We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great venue for groups”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of RIVER VIEW

PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Safe River View Area
Left for Restaurant, Right for Communal room
large garden with decking area and BBQ area
Thai restaurant onsite!
Can be catered or self catered or a bit of both!
Large communal TV lounge
Commercial grade kitchen
2 singles or 1 superking...up to you!
single superkings and bunks!
modern comfortable bedrooms
Thai or English menu
River walks...at the foot of the garden!
canal walks...right outside!
A Cartref Holidays PERFECT VIEW property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Neath, Neath Port Talbot, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathjod20...
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great venue for groups”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just spent a brilliant weekend at river view for a hen party , rob is so accomadating and the staff work so hard to ensure you enjoy . Loved the food especially the Thai meal it was delicious . The outdoor area is great for activities we had mini olympics and sumo wrestling which proved to be hilarious . This accomadation is perfect for large groups and fantastic value for money but as already been mentioned rob and the staff go over and above to ensure you have the best time ! Thank you for a fantastic weekend

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
It was great to welcome you all and watch you having a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
566claire
Powys, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant for Hen Parties”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great time at River View and would thoroughly recommend it. Bob was a fantastic host and went out of his way to make everything run smoothly. There were 26 of us in our group so no mean feat! He organised go karting (at a discounted rate) and a salsa dance lesson for us, and booked minibuses to ferry us around everywhere. FYI cost of minibus (8 seater) from River View into Swansea worked out about £3-£4 each.
Lovely private garden perfect for pre-going out drinks in the sun. Everything is geared up for groups; Bob even set up an individual drinks tab for everyone so we could tally everything up and just pay when we checked out. Totally hassle free.
Thai food was excellent.
Don't be put off by the photos on here as they don't do the place justice. It's not luxurious but it was ideal for what we wanted. Every room either has its own bathroom or en-suite, the beds are comfy and it's great value for money.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you Claire. Your own organisational skills were a great advantage in us helping you all enjoy. It was a pleasure for us to see you all enjoy River View and The Railway Thai Table restaurant and all we have to offer. For us, it was the ideal weekend and I'm sure your words will inspire future Hen Parties consider us for their big weekend. Thanks again and our best wishes to the happy couple!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPark...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stag do accommodation”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

River View is not a luxury holiday home but it was perfect for the large stag do that I was responsible for organising. Best features were:
- Large capacity
- On site bar
- Proximity to activities in the Brecon Beacons
- Proximity to the Swansea nightlife
- Excellent on site Thai restaurant
- Large lounge space
- Fantastic value for money

However, by far the best feature of the venue is the host, Robert. Not only was he extremely helpful and flexible around our needs but he was also very accommodating to our noisy group. Thanks Robert!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Robert, the host
Liked least: Quality of the breakfast wasn't the best - although it was still good value for money at £5 per head
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thanks Chris
Really glad you enjoyed River View. We try and take away a lot of the problems associated with organising a large group and are glad to hear our help was appreciated. We agree our position is ideal for exploring all the major activity and tourist attractions in the area. Thanks fir taking thge time to share your River View experience, it was a pleasure to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
migui_blu
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bobby you took the stress out of organising a Stag-do, thank you”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Nothing was ever too much trouble and were very much made to feel at home, they were able to cater for the Celiac in our group, identifying which foods were Gluten Free and even went to the shops to grab GF bread for toasting in the morning.

Bobby had organised the transportation for us to and from the activities in Brecon, he even managed to get a 20% discount vs what I was quoted. When the Angel Inn by Dinas Rock had an hour and a half delay on lunch orders, he was even on hand to postpone the taxi pick-up for us.

We staged a Zombie Escape Rooms for a very hungover stag on the Sunday, we brought our own booze (9 Gallons of Shepherd Neame Masterbrew and 55 pints of cider) for the weekend and when that ran out Bobbby was on hand with additional crates to make sure we didn't go thirsty.

Very gracious and refused to take credit for how smoothly the weekend went, I have another Stag-do to plan in Coventry in a couple month's time, definitely wish Bobby was there as the safety net he proved to be.

Each room had plenty of power sockets and USB chargers catering very well for large groups.

EE has 4G
O2 no reception
not sure about the others

As an o2 customer, I was very grateful for the Wifi connecition

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Bobby,
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thanks so much. It was our pleasure and I'm glad we were able to contribute to a successful weekend.
Hope to see you all again one day.
Kind regards Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtra...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a big family get together over Christmas 2015 and Robert was a very accommodating host. Nothing was too much trouble. The house was very warm and cosy and the beds very comfortable. The one disappointing factor was the lack of comfortable lounge furniture to relax in. Although there was plenty of seating in the communal lounge it was mostly hard chairs with seat cushions and only one 3 piece suite, which for us wasn't enough.
The house is practically decorated and furnished so don't expect luxury. It was very clean and well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thank you for the valuable feedback which has been acted upon since your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing