We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pine Lodge ****

Pine Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pine Lodge
Twin Bedroom on the ground floor. Double Bedroom with a Kingsize Bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Pine Lodge
Twin Bedroom on the ground floor.
Double Bedroom with a Kingsize Bed
Single Bedroom with a pull out bed available on request
Lounge with leather sofas
Fully fitted kitchen with oven,hob,dishwasher,washing machine,microwave,and fridge freezer
Pine and Cedar Lodge in their own grounds
Pine Lodge with decking to the front and sides.
Private Garden and children's play area
The grounds safe and secure behind the electric gates
Entrance with electric security gates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Neath, Neath Port Talbot, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jacki L
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning place-shame about the soundproofing”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Pine Lodge for a long weekend. The cabin is really well equipped and is is set in stunningly beautiful surroundings.
I read a previous review which complained about the soundproofing between Pine lodge & the other cabin & thought the occupants had been unlucky with very loud neighbours during their stay - only to find that they had not been exaggerating. Our neighbours were only talking at normal volume around the dinner table and we could hear every single word in the our living area & 2 of the bedrooms. I was so very disappointed as the lack of sleep completely ruined my stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of soundproofing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travandch...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place, noisy neigbours”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This is a really nice place, although there are only towels and bedding provided, we arrived and then had to go shopping for tea, coffee, washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs etc. We assumed they'd be provided. You'll need pound coins for the electric and all heating is electric, so you may need a lot.
Lovely area.

There is almost no sound proofing and we could hear every word from our neighbours. This wasn't initially a problem as we were out visiting relatives. We are early riders, so didn't really mind hearing them first thing in the morning.
My eldest came with us, so she could have some peace from a busy degree in London and write her dissertation. On the last day, with all the noise, she found it impossible, so I drove her to a friends house in Chepstow.

We then heard the noisy neighbours screaming and swearing at their children, hoovering at midnight and then tickling a child and then shouting at them to go to sleep. This went on until 2am! I informed the owner, but we were leaving in the morning.

I just think that people should be warned to be more considerate as I can't believe anyone would be that noisy when they know that next door can hear every word (I even know their kid's name). I'm just glad that they didn't end the night in an amorous way.

It's such a shame, as we visit Wales loads and were looking for a place rather than the usual hotels, so that we could invite family and friends over. We'd love to return if the sound proofing was sorted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness
Liked least: Lack of soundproofing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuziS39
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We've just come back from staying at "Cedar Lodge" for the weekend so we could go to a friends wedding nearby. Brian (the owner) is really friendly and the cabin is just beautiful! We hadn't ever stayed in one before and didn't really know what to expect, but the photos don't do it justice!
Access to the cabin was by a ramp for Cedar Lodge (steps at Pine Lodge) which was perfect for me as I struggle with steps. All of the doorways were wider than standard. The only space in the cabin not accessible was the upstairs room which were up some really steep steps but that wasn't a problem as that space we needed for two of our children.
The bed linen provided are all of high quality, the air heater system (which doubles as air con if needed) was efficient and we had been concerned that the beginning of January in Wales wouldn't exactly be warm and dry! But it was lovely, warm and cosy!
The cabin is fully equipped with oven, microwave, digital TV, DVD player, washing machine and dishwasher meaning that it was perfect for us with children (13, 11 and 9) who had been exploring in the kids play area!
We had great WIFI access too.
The cabin is much more spacious than we were expecting with all of the bedrooms being a good size and the lounge area being more than adequate for our needs.
We would definitely stay again as it will make a brilliant base for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“3 day break near the Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

On arrival I was very impressed with the electric gates for security,which was settling. It makes it very safe for people with small children as there is a play area for the little ones. On entering the said lodge the first impressions are to my mind usually the right ones,and on this occasion I wasn't dissapointed. Very clean tidy and most of all very welcoming. If I had to have a gripe about anything it's the fact of only one WC,and when there is a group of 4 adults having a few yalfs(glasses of wine)it can become a little like a race to the line. The owner we only saw once and that was to settle up the bill for the rental of which may I add was very very cheap!!!! Excellent value and the owners don't interfere at all which we all thought was fab,as in the past few places we've been hasn't been the case. So to finalise fantastic 3 days with no bother and very relaxing comfortable place which I would think we will be visiting again as we have unfinished business with the Brecon Beacons
Thanks Brian
Regards Tony Ballaam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana D
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This a fantastic little find when looking for are weekend away very helpful information given to us by Brian the owner . Very spacey and has everything you need for your stay will be booking again hopefully for next year

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing