We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Rental property, fully equipped, steps from...”
Our beacg looking left from stairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our beacg looking left from stairs
our beach looking left view-from-down-the-beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Our beacg looking left from stairs
our beach looking left
view-from-down-the-beach
picture from ocean on boat
our beach looking right
Steps down to our beach
Our building from the pool
Our pool and deck
kitchen stove sink etc
kitchen washer dryer
dining area
view toward beach from living room unit 14
Master bedroom
Mater bedroom
Guest Bedroom
location marked with X copy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amanda M
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Rental property, fully equipped, steps from the white sand beach!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cannes Village #14 in May 2015 for Vacation with spouse in May 2015 (8 day stay)

Catherine (who is the property manager) met us at the rental to give us the keys to get in/may be reached by phone at any time.
High Tower (who is the maintenance employee) was available thru the week for assistance. He did give us cell number if we needed anything/he also made daily rounds on the rental grounds and very easy to get a hold of if needed.

Pros:
-This rental property exactly as pictured and listed (many steps if you are on the upper level), Michael and Diana (who are the owners) are very quick to respond with emails and call you before you start your vacation so you feel comfortable arriving. Pictures were accurate, beach was beautiful, Island Seas resort was very close and accommodating and there were many things to do on an adult vacation.
Beach was beautiful, somewhat private (though the locals walk the beach selling beverages, meals, water-sports/excursions, ETC), all with white sand and bright blue water (some very close shallow shelves to walk on).
-The pool (does have small seat with spa jets in the pool) was very nice, well maintained/clean/quiet and warm, lounge chairs at the pool and for the beach are available, there are also beach towels available to bring down with you in the rental. (the pool is cleaned and skimmed regularly, but did notice early in the am there were sea creatures (crabs) in the bottom of the pool).
You have full access to the Wifi while in the unit, owners provide you with the password,
-TV/home phone in the rental and Air conditioning available (not used much since we were enjoying the outdoors).
-Recommendation: bring food with you to the island! There is a full kitchen, equipped with every thing you will need (microwave, dishwasher, oven, all utensils and towels and washer and dryer, even the BBQ with utensils. The Bahamas is very expensive, cost wise!
(when you shop think of paper goods, laundry soap and dish soap, they are not included (or ask maintenance).
Comparison to the States: case of bottled drinking water 24 pack $5, in the Bahamas $15
Box of Triscuits $2, in the Bahamas $8
-There are extra bed sheets, blankets, pillows and towels available in the unit.
-There also is an amazing view from the balcony and the master bedroom. There are chairs on the lower balcony to enjoy the view.
--Recommendation: Rent a car (they do drive on the opposite side of the street). Cabs/Taxi's are $18-25 each way depending on where you are going. Drivers are very friendly and professional. You can catch a cab in front of the Island Seas Resort and they hand you business cards for future rides or pick up. Port Lucaya restaurants and shopping are 10-15 min away from the rental property. Bring cash and have $10, $5 and $1 available.
-Loved the ability to walk from Cannes Village to Island Seas (beach front) to use their chairs, beach, huts, restaurants, night life activities (which there were not many), hot tub (which was too hot to enjoy), salon/massage services (which you need to book ahead of time), small convenient store on site and pool access with bar stools in the pool!
-Check out was very accommodating, flight left at 130 pm and was able to leave at 1130 am. Catherine was to meet us at the rental, but didn't meet us, so we just left key for her and staff in unit.
-Grocery shopping Solomon's, Sawyers and Butlers (alcohol too) are the most common companies.
-We did bring our snorkel gear and did have few days of this in front of the Rental property. There was lots to see from conch shells, starfish, sea biscuits, corals, fish and urchins. There are stingrays, but we didn't see any when we were out.
-Bring Water shoes for walking on the beach/beach bag for your pool accessories. Many broken shells and glass was found on our walks.
-Bring Sunscreen and Aloe with on your trip/first aide kit and medications, they are very expensive to purchase there.
-Very safe environment, but bring valuables with you/locked in rental unit when sitting out at the pool or the beach.
-It did rain one day, but slowed in the afternoon and we were able to go shopping at Port Lucaya.
-There was small hut Michele's next to Island Seas and has fantastic food (Conch, Conch bites and fritters, BBQ pork, lobster meals), bonfire on the opposide side of the beach with great lobster and Bahama Mommas!

Cons:
-Shuttle from Island Seas does not transport Cannes Village renters.
-Bahamas are very expensive and bring cash with you to shop at the Market place. It is much easier to barter with the shops.
-The whole island does operate a little "slower/slow moving" than most American travelers are use to. Enjoy the sun, sand and Atlantic ocean.
-Tide rises high on the beach at night and if you are at Island seas, you may need to travel by land to get back to Cannes Village (do not leave anything on the beach, may get washed away)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm sunny weather and activities on the beach/Island foods
Liked least: Staying indoors for 1 day when it rained.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
WOW, That is a great review! We are so happy you took the time to share your experiences so others can see how and why we love Freeport and our property. You are most welcome to return.
All the best,
Mike & Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West St. Paul, MN
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to ocean and great snorkeling
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
We are very happy that, once again, your vacation was memorable. Thanks for your kind words. We work hard to make sure our "guests" become friends and enjoy sharing our home with you and your family.
See you next year!
Mike & Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianne...
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very nice stay at Cannes Resort. We had everything we needed in our town home. It was clean, the furniture was fine, we felt secure and the best part was the ocean just steps away. We had a tremendous view of the ocean from our unit and were lulled asleep at night with the sound of the waves. We are hoping to go back.
Next time, I would go straight from the airport to Solomons to get groceries. Also, you must go to the beach in the Lucaya National Park. It's breathtaking!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The close proximity to the beach.
Liked least: Walking up & down the steps to get to our unit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves! We strive to make our guest as comfortable and happy a possible. Our goal is to add all to our guest that
want to make our home, "theirs" yearly.
Hope you will join the many families who have become our friends and share our place for great vacation experiences.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeks123
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place. Exactly as advertised.”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Cannes Village in mid December 2014 in unit 2 beachside with my wife, my mother and 2 very small children (3 bedroom unit).

Pros:
- Exactly as advertised. Michael (the owner) although remotely located was very prompt on email responses and forwarded us whatever information we needed. Photos were exactly as advertised. Pictures were as accurate as can be.
- Beautiful beach with near perfect privacy. This was one of the nicer beaches we saw and glad we stayed with a beachfront view. It honestly was one of the nicest beaches I can remember. Certain parts you can walk out 150ft and still be in ankle deep aqua blue water. There were little bars/restaurants not too far away either within walking distances.
- Wifi was reliable. TV was plentiful.
- Ability to make friends/contacts at the resort nearby to be able to use the beach chairs - we used the beach chairs from there. (see comment onward).
- Full kitchen and access to BBQ.
- The master bedroom had an amazing view.

Cons/other observations:
- The 3rd bedroom on the main floor was freezing at night (note we travelled in December - warm during the day but cool at night). Condensation overnight caused water to drip on the ceiling that at times kept you awake at night with a non stop drip noise (almost like a water torture).
- It was a bit odd/unprofessional that at check in, there was a plumber present fixing the toilet. Not a good first impression and should have been dealt with before our arrival. Note the toilet was finicky during our stay and we had to call the plumber back. Yes the matter was addressed and looked after and everything turned out well, but not a fun thing to deal with during a vacation.
- The pool was closed for maintenance during our duration of stay and was a surprise to us.
- It was a bit odd that Catherine (property manager) on check in told us to 'not use the beach chairs' that were provided by the condo with stories of past guest losing them. A bit tacky noting I'm travelling with 2 little children, my wife and my mother in her 60s. She should have just mentioned to be mindful to take them inside after use or we'll be charged a deposit if lost. Just a bit ridiculous to say not to use them on the beach.
- The rental just felt a little dated and not fully clean. Although they get cleaners before your stay, we never had that full 'feeling' of clean - carpets were worn, bedding were old etc. This was our opinion.

Other:
- I recommend getting a car rental. It's a 10-15 drive to the main restaurant area in Port Lucaya. The car is needed to get to the grocery store. The shuttle from the nearby resort forces you to be on a time schedule which isn't fun on a vacation.
- Bring cash. I was blown away a lot of places wouldn't take credit card or required minimum payments to use a credit card.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach
Liked least: Freezing 3rd bedroom at night.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Thanks for your review. I am sorry the pool was closed, however we have no control over our Association and, in fact, had begged the pool resurfacing be done in Oct. before the Holiday's.
As for the beach chairs, we agree, a little tacky as I put the chairs for use wherever a guest wants and I will instruct my manager according.
We are thrilled you enjoyed the beach and area.
All the best,
Mike & Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, New Hampshire
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had everything we needed.
Liked least: I thought it was going to have an air mattress but we used the sofa so it was OK.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
We are so happy you had a great time! Diving, fishing, and just hanging out on our beautiful beach is the BEST vacation!
You are welcome to come back anytime.
Mike & Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing