We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel- convienent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
164 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel- convienent location!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We visited Pelican Bay for 7 days and nights and found the place to be wonderful and close to everything you need! The room was well kept, amenities were always first rate and the staff really made sure that we enjoyed every day. The desk staff were of the same high quality and standards. The beach can be accessed across the street and all of the tours will pick you up from the hotel. Restaurants in the Port Lucaya complex are convenient and present a broad selection of cuisines and the nightly shows in the plaza are terrific!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha9703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Tabitha9073,

Thanks for your pleasant review of your experience at our hotel. We're happy that you enjoyed it and we look forward to a return visit from you in the near future.

Della Bridgewater
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    362
    109
    49
    35
See reviews for
156
371
45
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
403 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

You would have to be really jaded to come up with many complaints about the Pelican Bay resort at Lucaya. The location is excellent with most of the large and spacious rooms overlooking the water. I had a suite on the third floor and found the views of sunrise over the palm trees be relaxing. The grounds are well maintained and filled with tropical plants and flowers. Multiple pools on the property and a hot tub which is immediately adjacent to the Sabor restaurant so not much privacy there. Skip the expensive breakfast option unless you crave lots of food in the morning. I found a delightful piece of fruit and two pastries delivered to the "in box' at my door every morning. You can ride the free water shuttle to Taino beach or walk down the street to the free beach access immediately adjacent to the Police station. You will be stopped by security if you try to enter the Grand Lucayan resort property. The Lucaya marketplace is a typical 'tourist village' filled with shops, bars, and restaurants. You will find nice entertainment ( including amazing limbo demonstrations) on the weekends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and & I decided at the last minute to escape to the Bahamas for President's day weekend. This was our first trip to Freeport and we were a bit undecided as to where to stay, that is until I found out about Pelican Bay & all it has to offer. Our suite overlooked the beautiful Bell Channel Bay. Our mornings were spent on our balcony enjoying the free pastries & fruit delivered to the room while sipping on expresso & reading the complimentary NY Times. Each day we would take the free shuttle boat to Taino beach so that we could lounge on the beach & sip rum punch drinks. In the afternoon we would retreat back to the resort to grab a quick bite to eat at Sabor then lounge by the heated pool before getting ready for the evening in which we would explore the shops & nightlife of the nearby Port Lucayan shopping district. We fell in love with Pelican Bay & the staff. We will definitely be back (this year).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sea_B_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Front Office Agent at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Sea_B-Walker,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your first visit to Freeport, Bahamas a very memorable one.

We value your feedback greatly and we would be more than delighted to have you visit with us again very soon.

Thank you so much!
Dominique Sawyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited Pelican Bay for 7 days and nights and found the place to be charming, convenient and unpretentious. The room was well kept, amenities were always first rate and the staff really made sure that we enjoyed every day. We quickly discovered why the Bell Captain Stanley has been recognized both in Freeport as well as the Bahama Islands for his exceptional service over several years. The desk staff were of the same high quality and standards. Though going to the beach is a short water taxi ride rather than a stroll out the front door, we nearly had the place to ourselves. Restaurants in the Port Lucaya complex are convenient and present a broad selection of cuisines and the nightly shows in the plaza are great fun.

Room Tip: As for waterview rooms second and third floor views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waldo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Front Desk Agent at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Waldo451,

We appreciate your positive response so much. Reading your review puts a smile on my face because it makes us realize that we are providing our guests with such wonderful and memorable experiences.

Your response helps to continue to motivate us to provide our guest with exceptional experiences that will remain with them for a lifetime.

Thank you so much for your time!

Dominique Sawyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My stay here was on 7 day business trip but you can say it was quickly considered a getaway for me. The rooms were peacefull and serene. The view in the morning sunrise and evening sunsets were immaculate. The room i stayed in was very trendy and not too fussy in decor. Wetbar & refigerator were a nice addition. No noise, no interruptions, rooms were cleaned on time everyday,hospitality was 5 star. Another welcomed treat was the fact that there was a food & shopping plaza located nearby which meant I did not have to go far to get food or clothing/jewelry etc. The night time was just as nice...........The strip was live and rocking till about 1am, more than enough time for me to get back to my room. There were always police patrolling the area making the stay more safe. Located less than 15 minutes away from the airport and downtown Freeport, I would definitely say that this hotel, I will visit this place again.

Room Tip: Persons travelling with young kids may want to avoid the ground floor villas, reason being, they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Front Desk Agent at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Mr242,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review on your stay with us; your feedback means alot to us. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you would come and stay with us again.

Thanks again for your positive feedback.

Dominique Sawyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.7 km away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
5.3 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.3 km away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Property: Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price range (per night): $238 - $322
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing