We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
167
283
168
96
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
283
168
96
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean building swim up bar grocery store port lucaya free rum punch full kitchen fish fry welcome center awesome pool stove top on site restaurant ferry ride rented a car laid back peas glass bottom boat tour jet ski
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Once again the Taino Beach Club and Resort met and exceeded our expectations. This was our second trip here, this time without the kids! My wife and I felt like we owned the place, actually there was hardly anybody there this time. I'll blame this on the economy, not the resort or its prices or ammenities. We were graciously upraded from the Flamingo Bay this time without even a hesitation from the reception desk. Awesome staff!

From the moment we got there everything was perfect: the weather, the beach, the room and the people. Do yourself a favour, kick back and enjoy all that the island has to offer, seriously. Don't think that Port Lucaya is the only place to go, even though we had lots of fun there. We made numerous excersions around the island and loved everything. MOST IMPORTANT, walk across the beach (bring your sandals for the rough spots) and head towards the other half of Taino Beach. Here you'll find the Junkanoo Beach Club and Smiths Point. The best fish fry, Conch Fritters and Coleslaw EVER!!! On Friday night, 8 Sands or Kalick Beer at 2 for 1 plus a massive dinner cost us only $30! I don't know what everyone is complaining about, sure the prices elsewhere are more expensive but that is how they survive: afterall you are on a tropical island.

My Advise...kick off your shoes, pour yourself a cocktail and RELAX!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OntarioSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Taino Beach is a nice hotel with beautiful rooms. We had a jacuzzi in our room and a private beach in front of the hotel. Unfortunately the staff wasn't very helpful and seemed to be busy doing anything else but working. Furthermore, there was a problem getting "Downtown". Port Lucaya seems to be the "Place to be" in the evening and to get there you will have to use a boat. This boat and the departure times are operated by the hotel. Unfortunately, the guy who drove the boat left always 10 minutes too early. This is a pity, because you have to wait 1 more hour to get to the harbour of the fun street. Anyway, we enjoyed our stay and the restaurants were very nice. Also the pool is a great place to relax and on the beach you will have to enjoy the sun and the sea in privacy.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelchecker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We spent a week at this resort and had a great time. We arrived late at night and Judith at the front desk was very helpful. We booked our timeshare through RCI but the resort didn't have our reservation. We had a copy of our confirmation e-mail so Judith gave us our room key, sent us on our way and took care of everything. We stayed in a top floor one bedroom with a kitchen and living room that was very nice: ceiling fans, tile floors, patio overlooking the pool, great kitchen and appliances. The next morning we discovered the resort and Port Lucaya. The beach is great. When the wind is from the north, the water is perfectly calm and clear with no waves. This is ideal for children. Later in our stay the wind shifted to a southerly approach and there were waves clouding the water in the shore break. The resort has a restaurant and bar, great pool and hot tub, and activities. We only ate at the restaurant twice, the rest of the time we ate at the restaurants in Port Lucaya or cooked in our kitchen. The resort has a free bus that goes to the super market twice a week so ask at the front desk for a schedule. Groceries are expensive but not nearly as expensive as eating all meals out. Get some rum/booze and fruit juice or mixer on the bus run also so save $ on drinks. Port Lucaya has the shops, restaurants, bars and charter water sports (snorkling, scuba, sightseeing, etc). The resort can book your watersports for a discount so ask at the activities desk. The resort also has some water sports besides the pool, such as jet skis, kayaks, etc, and daily activities from athletic events (volleyball, beach games, fishing from a rock jetty) to games (bingo, card games, etc) to other events (cooking demonstrations, crafts, kids activities). One of the hosts, a very friendly guy named Valentine, who is the island champion at catching the very rare great bahamian pink marlin from the rock jetty, was particularlly outstanding. You'll definitely meet him. They have beach towels, just ask. If you don't have a car, there's a ferry boat to Port Lucaya. Its $5 per round trip but its a nice ride. We enjoyed each trip looking at the boats, hotels and condos. The boat trip gets routine and old but in retrospect it was a relaxing ride. In Port Lucaya, have a drink or ten at Rum Runners, the best drinks and friendlyest place in Port Lucaya, and eat at any of the good restaurants. We never had a bad or even average meal and try the conch salad from a guy in a booth on the music square. After three or four days at the beach and going to/from Port Lucaya we did get a little restless. Go for a long walk down the beach to the east and discover the coral tide pools and the rest of Taino beach beyond. There's a park where they dump the cruise ship passengers about 3/4 of a mile to the east, then the restaurant where they do the weekly fish fry and if you keep walking, you'll discover the dolphin pens on the bay side of the beach. We never got go snorkling but heard great things about some places that required a car to get to (pirates cove, peterson cay, etc). We'll spend more time exploring the island and doing things like this next time. Don't waste your time at the international market place and if you rent a scooter to explore, go solo. The scooter got old fast. We met some great people from all over, shouts to Minnesota, Maine and the UK, ate and drank, got a tan, drank, relaxed on the beach, ate and drank, and had a really good time. Lessons learned: Bahamains are great. The more friendly and outgoing you are to them, the more they reciprocate and go beyond whats expected to ensure you have a great vacation. If you are a whiner - guess what ?
Doug and Julie.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeachGuy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We were supposed to stay at the Flamingo Bay Hotel but when we arrived it looked closed. The parking lot attendant told us we were to check in at their sister hotel across the street on the ocean side.

Upon checking in, they informed us that due to the slow season we were to be staying right there at the much nicer Taino Beach Resort. At the Flamingo Bay Hotel we would have had access to all of the resorts facilities, including the restaurant, pool, and beach, but now we had a great room close to everything and steps away from the ocean.

The room was small, but nice. We saw some of the other rooms and they looked quite big. We were definitely impressed with what we got for the price. Everything was clean, the pool was great, the beach was awesome.

The restaurant is pretty on par with the rest of the food on the island. Most everything is fried. Be sure to look for and try Conch Salad.

If you would like to read more about our trip and see a video on our adventures from our web series "Eat & Run with Frank & Meg" you can see it on our site:

FrankandMeg.com

or a direct link to the episode:

http://frankandmeg.com/2008/12/03/frank-meg-discover-conch-salad-in-the-bahamas/

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrankenMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

I stayed at this resort with my husband and in-laws during the 1st week of November in 2008. The resort has 3 main buildings, and the Marlin had been renovated, the Ocean and the Coral had not. We had a 2 bedroom booked at the Ocean, but when we arrived they had generously upgraded us to a room in the Marlin, which was totally renovated and very beautiful: granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, brand new furniture, it looked like any new condo you would find in a big city. The layout consisted of 1 private bedroom, a pullout bed in the living room, and 1 bathroom. The room would accommodate all 4 of us, but the original room we booked at the Ocean had included 2 bathrooms for more privacy. We asked the front desk if we could possibly be moved to a 2 bed/2 bath, and they obliged, but they put us back in the Ocean building. So we ended up with a 1 bedroom lockout connected to a regular 1 bedroom, and 2 bathrooms overall. I admit I had to laugh a little when we got to our new living quarters: pink marble floors and countertops, pink furniture that looked like it had been made from molten lava (you'll see what I mean in the photo below), mirrors on every walled surface, it looked very 1970s disco-chic. The strangest part of the room was that one of the bathrooms was located right next to the kitchen and living room, and the wall separating the bathroom from these rooms was made of those thick glass bricks...so you could see when someone was using the bathroom! Overall, the room was a little weird looking, but we had plenty of space and were very comfortable during our stay! The staff was very nice and friendly, and always willing to help and give us extra dish detergent or towels if needed. We stayed for a week, and the maids don't clean the room every day, they just clean at the end of your stay, which was fine with me because I prefer to not have strangers coming in my room while I am not there. Some of the reviews I read prior to the trip were upset about this, but I figure we are all adults and can clean up after ourselves, what's the big deal...also, know that you need to leave your trash on the porch and it will be picked up and taken away in the morning. Our room had a huge balcony and we had a terrific view of the pool right in the front, and the ocean to our right. The pool is huge and amazing, with this gigantic slide and this cool "Grotto Bar"...there are plenty of loungers and hammocks and a hot tub, and the beach is just a few steps away. The beach is beautiful as well...it was the 1st week of November, so the water was pretty cold, but once you jump in you get used to it quickly! We took a snorkeling excursion with a group called Reef Tours, it was $35-40 per person, includes all equipment (of course you can bring your own), snacks, and you get about 45 minutes of snorkeling. The guides were great and very knowledgeable. We went out about 2 miles offshore to this reef, where the water was about 15 feet deep, TONS OF FISH all over the place, it was really incredible! Great value for the money. Plus, since we were so far out the water was 80 degrees, perfect! We also took a ferry into Port Lucaya, it's $5 pp round trip, the ride is about 5-10 minutes. There are lots of restaurants and shops in Port Lucaya, along with the Sheraton and Westin resorts, which are very impressive. Since we had a full kitchen (minus an oven) we cooked almost every night, but went out to eat a couple of times in Port Lucaya: Dolce Vita is this great Italian place, great waiters and atmosphere, delicious food, and we also ate at Iries, which had good food but was overpriced in our opinion. However, I really enjoyed the inside of Iries, it reminded me of going out to eat in an uptown New Orleans restaurant, nice experience. Something to remember if you go to the Bahamas in Oct/Nov, there are really not many tourists there at all, which is nice because it's not crowded on the beach or at the pool. But if you're looking for a crazy Spring Break-like experience you should go when it's warmer. Overall the resort was pretty nice, and I am sure they are going to be renovating the rest of the rooms in the future. I would not go back to this resort, but only because I have only been to a few places in the Caribbean and if I could go back again I would like to see a different place, like Nassau.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank soniastem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews