We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,531)
Filter reviews
4,531 results
Traveller rating
2,615
1,126
493
184
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,615
1,126
493
184
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drunken duck french restaurant butler service quiet pool main pool il cielo piano bar the pub la parisienne emerald bay cafe de paris butler suite red lane spa island routes swim up bar jeremy mutton ocean safari
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 4,531 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Our third visit to a Sandals and this really has been an absolute gem. The property is first class and the amenities equally so. Great beach and pools, fabulous golf and very high quality food and beverage make this a real signature property for the Sandals Group. Top this off with first class service from all the staff, but especially our butlers, (Danielle and Waldens), and you cannot help but lavish praise on the hotel. We enjoyed a superb room in a hotel where everything is maintained to a very high standard and the gardens will just enchant you. If you are considering a Sandals, this should be very high on your list. As a result of our experience here, we have today booked Sandals St Lucia for a future stay with the group. For couples who enjoy adult company (no children permitted), this is a fantastic option.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom walk out butler beach house was a beautiful level of accommodation and amenity
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Overall pretty good, need to do better with access to your restaurants. Arrived there on Tuesday and couldn't get a reservation to the French restaurant until Saturday our last day there, and nothing at all at the Japanese restaurant. Maybe you should allow reservations to be made online prior to arrival. Was very disappointed with this. Shouldn't allow the butlers to snatch up all the good chairs on the beach. Inevitably those people don't arrive until hours later or not at all. If butlers have access to the towels to reserve chairs then all guests should also. Towels were never available until after the butlers had already reserved their chairs.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank lareauj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Just returning home from a week at Sandals Emerald Bay. It was the first visit to this resort and the fourth resort in the Sandals/Beaches that we have visited.

Tiny airport on arrival but they did their best to get us through customs quickly. Once we left the airport we were greeted by Mr. Jeremy Mutton, the General Manager. What a pleasant surprise. When we were told our room number we had expressed that we were hoping for another building (as it was a bit further away from the action). By the time we arrived at the resort - a quick ten minute drive, we were greeted with open arms by the staff and informed that Mr. Mutton had called ahead and they were changing our building as per our request. That was such an impressive start to the holiday.

We stayed in the Beachfront Honeymoon Butler Villa Suite. The views were absolutely stunning. These second floor rooms are found in all four beachfront sections of the resort, our room was 9421. This is the furthest building away from the action - but still was only a five minute walk. We enjoy having our room be somewhat off the beaten path to allow for peace and quiet at night. Large balcony that we enjoyed watching the sunrise on and eating breakfast at. The room was spacious and had everything you would need for a pleasant stay.

Our butlers were Jackson and Anfroy. They did a great job of helping us out with anything we needed. We planned out our dining on the first day and had no problem getting reservations around the days/times we wanted. Our butlers helped us with room service breakfast, reserving spots at the pool or beach and escorted us to dinner. We loved coming home to find the towel art or the warm drawn bath or other surprises. It was my husbands birthday one day when we were there so they had a special matt outside the door in the morning with Happy birthday in flowers. It was special to see.

We ate at all of the restaurants except for the Drunken Duck. The menus are not large but they have great selections at all locations. We are really not sure how people can complain about the food when it is so diverse and if you happen to order something you don't like - it is all included, so easy to get something else. If you order an appetizer, main course and dessert it is more then enough to fill you. No complaints about the quantities here. The return guest dinner is on Tuesday evening. If you are a returning guest it is always enjoyable. Catch up on the latest information and meet some managers and staff.

We played 18 holes on the beautiful golf course (and walked the back 9 on a separate occasion as well). Worth doing, even for those of us who are not good golfers. No pressure to be skilled - just bring lots of balls and be prepared to take a lot of drops if needed! Cart and club rental is easy. Three balls each are included, that isn't even close to enough. We probably lost 10 each but it was well worth it.

One full day we rented a car from the Airport car rental. It was simple, called and booked two days ahead and the vehicle was dropped off at the front desk and we just returned it there when we were finished. We took the opportunity to drive the end of the little Exuma island, eat at Santanas and then stop in Georgetown and catch a water taxi to Stocking Island to visit the Chat N Chill. On Stocking Island you can also feed stingrays while they wind around your legs, great experience. The conch burgers were flavourful but texture was very different! It was a very fun adventure. Stopped to try and see some turtles (but only seen one) and drove up to the end of the highway on the other end of Great Exuma. Can do this all in 8-9 hours without problem. Easy island to get around, very little traffic and lots to look at. Worth exploring.

The other excursion we did was a full day with 4 C's. We chose this over the Island Routes only because the Island Routes was a half day so did not hit as many highlights. It was easy to call and book the tour a few days ahead. They picked us up at 8am outside of the resort and it was a great full day tour. We seen celebrity owned islands, swam with the pigs, snorkelled in the grotto, visited Iguana Island, seen the sunken plane, visited the sand bar and had an excellent buffet lunch on an island. Great way to see the highlights.

The beach at Emerald Bay rivals the nicest ones we have been to (Turks, Antigua, Barbados). It is long, beautiful with powder soft sand. There are TONS of huts offering shade protection. Just walk a little ways down if you don't see an open one and there will be some. They have just built so many more. It was never a problem finding shade, no matter the time of day. The wind was strong so there were lots of waves to play in. The colour of the water will drop your blood pressure and bring you peace!

Pools were great, they have a bar at both the party pool and the quiet pool. Lots of shade around both as well. More then any other resort we have been to. There were some activities every day. We didn't spend too much time laying around there but enjoyed the upbeat music and easy bar access.

Had a couples Deep Tissue Massage at the spa. Red Lane always has a lot of great choices and are very accommodating with days/times.

Booked our next trip (Grande St. Lucia) at the Come Back Soon Lounge. One that that differed at this resort is that the workers at this lounge did not walk around the resort engaging with the guests. We are used to seeing them walking around every day. So we just stopped in one evening and within 30 minutes had the next trip planned.

The staff at this resort were always going above and beyond. Firstly our Bulters, Anfroy and Jackson, but everyone in all departments greeted you with a smile and hello when passing. There was never a time we were concerned about attitudes of the staff. We want to give a special shout out to Mr. Cooper who is the Security Guard extraordinaire at the front gate. He worked every day that we were there and from the first time we walked by and introduced himself he remembered our names, greeted us with a huge smile and loved to chat at every opportunity.

Overall, it was tough for us to not return to this resort next year, because we had such a great time. It was only because of wanting to see other islands that we chose another Sandals location.

The Sandals group does an excellent job with training their staff and ensuring that the guest experience is consistent and exceptional. We can't recommend this resort and this company enough - they have never let us down. Don't sweat the small stuff and be prepared to have a great time! We will be back to Sandals Emerald Bay.

Room Tip: Beachfront buildings, second level will all have an amazing ocean view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cgs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Wow-
Incredible
Staff lovely, friendly incredible.
Beach and ocean emerald. Pool one of a kind beautiful . Adults only , quiet and calm. Golf course is breath taking overlooking ocean .
Red Lane spa see Gwen for facial, thank you Gwen ( my face started breaking out and I️ left all clear , picture taking ready) .
Jackie gave me one of the best massages I️ ever had - see her. These women have the best customer service ever.
Room beautiful , ocean view . Stars were stunning . Everything in room updated and comfortable.
Food - what a variety
Anything u want including French and plenty of tasty signature drinks in each dynamic style restaurant .
We went sailing - Timel took us out and we got to see Dolphins , thank you Timel . He gave us a great guided tour with interesting facts on the Island .
Perfect in every way , this is a must!
It’s in Exuma - not Nassau , please make sure you get correct airline flights in and out. No need to think Here, they do it for you.
Shout out to Kenneth the night front desk guy for helping get coffee and info at 5:30 am as to what to do for the day and info on the island and people. What a great guy!
Yes go for it! Worth the $$$$
Annette and RON

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sweetintoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We have been to several Sandals and for us SEB is on our top 3 list along with Antigua and South Coast (Whitehouse) in Jamaica.

We stayed 10 days at a beachfront 2nd floor room ( PBV ) for the views and sounds of the ocean. Take note that the first floor beachfront units have small sand dune in front of the them to protect the beach so first floor views are a bit obstructed.

The waters of Exuma are just stunning, as mentioned in other reviews, the color of the water is aqua bleu with shades a emerald green, simply awesome . You can walk up and down the beach in about 30 min... so not too long :-( but make sure you go all the way on the right hand side ( when looking at the ocean ) as the water is not deep and waves are gentle. Went everyday and hung out for an hour or so as we felt we were miles away from everything.

I would also recommend to go to Coco Plum beach and make sure to go at low tide (Google low tide in Exuma ) You can walk on some sand bars, go for hundreds of feet straight out into the ocean and hunt for sand dollars. $40 taxi roundtrip

The food is always pretty good at Sandals, we are not foodies but can appreciate a good meal. The morning buffet lacked a bit of variety at the Bahama Bay and had a surf and turf at IL Cielo, the steak was not the greatest but all in all I would score 8 / 10 for the food.

They added 2 new restaurants and they hit high marks. The restaurant Soy had a good variety of sushi and was made fresh on the spot and The Bombay was just spicy enough to give it a small quick and the sauces used in the main meals were full of exotic flavors . La Parisienne restaurant is always an excellent choice for quality and the ambiance in all the Sandals

We enjoy golf so another reason it is part of our top 3. The course was in excellent shape. This course is part of the WEB.com tour so it needs to be kept up to a certain standard. It is challenging with the winds sweeping from the ocean on several holes and some target golf is needed to score. Bring some extra balls !!!!!!! If there was one thing I would change is that the driving range closes officially at 4 PM, too soon as I went a few times at the end of the day and there were no more balls

The night life is just enough for us but I can see were some people would like a little more action. A few nights we listen and danced to some good music with some Caribbean vides ( do not miss Chocolate buffet night, singer was really good ) Every night the piano man signs some classics and the whole crowd joins in....one night a saxophone player was playing around the pool, we were sitting with our feet in the water, a drink in our hand with the cool caribbean breeze ...nice and romantic !!!

We rented a Jeep to explore the Exuma and stopped at Georgetown and found a few places to buy some local trinkets , drove to Tropic of cancer beach ( OK nice beach but no wow factor ) , had lunch at Santana's for some Lobster ( really good ) then down to Coco Plum beach ( awesome ). We did the pig tour last time and it was really fun and would recommend as #1 tour. The jeep cost is approx. $185 and was pretty good but not too much to see, would rank #2. Also went to Stocking Island to visit Chat & Chill and feed the stingrays. saw on youtube that we could walk the island and see some stuff but could not find any paths. Price for taxi a little high at $100 roundtrip + water taxi $30 to go to the Island so this would be our #3 choice.

We are newbies in the scuba diving world and would of liked to get out for a few dives but were red flagged the first 6 nights and ran out of time after but what can you do. Made a few trips on the hobby cat and that was fun.

All in all it was an amazing vacation and for us Sandals delivere . We reached our 70 paid nights so we got our free week as part of their loyalty program..Yahooo !!! We are looking to Sandals Barbados for 2018.

Room Tip: First floor beachfront units have small sand dunes in front so views are a bit blocked.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BobbyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews