We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fowl Cay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fowl Cay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My family stayed here for a wonderful vacation. The simplest review I can give is that if you have the opportunity to visit Fowl Cay you must otherwise you will regret it. We could have not asked for anything more. From the accommodations to the food to the location, all were spectacular. But the crown is the staff. Yves, Marta, Lisa Ann, and Ruby made us feel at home, were full of information in enhancing our stay, and overall deserving of the glowing tributes you will find in the other reviews.

Go, stay, enjoy. I dare you to try and leave.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rule10b5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Its a place where you could easily forget everything and just live for that moment alone.

We went to Fowl cay for our Honeymoon and it was the best choice we made. We went all the way from India and cherished every moment of our stay there. It was a great experience!! Hospitality at its very best. The management (Y'ves, Marta, Grant and Nichole) gave us a warm welcome and made sure everything over our trip went smoothly. We stayed at Lindon House and Lisa-Ann made our stay comfortable. Food was a big concern for us as we are complete vegetarians and the chef didn't let us down. Whether it was private dining in our room to packing a picnic kit for us, every meal had a different variety and it was delicious!!! Snorkeling and sailing around the island by ourselves was the best experience ever. Our trip was everything we wanted it to be. We would highly recommend Royal Plantations at Fowl Cay to all Honeymooners.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS201119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Our trip to Fowl Cay was absolutely the best vacation we have ever taken! Let me say, that if you are looking for excitement, crowds, noise, and adrenaline, this is not the vacation for you. However, if you are looking for serenity, beauty, no clocks, no responsibilities.... you've found it here. The setting is a gift from the universe; the resort, a perfect compliment; the staff is the final, and perfect, last piece to this amazing place. From the moment we were met on Staniel Cay, to the time we reboarded our plane, our vacation was truly a break from the pressures and worries at home. There was nothing we wanted for or lacked. The food was delicious! (Thank you, Chef) Every request met! (Thank you, LisaAnn) And every need satisfied (Thank you, Y'ves, Marta, Grant, and Nichole) Even Ruby, the island dog, contributed to the joy of our stay on Fowl Cay. The icing on the cake was the discovery of our lost camera 6 months after we left paradise. Y'ves and his team immediately notified us, documented its hiding place, and sent it safely on its way back to us in the States. Needless to say, we were overjoyed and extremely grateful. If the opportunity to return ever presents itself, we will be return for Fowl Cay Vacation, part II, and recommend it to everyone without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arenthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have traveled quite a bit over the years and this is the most incredible resort we've ever been to. The surroundings are sublime, the staff is beyond friendly, the villas are beautiful and you even get your very own boat.! The whole trip was amazing and we can't wait to visit again as soon as we can.

There are 6 villas on the island and we stayed in the 2-bedroom house called "Birdcage". It is a large home with the master quarters on the main level and two twin beds and a bathroom downstairs. It is surrounded on 3 sides by water including a small dock to swim from or park the boat. We did not look inside the other villas, but this one appeared to be the nicest of the lot. The front porch came stocked with incredible views of the bay and a small private plunge pool large enough for 2 or 3 people to sit comfortably.

The food from the Hill House was magical, though we only ate there in the evenings. We spent our days on the surrounding islands and the staff on Fowl Cay packed us a lunch to take with us every morning. A light breakfast of fruit and fresh pastries was also delivered to the house each morning. In addition to all of this, before you arrive you can make requests to have your villa stocked with your favorite food and drinks.

The boat you receive with each villa is included in the nightly price and comes refueled and cleaned each morning. We received a 17' Angler with a 70 hp Yamaha motor, the 3 bedroom houses receive a slightly larger model. The 17 footer was plenty big to get us around the neighboring islands, in and out of the local marinas, and the wife was even able to get up and water ski behind it. Even if you are not an avid boater the staff is patient and the boats are very easy to operate. It takes about a day to get the lay of the waters around the islands, but once you know where you are going it's very easy to navigate.

Lastly, the staff was incredible. The island is run by two South African couples and the staff is rounded out with Bahamians from Nassau and Black Point. Every single person on the island could not have been friendlier. They answered all of our questions with a smile and even shared dinner with us (at our request) on our last night. We felt right at home from the moment we set foot on the island and the warmth we felt during our entire stay was fabulous. Spending time with these amazing people was one of the best parts of our stay.

Getting there: We arrived from Nassau via chartered seaplane (Safari Seaplanes). It was the most beautiful ride and we would certainly do that again. Otherwise you can charter a flight from NAS to nearby Staniel Cay or take regularly scheduled service from NAS via a small Bahamian airline. You can also take regularly scheduled service to/from Ft. Lauderdale via Watermakers. We went home via Watermakers and it was a very easy trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

What a place we went 07/09/2011 for 10 days ,we met a lovely family from chicago whilst we were there ,we stayed in lindon , clean comfortable ,loads of food, private beach, perfect, we ate in the big house at an evening ,food unbelievable ,furnishings amazing , service best ever, our trips out on our own boat ! saw lots and more, the staff grant ,nicole, lisa, sionedd, wilson, and some that we didnt get to meet all so accomidating, also i would like to mention the destination lounge ,jake who organised our trip from start to finish as we are from wales so had to also take a chartered flight from nassau to sataniel cay was perfect , even the weather was good apart from the last day but we did take a chance with hurricane season, i dont think you need to be honeymooners to go to this place as its perfect for anyone looking for peace and a relaxing time with the added bonus of sightseeing at your own pace.

Room Tip: plan in advance as there a only a few villas on the island and it does get booked up , also take som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
103.6 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
103.9 km away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
84.0 km away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.2 km away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
88.9 km away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
101.7 km away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 1 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowl Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowl Cay Resort

Property: Fowl Cay Resort
Address: Fowl Cay, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Great Exuma
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fowl Cay Hotel Great Exuma
Fowl Cay Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing