We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great -”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Chapel House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chapel House
View from Chapel House Chapel Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Chapel House
View from Chapel House
Chapel Living Room
Master Bedroom
Fireplace
Upstairs Bathroom
Chapel Porch
Kitchen
Landing
Second Bedroom
Newgale Beach
Chapel sign
View from Master Bedroom
Chapel House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Penycwm, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stopusing...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great -”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I am glad I ignored the one review I'd read (elsewhere) on this property before booking as it was great. Okay, the grill pans in the ovens weren't clean, but this is down to the cleaning company, not the owner & I shall be letting her know about that (we just got on and did it ourselves.) The property had everything you could need (except towels) and was very comfortable and spacious. The shower was great and it was lovely to have two bathrooms. The kitchen diner was a good size and well equipped (including TWO ovens and a freezer and washing machine) The extras (including a drinks cabinet, toys for children & DVDs) were all very thoughtful and I had nothing but lovely dealings with the owner beforehand. If we were to come back to the area again, I would definitely want to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large space indoors for young children
Liked least: Dirty grills on cooker (we cleaned ourselves so owner wasn't aware)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSVance_2...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Within minutes of arrival we knew we had made a mistake!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We wrestled with a rusty iron gate to get in up some steps to an uneven concrete area which forms part of the patio area (almost entirely taken up with a picnic table and benches).
To the side of this area is the 'garden' a tiny patch of grass surrounded by overgrown fuchsia bushes with the remaining three sides of the property completely closed in by high walls and hedging.
Having gained access we were taken aback by how dingy the living area is and it soon became apparent that it was also grubby with stained rugs, tired furniture, soft furnishings thick with dust and spider webs everywhere.
There is almost no natural light into the kitchen/dining room as a result of the walls/planting outside close to the windows and, again, we had issues with cleanliness.
All the bedrooms look tired and in need of a deep clean but it was particularly disgusting to find a large brown stain on the mattress cover in the main bedroom which must surely have been seen by the person changing the bed linen.
The description of 'stunning views' is tenuous to say the least. The coast is some distance away and can only properly be seen from the high window in the main bedroom but even that is restricted because part of the glazed unit has failed and the window is 'misted'
The description of a 'secluded location' is also arguable as the property is just feet away from the busy A487 which,from our point of view, rendered the outside seating area unusable.
My wife and daughter in law spent some time to carry out a clean on arrival which should not have been required but even after that the dust issue was so great that my son had a violent histamine attack which would not abate and resulted in him, daughter in law and grandson returning home after 2 nights.
All in all not the holiday we had planned for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing. For us Chapel House has no redeeming features
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So very disappointing”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Not in good shape from outset. Very dirty, had to clean cooker, bathrooms, bedrooms and living areas. Change soiled mattress and put new bedding on. Stove filthy and again had to be cleaned before use. Several items in kitchen soiled etc.
Tried to correspond with owner upon early return to be met with spurious counter claims.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not much
Liked least: Staying there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the Pembrokeshire coastline
Liked least: Staying at Chapel House
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2013
I was very surprised to read the review - the shower is new in the downstairs bathroom and has always provided a hot shower - I wonder if the guests did not switch on the power shower - there is a cord that controls that and as it is a power shower it always provides plenty of hot water. The fireplace has a gas stove with clear instructions to work and again has not caused any problems and the oven like all ovens has 2 heat control buttons for the two ovens and again hasn't caused any problems if the guests had called me or my cleaning team I could have talked them through the instructions and was unaware of any issues until reading this as they never contacted me. I have a 24 hour service if there is a problem and will always do my best to resolve any issue that the guests may have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oscarb2b
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We came to the Chapel for a long weekend with not a huge amount planned. It's a magical place and has a special feeling when you enter through the door. You can tell its got some history.
The owners communicated very well and gave us lots of information on what is good to see around the area. We found this very valuable and helped us find some great local spots.
Holiday lets can feel drab and bland but this is brimming with character, fantastic artwork on the walls and a really comfortable feel. We didn't want to leave!
We found it to be well equipped with all the things you expect a house to have.
Lots to see in the surrounding areas and a stones through away from a secluded beach. Newgale (2 min drive) has watersports and a pub.We also had great food at the Cwmbran Pub in Solva.
Recommend a costal walk which you can pick up practically right on the Chapel's doorstep

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing