We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel, certain staff need to consider career switch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freeport Resort & Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freeport Resort & Club
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Freeport
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, certain staff need to consider career switch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. Our condo was great. Only problems we had were some millipedes (which were harmless and a problem all over due to the weather and time of year) and a certain staff member. The wifi was spotty in our room, but pretty good if you are willing to bring your computer to the pool. The condo was well-furnished an equipped, though the blender had some funk growing in it that we couldn't get out. The pool is small, but very nice, so long as there are no unsupervised children in there. We enjoyed the surroundings, the garden-like landscaping, and the convenient location. Billy was there afternoons and evenings, and he was so incredibly friendly and helpful. He would answer any questions, give advice, and generally chit chat with you and made us feel very comfortable. The woman who worked in the reception office, however, was not so kind. There are no phones in the units, so to call any restaurants or excursions, or home, you had to go in to use the phone. She was often on Facebook and seemed truly irritated to have to help us out with the phone. She never once smiled at any time we saw her in our entire week stay. She had her kids at the pool one day, which is fine by me, except that they were totally unsupervised and were screaming, splashing, and jumping, making the pool unusable to anyone else, and the entire pool area a place you would not want to hang out. She by no means ruined our stay, and I would still recommend the hotel to friends, but it is irritating to have to deal with such borderline hostility when you are on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelBug23060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    27
    19
    10
    11
See reviews for
17
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Freeport Resort is located about a 5-7 minute drive from Port Lucaya.This is where all the action is! You will really like this small, low key, clean, well manicured resort if you rent a car. The resort does provide shuttle service at no cost to Xanadu Beach and the grocery store, but the times are limited. The Grand Bahamas is experiencing the effects of the recession and hurricanes of 2004 and 2005. I loved all the beaches (we found many deserted, natural setting beaches to roam) and the lack of commercialization the Island had to offer. All the beaches are beautiful and the temperature year round hovers at 80 degrees fahrenheit with a constant breeze. July and August a bit warmer.

The customer service on the Island is lacking throughout, but was great at the Freeport Resort. Billy and Rochelle were extremely helpful in seeing we promptly got what we needed and Rochelle followed up on scheduling tours for us. Check-in and out are just take a minute or so. I was not aware of the $40/week surcharge for energy usage as this was not on any of the travel sites I scanned. The rooms are very clean and our 2 bedroom villa was spacious. The unit was updated except for the 1980's furniture which is still clean, maintained and workable. I was surprised to find out we had 2 half baths and that both connected to one bath/shower unit.

We took a couple tours, one with Kalabash Eco Adventures, and Shawme (owner and guide) provided excellent customer service and knowledge. We did the Kayak tour and came back very relaxed. He will pick you up from your hotel also.

Overall, I would seriously consider returning to the Freeport Resort and Grand Bahamas. If you are looking for a party place I would not recommend either this resort or the island, but Lucaya has free entertainmnt on weekends and is a fun place. This was a very laid back, quiet vacation. With the car we rented we did experience the whole island and nature. Remember to BRING CASH and an ATM card, as many places only take cash. The ones that except credit have a minimum of $20-$30 expenditure. I went in a local bank to get a cash advance on my credit card, and they said they did not have the technology to perform this transaction. It was not easy to find an international bank at most times.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MARCIA077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Although the resort is a bit outdated, it is well maintained and clean and feels like home.
The common (pool) area is small and intimate. The atmosphere is so relaxing and quiet, it's easy to fall into a conversation with fellow vacationers.

But it isn't all 'down time'. Smiling Pat (who works independently from the resort) is onhand during Sunday afternoon orientation to provide several day trip options.
Smiling Pat is fun, bright, jovial and extremely conscientious. She works hard to be sure that everyone enjoys their experiences and adventures with her. She is a great ambassador for the island and resort. Smiling Pat's excursions are all good and designed to familiarize visitors with the island and island life in a very fun way. (They are definately not run-of-the-mill, everyday vacation activities) My favorite excursion is a boat ride to a deserted island beach where Pat serves lunch and drinks. You can pick up sand dollars along the beach or walk 100 or so yards into the beutiful ocean and still only be knee-deep. Starfish are everywhere!

A large part of the island is still recovering from the hurricanes of several years ago and many attractiojns close to the resort are closed. However Smiling Pat keeps things 'hopping' with her offers of plenty to do.

Also, the resort staff is happy to drive vacationers to Lucaya ( 'where the action is' ) most any time of day. The staff also makes drop-offs and pick-ups to the beach most days and trips to the grocery store a couple of times a week. If you need something in between grocery runs, they keep staples (including food, soda, beer, wine, etc) for purchase in the club room. Happy hour incluldes food as well. Tuesday nights a very special when the staff prepares island food and serves it in dining style on the patio (the fish is great)
Thanks to Smiling Pat who keeps things interesting and fun and the homey, relaxing feel of the resort and resort staff, I think this is one of the best vacations for those of us who value our vacation time enough to seek out and enjoy quality, unusual, and distinctive experiences.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ikilybimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed at the Freeport Resort Club for a week in March. It is a very quaint and relaxing place. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. The grounds are very clean and well maintained. There is an orientation every Sunday afternoon. This updates you on events that are going on around the island and at the resort. I would recommend attending as it also gives you a chance to meet some of the people staying at the resort. There is a dinner hosted by the resort on Tuesday evenings, for a small feel. It is a very nice time...good food and a really fun band. We did not go to the local beach that the resort transports people to. We went to Lucaya Beach, which is about a 10 min. taxi drive. Lucaya is where the casino is located, of course we spent plenty of time there! There are a lot of great places to eat and shop downtown and the beach is very beautiful there as well.

We went on the tour with Smiling Pat on Thursday. This took us out to the east side of the island. From there we took a boat out to a basically deserted island. The beach was breath takingly gorgeous. Captain Wilson took us out to fish and between 5 people on the boat we caught about 15 fish!! We brought them back to shore where Pat and captain Wilson cooked them up for us as well as corn on the cob. The fish was delicious! I would also recommend taking a tour with Pat. She offers 3 different tours on 3 different days.

All in all our trip to the Bahamas was very memorable, relaxing and fun! If you are looking for a nice relaxing time and place to stay, use the Freeport Resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pajlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

I love Freeport Resort it is my home base. Unfortunately two Hurricanes devasted the area and the nightlife. The entire Island is hurting. But, savvy travelers should take advantage of the unique bus system , make contact with a local cabbie. some of the restaurants will deliver and some will pick you up. The resort take you to the beach - the nearest one is 1 1/2 miles away every day free, free internet services and for a small fee will take you to Lucaya. They will also make arrangements for outside activities. Many of the visitors are foreign (not from the USA) While there in August 2010, met many foreigners - their economy appears to be in better shape than the USA and they had less complaints.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nassau59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
5.6 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
6.5 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.2 km away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 15 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
5.8 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.7 km away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#8 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeport Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeport Resort & Club

Property: Freeport Resort & Club
Address: Rum Cay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price range (per night): $146 - $156
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Freeport Resort & Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Freeport Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeport Resort And Club
Freeport Resort & Club Hotel Freeport
Freeport Resort & Club Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing