We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home, with the friendliest...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach down the road at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach down the road at sunset
Front entrance Come on in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Beach down the road at sunset
Front entrance
Come on in!
Entrance area
Large lounge with 42 ' flat screen TV
Open plan living, dining, kitchen
Very spacious
Open plan
Full equipt kitchen
Beautiful screened in out door dining on the back patio
Master bedroom with king size bed
Large walk in closet, vanity and en suite
Bathroom
Middle bedroom - two twins
Hallway to back bedroom
Back bedroom with a queen size bed
Back yard
Massage studio set up next door
Beach down the road
snorkeling
Our guests went swimming with the dolphins
Port Lucaya on New Year's Eve
Moonrise at Wednesday night Fish Fry
Some of our guests parasailing at a nearby beach
Caves at Lucayan National Park
Conch dinner at Bishops
One of our guest checking out the conchs
The conch experience
Fishing!
Horse riding available
Beach at Banana Bay, just down the road
When the tide is out...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
VivS5
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home, with the friendliest owners/neighbours you could wish for”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The owners - who live next door - couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.
The accommodation is roomy, and there's a garden for BBQs, or just to enjoy the afternoon sunshine. It's away from the 'touristy' areas but only 2 minutes from secluded beaches and 10 from the busier ones.
I'd choose this over a hotel any time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flo_bee13
Sebastopol, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation Rental!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

If we had known how much we were going to enjoy Freeport, we would have stayed longer! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and having such wonderful hosts make a world of difference.

The home came with the use of a car – a Volvo station wagon. We ended up naming her Penelope – a great car that you'll enjoy driving on the wrong side of the road with :-) She's an older car, so be kind, but she'll take you everywhere you need to go, and then some. Gas is a little pricey in The Bahamas, but the freedom of being able to drive about and explore is priceless. (Note: some of the excursions on the island will charge you less if you drive yourself there and they don't pick you up.)

Food is also a little more expensive in The Bahamas, so if you don't want to eat out all the time like us lazy people, the house has a great kitchen equipped with everything you'll need to make a meal. They even provide purified water for you, although tap water is harmful if you decide to drink it.

If you're concerned that the owners live right next door, don't be. They won't intrude on your day as much as you won't be intruding on theirs. If you're concerned it doesn't have a pool, you're being silly. You're on Grand Bahama Island with gorgeous beaches. If you're concerned about not being in town, that's moot. You won't notice a difference and you'll really enjoy not being around all the cruise ship / time share/ resort folks all the time. With the use of the car, Port Lucaya Marketplace is just a 10-15 minute drive away. Traffic on the island is pretty light, so you should have no issues getting where you need to go and parking.

Highlights of what this home has to offer:
* full sized, fully equipped kitchen
* cable TV and reliable Internet!
* washer and dryer
* King-sized bed in the master bedroom with great pillows (we only used 1 room of 3)
* Volvo station wagon (Penelope), and she has a couple of beach chairs and umbrellas in the back
* silence – the nights were so quiet, and we had no issues with sleeping in either even though the sun was up around 6am
* no tourists nearby, which is a huge bonus for us

This is definitely the place to stay if you want to get away from it all, yet have all the comforts of home you're used to. We'll be saving to come back for another visit!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you Shirley, it was a pleasure to have you and Eric. One note about a typo: the tap water is actually NOT harmful if you drink it, we personally just prefer the taste of the bottled. You guys are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monica a
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Personal Touch Makes Bahamas Stay Memorable”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have rented several VRBO homes and apartments but we have never encountered an owner who was so helpful and attentive. Ricardo met us at the house and showed us around. He drove us to the airport on our last day. Ricardo let our kids (age 8, 7 and 2) feed their chickens, which they raise on their half of the backyard. Ricardo and his wife let us use their car, which was a very big help getting around Grand Bahamas Island. The car is old, but runs well. A lot of people we bumped into thought we were locals and I think it was because of the car. I know we got to see a lot more than other people we met who were shuttled from their resorts to their various destinations.

The house is a duplex with owners (Ricardo and Susan) sharing the other side of the house. The house was spacious, clean, and well-equipped. Very well equipped and comfortable for our family of five. Ricardo and Susan have a closet full of beach toys for use. The location is a little out of town and certainly not on a beach (if that's what you're looking for), but it easily accessible to the main town (Freeport), various beaches and other destinations with short drives that are usually less than 10 minutes. Certainly the house is very convenient to most beautiful beaches which are out on the West side of the island.

The house has all the usual amenities, a nice collection of DVD's for viewing, WIFI, cable TV (if you want to spend time on those things), and of course air-conditioning. Susan was out of town the week we were there, so we didn't avail ourselves of them cooking a meal for us or one of Susan's therapeutic massages.

Overall the house is clean and simple and inexpensive. It's a little out of the way but everything you might want to do in the Bahamas. The owners add personal touches and make you feel very welcome, which is what really makes trips and places memorable. Staying at Susan and Ricardo's place is a wonderful way to see Grand Bahamas island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners were very helpful.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Falls On Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing