We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
24
6
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grouper fingers cracked conch whole snapper gold rock beach cobb salad fries port lucaya island resort
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Traveling with young children we were a little hesitant about staying at a place that did not offer what the larger resorts offered, however, found out that Bishops was our idea of paradise. The beach is beautiful filled with all types of nature to explore. we could walk for miles without seeing anything man made. we could hear the ocean from our room (#2). the sunrise from the front patio was spectacular every morning.
there were plenty of chairs available, a hammock i wished i spent more time in (next time), and we were steps away from our room.
Always felt safe and secure.
The staff was so friendly, the food was incredible, and all the buildings on the property were immaculately kept. Our room was so clean and I believe our sheets were changed every day. A special bonus was Brownie the dog who was always there to greet us. Her dog manners were great.
Bishop arranged a fishing trip per our request. Philip picked us up and took us to the east end for a light tackle half day trip with Wilson which we requested to turn into a full day . www.bahamasbonefishing.net Bishop said to bring the fish back to be cooked, however, we left them with the guide. (good option for future reference though).
notes: stop by the grocery in Freeport and bring snacks (including coffee). food and drinks are very reasonably priced however they don't stay open late. ask when they will close and plan accordingly.
we can not wait to go back and spend more than three nights!

Room tip: room #1 is the room closest to the ocean
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BethTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I have visited Grand Bahama several times during the past year, and once you've hung around Lucaya it frankly gets pretty old. Bishop's is a wonderful break from the expensive tedium of Big Hotel life in Freeport.

You'll need a car or at least a scooter, as it is about 30 miles east of town on the main road. (Get a map). When you get to High Rock, look for the small sign on the right that says "Bishops" and turn right. (Don't be afraid to stop at a shop and ask for directions. People are very friendly and helpful.) If you get to the big oil tanks, turn around and go back about 3 miles and turn left into the settlement. At the shore, turn right and Bishops is all the way to the end of the road.

Bishops has 7 rooms, each with two queen beds. Room # 1 is best. Clean tile floors, cable TV and WIFI (spotty) are standard, and a unique outdoor beachside gazebo is often frequented by locals and tourists alike. His food menu is limited but good, with cracked conch being a specialty. Lobster ($18 for a full dinner at this writing) is available in season, and even out of season if you give him notice. (Out of season will have been frozen in town.) Do not plan on eating late, as unless he has a crowd (defined as four or more), he will shut the restaurant down at about 6:30. The bar is open until the throng leaves, but you aren't here for the nightlife.

The beach is absolutely beautiful - you can walk for about 4 miles before you see any development. It's usually deserted. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and the peacefulness. Take a few days off from the Lucaya bustle and come out to Bishops for a nice tropical and typical stay.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TheInveterates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Had an amazing time! This one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever been to. The room was ok – very large, two double beds, a small refrigerator, and TV (pictures attached). We visited here for the day 2 months ago and decided to return without our kids for a romantic getaway and were not disappointed. We were the only people staying here and we had the entire beach to ourselves every day. The restaurant here serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfast was simply eggs and ham or eggs and bacon. Lunch and dinner had a great menu with the best cracked conch I’ve ever tasted! We had conch, grouper, and lobster and ate at the beach bar with Bishop, the owner, and several locals who would drop by for a drink.

At night when Bishop would leave, we were the only ones on the beach. We laid out on the hammock looking at the stars and even went swimming as late as 10 p.m., as the water was so warm. Cannot wait to do this again next summer!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anejo-y-Coca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2005

We were looking for a secluded, affordable, and clean place to stay in the Bahamas. Bishop's place came very close to giving us everything we were looking for, but there were a few disappointments.

The beach - Bishop's place had the prettiest beach we saw on the island. The sand was white, the water was aqua-marine, and we pretty much had miles of beach to ourselves. A 5 minute walk down the beach and you felt like you were on a deserted island. It was a very nice get-away.

The rooms - Overall, the rooms were fine. They were very spacious, and the staff kept them amazingly clean. There is a bit of a funky smell when you first walk in (no doubt from water damage inflicted by prior hurricanes), but you stop noticing it very quickly. Also, the towels and sheets always smelled very fresh.

Location - I wanted a place that was secluded, but Bishop's is almost too secluded. The nearest grocery store and restaurant (other than Bishop's) is 40 minutes away in Freeport. It was nice to be away from the crowds, but I wished it were just a little closer to some of the other attractions on the island.

Service - I was disappointed in the service we received. Bishop is a friendly guy, but it seems like he was always trying to squeeze an extra dollar out of us. Example: I ordered the snapper for supper which is listed as $10 on the menu. After I ordered, he told me that he was having special snapper that night and the cost would be $2 higher. Not a big deal, but I didn't appreciate the constant "nickle and diming" we encountered.

Overall, we had a satifsfying experience at Bishop's.

Date of stay: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Cosmopolitan9359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2005

This was a different bonefish trip for us. We wanted a nice inexpensive place to fish the east end of Grand Bahama. Bishop's seemed to fit the bill. The room rate also included breakfast and dinner, per their website. We were asked to pay the entire hotel bill, along with charters, when we arrived. Breakfast was not served until 9 am. We left at 7:45 am to fish. Dinner was not served after 5 pm. We did not really feel like driving half an hour to Freeport for dinner every day.The air conditioner was turned off every day while we were fishing. We wouldn't go back.

Date of stay: July 2005
9  Thank bonefish2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews