpole Estate.

Oh how satisfying it is to us when our guests acknowledge how hard we work to deliver excellence when it comes to the basic requirements of a brilliant holiday cottage - total cleanliness, home from home equipment - to even include the toast rack, tea cosey and electric blanket in the winter - and a gorgeous bed to sink into at night.

The Stackpole Inn - just another legend - minutes from us!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Me N
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage in a world-class location”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

As it says on the National Trust website...Stackpole is about award-winning sandy beaches, tranquil wooded valleys, wildlife-rich lily ponds and walking trails. And from Wood Cottage you can leave the car and do it all on foot. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there, although a week is a bit short after travelling from Sweden. The cottage has everything you might want. The shade of the garden in the evening was much appreciated in the very hot weather. Although most cottages we book are through agencies these days, it is probably better to book directly via the owner, as in this case. Peter is very accommodating, good at responding to queries and wants you to get the most out your holiday. Aged sirloin steak at the Stackpole Inn is also highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2018
We always try to thank our guests personally - off line - when we receive reviews. Due to the workloads of running a busness and holding down full time jobs it is not always possible or appropriate, to respond to all of our reviews on line or promptly when they are posted.

This particular review we hope sums up the beauty of this cottage - if there's something it does not have then you probably need a city break and not a holiday in Pembrokeshire!

We received this email from our guest when we thanked them for thier unprompted review post here:

"It was a pleasure Peter.
It is not out of the question that we could return again. It is certainly a very beautiful part of the country and the cottage was splendid /Andrew".

And this after England had just knocked out Sweden in the footall World Cup! Thank you for your generosity and honesty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
321JaneKa...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem, beautiful holiday cottage, fantastic location”
Reviewed 23 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The property has everything you need from a hairdryer to a washing machine. I have 2 dogs who had a fantastic holiday with walks from the door and the option to stop off at the café in Stackpole for a cream tea. Beautiful beaches and a seclude wood which gave the dogs some shade in the heat. The cottage it's self is well equipt and we were lucky enough to meet one of the owners Pete who was really helpful and friendly, nothing was to much trouble. We have already booked up again for next year. A marvellous get away, this cottage is a gem, Tenby and Pembrokeshire a short distance away. Fresh eggs at the top of the lane and a charming little church yard a stones through away. Clean, tidy and well worth a visit.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
We were delighted to receive a repeat booking from Jane and Dave. They told us how demanding their full time jobs and clearly Wood Cottage was just the tonic they hoped for.

Talking of tonics, the Stackpole Inn, just 12 mins on foot, has an excellent Gin Bar, which we occasionally feature on our FaceBook page.

It's lovely to see Tenby getting a mention here - this is a timeless and most wonderful sea side and fishing town - with three beautiful beaches and wonderful holiday facilities. You can use the Coastal Cruiser bus service from the end of our track to Tenby - its well worth the short trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djstevens...
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really nice holiday”
Reviewed 19 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for an excellent stay in Wood cottage the week before last. We think that it is the best cottage we have stayed in as a holiday let, and we were particularly impressed with the obvious thought that had gone into ensuring that guests had everything they needed and that they would be able to relax and enjoy themselves. Its location was exactly what we like; secluded, quiet and peaceful, away from noisy roads (even local country roads are noisy these days) and it was very nice to be joined at the table outside by some of the local birds, eager to share anything we would give them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2018
David - thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your holiday at Wood Cottage, Stackpole Estate. Our garden wildlife is a marvel to behold and we're so pleased you enjoyed the unique privacy, cottage facilities and location this property has to offer visitors to Pembrokeshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing