We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day pass from cruise-highly advised!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Day pass from cruise-highly advised!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We visited here while in port on a cruise. We didn't stay at the resort but instead purchased day passes. It was the best part of our whole cruise!
The grounds are amazing-never ending pools overlooking the ocean with swim up bars and negative edges. Steel drums play.....the drinks are very reasonable for island resort at a pool bar...I think they were $6.00 a piece and were relatively strong with just enough ice. There were abundant lounge chairs in all areas of sun and shade. The beach was wonderful and there were chairs there also.....the vendors were very nice and not aggressive or pushy like in some parts. There were a few hair braiders and besides that just the banana boat people and a dolphin trip tour guide. Billy Joes is just a quick walk down the beach and supposedly serves up wonderful Bahamian dishes. We just relaxed with cocktails in the pool and swam on the beach and then walked across the street to Port Lucaya marketplace for lunch.
If you are on a cruise and want to do this it is $30/pp for a day pass. Yes-that's kind of high to use a hotel resort for a day AND have to pay for drinks, whatever on top, but it was a real steal compared to the the $79-$100+ the ship excursions cost for beach excursions. When you get off the ship and go to the taxi area the best bet is to ask to go to OUR LUCAYA marketplace. We made the mistake of telling them the resort we wanted and the first bus driver lied and said it was shut down and she had a better place to take us to and the next bus driver really wanted to sell us "his own better beach tour"....You have to just really stand your ground. It will be $5.00/pp each way. It's okay if they want to charge you $10.00 up front and give you a voucher for return......it's okay/safe and they come back. We went with "Curry" Bus service. They WILL pack the bus full as it gets before they leave though-as will all others.
The ride from port takes about 15-25 minutes. Once you get out you basically want to cross the street from the market and head towards the casino area the "our Lucaya". Walk like you are going to the beach and there will be a little white hut where the friendly people will sell you arm bands for a day. You can use the entire resort/towels, etc. for this price and can come and go.
I've heard other people saying they just snuck in.....several people tried to do this from several different entry points when we were there and there was security at each one turning them away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
87 Thank luvcruisecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,053
    499
    244
    215
See reviews for
874
1,249
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was our fourth visit to Freeport/Lucaya. Forty years ago we honeymooned on Grand Bahama are decided to celebrate our 40th anniversary there mid June for a week. It could not have been better! Our Lucaya is fantastic. If you are looking for beauty, tranquillity and quiet, this is definitely where you should go. The pool area was beautiful. The music of the steel drums every afternoon was so pleasant! The beach was beautiful and we were not distracted with the very few peddlars. We did an AI (which I would certainly recommend as the food and drink prices are high.) Though we were only slightly disappointed that some of the restaurants were closed, those that were open were very good and offered a nice variety. We were extremely impressed with all of the staff! Particiular outstanding mention goes to Tawanna (Willy Broadleaf) and Prince (Havanna Cay). We've travelled throughout the Caribbean, and have always felt that Bahamians are the most friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a peaceful, totally relaxing vacation, Our Lucaya is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JoAnn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I'm in Lucaya almost once a month for both business and pleasure. This where I stay.

The facility is fairly new, in walking distance to everything (i.e. casino,port lucaya, etc.) and a quick cab ride from the airport or port.

Rooms are very clean, staff is tremendously accomidating. Security is very tight and I don't mind being asked to show my room key or ID to get onto the property.

As for the property, it's direct oceanfront.

Suggestions....

a. upgrade to an ocean front room. The $30 difference is well worth it.
b. IF you come over on the boat, DO NOT check in with everyone else. The front desk gets slammed with 200 people at once and it can be a two hour line. Simply check your bags in and go get a drink or two..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaptainMHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Ends up been pretty pricey once they pile all the extra charges on... Super overpriced food and cafes.. They even put a 15% gratuity on bottles of water....

Amazing pool, free wifi and golf are the big standouts! Get out to the Reef Course for a no frills, but highly satisfying round. Danny (Director) and Syp (Caddy) are legendary blokes and will look after you very well!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This was a great resort right on a white sand beach. Customer service was excellent, although check in was long( understandable as we came in on a discovery cruise with lots of other paasengers checking in at once). Marketplace was next door and had many cheap dining options.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank joy123California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.7 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
0.7 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
5.4 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
992 reviews
3.1 km away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,277 reviews
40.7 km away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price range (per night): $211 - $711
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing