We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So much fun! Snug, welcoming and awesome even in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shirenewton, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
r_gly_jo
Northam, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So much fun! Snug, welcoming and awesome even in rain!”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My girlfriend and I had such a cracking time here for her birthday. We took 2 kg of carrots and 2 bags of apples to get the interest of the animals and spent 15 minutes dishing them out in the piddling rain. The baby alpaca was foaming at the mouth with appley-joy. Half the food went into the charming Doris the pig and her friend Alfie. Doris couldn't see too well so would wait, mouth open, to be fed more apple. The cheeky monkey smashed a bag of apples within 10 minutes and could definitely have kept going!
Pack light and take wellies - you'll have a lovely, lovely, time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
The Alpacas, pony, donkey and pigs say a huge thank you for there treats! Doris keeps asking when you will come back and promises to sit for you next time you pour carrots and apples in her rather large mouth! Ezra our baby alpaca loved his treats and has cottoned on that because he’s the baby he can be cute foam at the mouth and get lots of attention. Thank you both. It was so lovely to see you. Glad you had a great time and hope to see you both again! X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millsk3
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rural cosy little getaway catered to your needs”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I booked this as a christmas present for my partner and so glad I did now! We felt very at home from the moment we got there when we were greeted by the owners, who took us up to the cabin. We were then left to enjoy what this magical little place had to offer; featuring a very cosy, comfy bed with a TV, so you can snuggle and watch DVDS in bed, a gorgeous log burner to keep warm, lovely alpacas and a donkey and pony just outside, who enjoy a good veggie or two being fed to them, beautiful views and all the amenities you could need.
The area around the cabin is lovely and if you didn't want to drive, you can easily walk around the area using the map provided in the cabin, we ended up going for a very long walk up to the forest to admire the views (note you do have to walk along some very quiet roads to get there).
The nearest pub, the Huntsman, is exactly one mile away and being vegan, we didn't have high hopes for much on the menu but we were definitely mistaken, there were many choices and I enjoyed a lovely curry and my partner had some quorn nuggets!!
We also paid for the breakfast hamper and was blown away by the level of effort put into it. Sharon left it on our doorstep in the morning so when you wake up you can step outside and receive it! It was completely full of vegan goodies, including rashers, sausages, fresh OJ and coffee, amongst other things.
Its all these little touches that made our stay really special and we will definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Thanks you Kimberley for a lovely review! It was so lovely to meet you and knowing you are both nature lovers a volunteers at your local dog home made meeting you very special! Hope to see you both in the future x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leahfranc...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous place to escape and relax ”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from two nights at Little Idyll and we couldn’t have wished for a better place to stay. Sharon is an excellent host and has put so much love into Little Idyll- the hut is better equipped than any holiday home I have stayed in before! The welcome basket containing delicious goodies and the giant marshmallows for roasting on the fire pit were a lovely touch.

The hut is incredibly cosy and clean and means that on rainy days it is more than enough to just stay inside, sitting by the wood burner or watching films in bed, whilst watching the Alpacas and Mary out of the window.

Having the animals right outside of the window is amazing and we had so much fun feeding them and giving them some attention (despite the rain).

We very much look forward to coming back in the summer months and seeing all the wild flowers in the meadows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
Thank you Leah for staying with us and your lovely review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and managed to make the most of things despite the rain. The animals enjoyed the treats from you and we would love to see you back here in the summer. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wondering...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled Out Hut Stay”
Reviewed 1 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay at the hut this weekend. The hut is set in beautiful surroundings, with Alpacas for neighbours!!
The hut had wonderful facilities, and all little touches had been thought of,even a late night sweetie craving was cured by the jar at the end of the bed...
We were made very welcome by the hosts and our dog wasn't forgotten either. I don't think any of us wanted to leave .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Was lovely to meet you both and your beautiful well behaved dog! I’m so pleased the little sweet jar at the end of the bed was dipped into for that mid night snack. Thank you once again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmelineV...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for a few nights with my young daughter and our dog. We were greeted with a lovely welcome hamper full of goodies, followed by a very generous breakfast hamper which was excellent value for money. Sharon had taken extra care to make sure everything inside it was truly vegan which was much appreciated. She even included some plant-based chews for our dog.

The hut is wonderfully designed, and the view is stunning - but most of all our favourite part was getting to know the rescue dogs, pigs, pony and other friendly animals that live there and also listening to the owls at night.

The garden by the hut is very thoughtfully cordoned off so if you are taking a dog you can relax whilst they run around.

Lovely place, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review which is lovely. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and the Vegan welcome basket and Vegan breakfast were received so happily. Thank you once again it was lovely to meet you both and of course your gorgeous little dog x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing